Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Biking Ireland GPS Options
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Biking Ireland GPS Options
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AndyCr15
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2004
Posts: 197
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:23 pm    Post subject: Biking Ireland GPS Options Reply with quote

Currently I have TT5 on my M5000. I'm planning a trip to southern Ireland, to Kilbrittain just below Cork, right on the coast.

Does Zumo 550 or Rider have detailed roads maps down that far? Not even Google maps seems to cover it Sad
_________________
TomTom 6 - SPV M5000 and WM6
Garmin Zumo 500 on Honda TransAlp

www.lanarchy.co.uk for LAN gaming near London
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Garmin v9 maps cover all of Ireland. Have a look at this page

http://www.garmin.com/cartography/mapSource/citynavEuro.jsp

Click the link to the Mapsource Map Viewer and you can examine the detail for the area you are interested. You have to zoom right in before it shows the minor roads though.

Kilbrittain is at N51.67342 W8.68817, as you say there aren't any roads on the Google maps and I don't think TomTom have it either.
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyCr15
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2004
Posts: 197
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to be dippy, does that mean the Zumo will have that coverage, as the link you've given shows the detail of Garmin's maps?
_________________
TomTom 6 - SPV M5000 and WM6
Garmin Zumo 500 on Honda TransAlp

www.lanarchy.co.uk for LAN gaming near London
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as it has V9 mapping the Garmin Zumo should have street level mapping of the whole of Ireland.
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyCr15
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2004
Posts: 197
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, do you know how I would check? This is the link for it, the cheapest I've found, but it doesn't mention map version -

http://www.blokesstuff.com/Product.aspx?Product=Garmin_Zumo_550_Motorcycle_Satnav&ProductID=1361
_________________
TomTom 6 - SPV M5000 and WM6
Garmin Zumo 500 on Honda TransAlp

www.lanarchy.co.uk for LAN gaming near London
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
philipe
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 17, 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Newtownards

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Garmin Reply with quote

Even the Garmin V8 was good for most of S. Ireland. So far V9 I've found spot on. I live in N. Ireland and I almost bought a TT rider but didnt after I found out how bad the coverage was in Ireland.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anita wrote:
As long as it has V9 mapping the Garmin Zumo should have street level mapping of the whole of Ireland.


If you buy a Zumo and it doesn't have the v9 maps then Garmin will give you an upgrade for free. Garmin send out the CD to you on request, you then get a free upgrade if you have a new unit or you buy an upgrade code if you have an older unit.

If time is of the essence, then ask the retailer if the unit comes with v9 maps and if it doesn't then insist that they supply the map upgrade for you.

Be aware that there are two versions of the Zumo, one with UK and Ireland maps and one with European maps. Make sure you know what you are paying for when you compare the prices....
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you buy the 500 and put a 2GB SD card in it your supposed to be able to add the additional maps onto the card and the zumo will use them.
If you dont need it for the car as well this is a much cheaper option.
I havent had chance to try putting the maps onto the card yet but i think it shoul be fairly easy with the mapsourse software
Des
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyCr15
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2004
Posts: 197
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the additional maps cost though?

Is this the only difference between the 500 and 550? The maps and being able to mount it in a car?
_________________
TomTom 6 - SPV M5000 and WM6
Garmin Zumo 500 on Honda TransAlp

www.lanarchy.co.uk for LAN gaming near London
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bumpkin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Herefordshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK the 500 Deluxe comes with all of Europe on the DVD, there just isn't sufficient memory within the unit to hold it all (unlike the 550). I recall having read somewhere that the SD card was for MP3, routes, track-logs etc and you couldn't store mapping data there that the unit would be able to use... Would like this to be confirmed or preferably be proven wrong though...
_________________
Chas
Garmin i3, Quest & StreetPilot 2720 with GTM10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AndyCr15 wrote:
Do the additional maps cost though?

Is this the only difference between the 500 and 550? The maps and being able to mount it in a car?


550 has text to speech and "XM radio" (only useful in the USA?) too.

I'm not sure if you have to pay to unlock extra regions. You did in the old days but I'm not sure if that's still the case.
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rang garmin and checked before buying.
I was told you could put the full european maps on the SD card (2GB should do it), and be able to use them.
Is text to speech not just a different voice or am i getting confused with TT threads on here??
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bumpkin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 08, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Herefordshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desd wrote:
I rang garmin and checked before buying.
I was told you could put the full european maps on the SD card (2GB should do it)

That's good to know, I accept I'm wrong then, thanks.
_________________
Chas
Garmin i3, Quest & StreetPilot 2720 with GTM10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skippy
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: 24/06/2003 00:22:12
Posts: 2946
Location: Escaped to the Antipodies! 36.83S 174.75E

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

desd wrote:
I was told you could put the full european maps on the SD card (2GB should do it), and be able to use them.


Ahh, that's good. In the olden days you had to buy a new unlock code to get all the regions.

Quote:
Is text to speech not just a different voice or am i getting confused with TT threads on here??


Text to speech will read out the street name (turn left onto London Road) rather than just "turn left".

Question for you: Can you use Mapsource to plan routes, edit waypoints and view tracklogs on the Zumo like you could on the Quest?
_________________
Gone fishing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desd
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes you can although the Zumo will recalculate the route.
I've not had chance to try this out yet but plan to do so this weekend ill let you know how it goes.
I'm going to do a route i used with the Quest 2 so I can compare
Obviously It wont lock up this time thou
Des
_________________
Zumo 500 + 4GB SD Card, car Kit and GTM21
Linked to Autocom by bluetooth and all seems good.
Traffic reception in the central belt of Scotland and hurray NW England seems to be working again. Still a million times better than the Quest 2 it replaces
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping