Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TOMTOM not reconised
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TOMTOM not reconised
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: TOMTOM not reconised Reply with quote

Any one else had this problem ?,I have now got my 520T but when I connect to my computer running on XPso I can update evrything ,it tells me unreconised device.
Suggestions how to overcome the problem please,

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you tell us what you see on the 520 screen?

Have you tried another USB Port? Are you using a USB Hub?

Have you made sure the USB cable is plugged in securely? Some can be a tight fit.

I take it that it is Explorer that is saying 'unrecognised device'.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MadPanther
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 15, 2003
Posts: 106
Location: Blackpool - Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem the first time I plugged my 520T in.

I disconnected it and tried another USB port and now it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the screen that asks if I want to connect to the computer,it is then I get the "unreconised device,I have tried byunplugging all USB connections then going into Device manager and removing them,then re-booting.At first I got the message "will not work CODE 10"but I do not even get that now,
The sytem is running on Windows XP,On the TOMTOM home page when you tap the "my device" icon it states nothing found.
It is Peeing me off as I cannot do anything until I get a connection,
Just to add to it I have found that because I have a new Nokia 6301 phone that is not reconised by TOMTOm and I cannot transfer my phone book to it,can I do this by using a card reader ?

In a word.....HELP Question Question Question Question Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now gone a stage further,unplugged all USB,removed from Deevice manager,rebooted..
OK so far
Reconnect the docking station using a USB port on back of Computer.
Put TOMTOM into cradle [in the mean time message comes up that new hard ware for mass storage device is there,checked & confirmed by looking at Device manager]
Tom tom asks if I want to connect...YES
Tells tells me to wait and not remove Device...ok
I end up with screen on TOMTOm showing picture of TOM TOM in cradle....
BUT on the TOM TOM home screen it tells me no device connected ?????
What now ? Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the phone book problem have a look at This Download page which comprises of a spreadsheet to overcome the exact problem you have with an unsupported phone, it works very well.

As for your other more pressing problem, have you ever had the device connected to the PC and working correctly? also have you made a full backup of the 520 prior to this problem starting - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the not recognised by PC problem... I just found this help file from TomTom in my bookmarks. Its pretty obvious stuff, but might have a clue you've missed.

When I connect my TomTom device to a computer running Windows, nothing happens. What can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yhanks you for the replies..where I am now

I have got as far as TOMTOM being listed under "Disc drives" & Mass storage devive is listed under the USB,

Andy thanks for the direction it would seem that I need to do the Down load as per the "When I connect nothing happens sheet"
Question...How do I find the root -directory so as the folder can be copied into ?

Also thanks for the link to the spread sheet I will have to find an excell progamme on the web to down load first.

The problem started at the outset as yet I have not had unit connect to the PC.it is new only got it on Saturday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In which case I would say it is probably faulty, take it back to where it was bought from and demand a replacement rather than messing about - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now borrowed my daughters laptop..all is now updated
It is evident that the problem lies within my PC,a trip to PC World is on the cards,luckily it is covered under a service/repair plan.

Thanks for your help Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After taking my PC into PC world,picking it up 24 hours later and told it should all work now...guess what ? just the same a few strong words as it was evident they did not check it I am waiting now for a home visit to check out the severs and mother board,I will eventually be able to get on line and and down load the speed camera base.and do some updates.
_________________
Square2024

TomTom 520
Christmas Draw 2010 Grand Final Winner Garmin Nuvi 1490TV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't forget, if you can get the PC to recognise the TomTom as a new "mass storage device" you can do pretty much all of the backing-up and downloads of POIs, speed cameras etc. you need.
Getting TomTom Home to work is only needed if you want a new map or to update the operating software itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burren
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 28, 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had similar problems when I bought my TT520t. How old is your computer as a matter of interest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5 year old HP pavillion 453,with Windows XP & service pack 2,
still waiting for the "engineer" to arrive....... Grrrr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burren
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 28, 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine is about 6 years old and it would recognise any usb device except the TT. I tried every suggestion I could find except updating the bios. (just to dodgy for me). I solved it in the end by fitting a belkin pci usb card to a spare pci slot, and it worked perfectly from then on!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping