Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - SatMap Route Planner and Route Share - Beta Trial Invitation
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

SatMap Route Planner and Route Share - Beta Trial Invitation
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ChristopherPovey
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 29, 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My dad is having trouble with this too.

He went on the SatMap Website and created a route (from a CountyFile Magazine card) with the software built into the webpage.

He then saved this route and ended up with a GPX file on his hard drive. He connected his Active10 to his PC and initially copied the GPX file to the Internal Memory using SatSync software. He disconnected and rebooted the Active10, but no routes appeared. he then repeated the process but imported the route this time (which resulted in a .MAP file), but again there was no route.

I saw on here that it might appear as POI so I got him to check, but there are no POI's either.

His PC is running Vista (if that has any bearing)...

What is he doing wrong?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I have tried converting a trail to a track on the Active 10 a few times, then uploading onto the route planner and viewing the route with the intention if its a decent route I could save it and maybe reuse it later. These have been small trial routes. This time I tried a larger route, 4 1/2 hours. Went through the same process uploaded, the route planner told me it had been successful and the route is shown as one of my saved routes. But when I tried to 'open' it I get this message

'A script on this page is causing Internet Explorer to run slowly. If it continues to run, your computer may become unresponsive. Do you want to abort the script?"'

Then the planner hangs and will not respond. I then need to close down the planner and reopen. I have tried deleting and re-uploading, same problem. I have emailed Satmap but no reply as yet. I have a feeling they might say its a problem with my system and not thiers!! I'm running Vista with Explorer 7. Any ideas?

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the exact spelling of the route you are trying to save? I recall having an issue a while back that was caused by including the & sign in the name IIRC - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike

I saw that reply somewhere so I changed the name from Goodwood 21st March 2008 to just Goodwood just in case, but still the same. Doing a bit of research on the error message it seems that the route planner is too slow to handle a large file and is throwing itself into a loop which Vista is detecting. I have also tried opening the route through my PC at work (hopefully no-one notices) and same problem except I dont get the error message (XP) but the route planner just hangs and I've left it for 10 minutes or so but still won't open. Does a nice job of slowing the whole machine down though.

Incidently I noticed that the Active 10 creates waypoints itself when converting a trail to a track (to be expected) but when this one got converted it created a 177 waypoints, which when considering it was a long very windy cycle ride I would expect. But I'm wondering if the number of waypoints is too much for the route planner to handle, only a guess though. How many waypoints have any of you others had created?

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't plan routes using loads of waypoints as I find they clutter the map, I only include decision points and escape points so a ten mile walk would only contain typically 10 to 15 waypoints, I think the worst one I have on the device is only 35 in total - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
PloddinPedro
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may be one more illustration of one of the Satmap's drawbacks i.e. that it is intended for walkers and the design team seem consistently to ignore cyclists (and perhaps long distance walkers) in so far as they appear to expect people to cover only relatively short distances and not to record tracks over long periods. I usually find that a good day's cycling will record a trail that then starts to slow down the speed of response of the A10 to button pushes quite noticeably. One problem might be that it records rather too many trackpoints - in the tens of thousands, compared to say, mere thousands on a Garmin?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found that the active 10 plots its own waypoints based on speed and the number of turns etc you make. Cycling around lanes through fields and wooded areas means loads of turns and etc and at very varying speeds, hence the 177 waypoints not really neccessary but as I say they were automatically put in by the device. No reply from Satmap yet, but I am impatient!!
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
annaboros
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 29, 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:48 am    Post subject: Barking Driving Test Routes Reply with quote

Barking Driving Test Routes
Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) or DSA has done some changes in driving tests. One of them is DSA is not publishing test routes for driving test centres.
So Barking driving test routes might have some changes in future. Currently Barking test routes as still similar to those used in practical test. Find below the available driving test routes map for Barking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping