Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - car icon off route
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

car icon off route
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tonygold
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 14, 2006
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:30 pm    Post subject: car icon off route Reply with quote

tomtom ONE v2 w europe.
maps 7.20
just had a prob today. my car icon showed me well off the road on a route i've used many times without this issue.
seem to remember that gpsquickfix can cause this but i havn't updated that for a couple of weeks??
just in case it is this, could u tell me how to uninstall this please.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard345
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 463
Location: Rainhill, Lancashire Not Merseyside!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Tony, I had exactly the same issue this afternoon on a journey to and from a new location. I got some really weird directions at first and then after going up from 4 satellites to 5, everything seemed to go alright again. I was driving on the A56 towards Warrington, yet my 520 showed me to be on a parallel, residential street for a couple of miles.

I know it was very overcast and had just started to rain, but that normally has no effect.
_________________
Ric - TomTom 520 DEAD - Passed to the great traffic jam in the sky. Now using Maps & Waze on Samsung Galaxy S4 + CamerAlert of course!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygold
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 14, 2006
Posts: 417

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi richard
mine happened when i had 7 satellites registered!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just soft reset, it'll sort itself out.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
richard345
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 463
Location: Rainhill, Lancashire Not Merseyside!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Darren, Quite right, I did that on my return home and so far, all is well.
_________________
Ric - TomTom 520 DEAD - Passed to the great traffic jam in the sky. Now using Maps & Waze on Samsung Galaxy S4 + CamerAlert of course!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikewall
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 31, 2006
Posts: 182
Location: Banbury

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this issue with the Banbury to Brackley road just past Farthinghoe, i go off route for about quarter of a mile! Tried soft reset but still the same. I believe it's a map error, i've reported it to TT everytime i travel it via mapshare! Our database shows a reported camera also off the road!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Daggers
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Solihull, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikewall wrote:
I have this issue with the Banbury to Brackley road just past Farthinghoe,


I used to travel this road very regularly, and it happened every time I used the road. I suspect this instance is likely to be inaccurate map data, rather than a problem with the satellite fix. If you take a look at Google Maps, and use the hybrid option, you can quite clearly see that the road is in the wrong place.

I've also experienced the other, temporary, problem for the entire route of a journey which cured itself the next time I used my TT - these are definitely two distinct issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daggers wrote:

I've also experienced the other, temporary, problem for the entire route of a journey which cured itself the next time I used my TT - these are definitely two distinct issues.


Quite agree...

If the map is wrong it will always "show you in a field" at that point.

The other issue is a real weird one, we THINK it might be to do with QuickGPSFix, but there doesn't seem any reason why it should and it's not at all consistent. You just seem to be "shifted" (usually east or West I find) a couple of hundred yards off the road.
I have even seen it where there have been two speed camera icons for mobile sites on a bridge over the road, and my car icon has passed between them, but in a field, with the road itself off to the edge of the screen.

A reset DIDN'T fix it for me, but it always slowly came good over half an hour or so, with the "offset" distance getting smaller and smaller and the car "snapping" back onto the road more and more frequently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveMatthews
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2004
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem once with some Navigon software on a PDA as I drove north up the M6 (by Stoke-on-Trent). Everything was working fine until I overtook a police Range Rover which had an unusually large collection of aerials attached to its roof, whereupon the car symbol jumped about a half a mile to the west! As I drove on, the symbol gradually "converged" back on to the road, in the same manner as Andy_P describes - took a good ten miles for it to sort itself out, though!

--

Cheers


Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard345
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 463
Location: Rainhill, Lancashire Not Merseyside!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I had the issue on the a56, my outbound journey track was exactly on the road, however, the inbound leg some 4 hours later, the icon to the right of the main road, to such an extent that TomTom was instructing me to turn left down a side street to regain the correct track.

After the soft reset, I did a run to Lytham St Annes and then up to Bispham and back home without any problems whatsoever.

I've wondered about the QuickGPS Fix in the past and if it serves any useful function at all. What do others think?
_________________
Ric - TomTom 520 DEAD - Passed to the great traffic jam in the sky. Now using Maps & Waze on Samsung Galaxy S4 + CamerAlert of course!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2003
Posts: 1441
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had it happen a few years ago when I was running TT Navigator on a PDA - for the last 40 miles of a 200 mile journey my position was shown about 100 yards to the right of the road.
In that case I also had CoPilot in the same PDA. I switched to that and it showed exactly the same effect. Soft resets did nothing. Next day all was well.
It's possible that one of the satellites was sending out duff data and it corrected itself.
Robin
_________________
TomTom One v3 Europe, Navcore 7.903, Western Europe 835.2420
TomTom Go 720 Europe, Navcore 8.351, Western Europe 855.2884
Satmap Active 10
Plus a lot of other PDA GPS kit, seldom used
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2003
Posts: 1441
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By an extraordinary coincidence, having written above that it happened to me about 3 years ago on my PDA, I experienced the same thing today with my TT One as I was driving south towards Carmarthen (or Caerffyrddin if Darren is reading this!). In a few miles I stopped in a layby and a 30 second paperclip reset sorted things out
Robin
_________________
TomTom One v3 Europe, Navcore 7.903, Western Europe 835.2420
TomTom Go 720 Europe, Navcore 8.351, Western Europe 855.2884
Satmap Active 10
Plus a lot of other PDA GPS kit, seldom used
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrfreeze
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 10, 2008
Posts: 183
Location: Bath, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guys,
I live in Florida and oddly today my icon seemed to be out by 50yds or so. When your travelling along a road its not too bad but every time you get near a side road it tries to get you over on that instead.

It has never done this before and immediately i did the reset and it seems ok now.

Is there something wrong with the satellites providing the fix, surely all these units can't be having the same problems at the same times?

Don't tell me those aliens from "Independance Day - The movie" have finally turned up Very Happy
_________________
Go 720 v8.351 GPS v1.20 Boot 5.5120
Kate v710 UK & ROI v850.2781
Go 920 v8.351 GPS v1.20 Boot 5.5120
Kate v710 UK & ROI v850.2781
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom59
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 407
Location: Alconbury - UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I've only just noticed this forum and on Tuesday, I was in Nottingham, an area that I have never been to, when it went silly, about 16:00 if I remember. I chose navigate to a couple of times which did nothing. I eventually had to stop and do a reset.
I think someone at CERN must have hit the wrong switch! Twisted Evil
_________________
TT Go 720 (T)
Firmware 9.430. Map: Western Europe V 875.3613

TT iPhone app
V 1.23 Map: Western and Central Europe 2 GB V 965.7286

TT iOS Go Mobile
V 1.1 Map: Western Europe 965.7248
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've turned mine on several times today at home, and each time it's shown me to be in different parts of the district, up to a mile away. I've even been able to "Navigate to" my home address, and plan routes varying from 1 to 5 minutes journey time.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.101 (05 Oct 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping