Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Home & Speed cameras
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Home & Speed cameras
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1952kev
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Grantham , Lincs

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:16 pm    Post subject: TomTom Home & Speed cameras Reply with quote

I have TT1 Version1 and use the excellent speed cameras from this site.

I have also recently downloaded TT Home. I found it so simple to do a back up using HOME that I decided to try updating my Speed cameras with it. The problem is that NOTHING shows up under "content on my computer".

I downloaded the cameras by clicking on TomTom HOME rather than OV2 files. A new Tom Tom folder seems to have been created and the camera files are in there. Why don't they show up when I connect my ONE to TT Home?

Are there indtructions for this procedure on here? I put HOME into search and couldn't believe it came up with nothing? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10633
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You either have to put the Unzipped Download Files into the Content Folder.

You can find out where that is by starting HOME and going to File | Preferences | Advanced. The Folder Listed under Extra Content is the Location where you need to Copy the CAB and TOC Files in the Camera Download.

Or, if you feel brave, you can change the Location Folder for Extra Content to where your CAB and TOC Files now exist.

The choice is yours.Smile
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
1952kev
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Grantham , Lincs

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Richard,

Funny thing is the Backup and the Download folder were where they should be but the Content folder did not exist? I created a new folder and called it Content.

I have put the Winrar extracted camera files in the content folder but when I open HOME it now shows as just one file of 376kb. Is this correct?

If so, what is the next step to make sure the files go into the GB Map folder?

Is this really any easier than just doing it the old way without using HOME? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1952kev wrote:

Is this really any easier than just doing it the old way without using HOME? Rolling Eyes


Well I didn't like to say anything...
You seemed so happy with it after doing your backup in your first post, I didn't want to spoil it for you! Laughing

(by the way, have you checked that Home's backup is really complete and has all the capitalisation of the filenames correct? Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10633
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P2002 wrote:
Well I didn't like to say anything...
Now that would be a first. Laughing Laughing
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14881
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oldboy wrote:
Andy_P2002 wrote:
Well I didn't like to say anything...
Now that would be a first. Laughing Laughing


No - it would be a SECOND - remember, he's always complaining you beat him to it Laughing Laughing Laughing
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arimus
Regular Visitor


Joined: 25/11/2002 13:13:12
Posts: 117
Location: Wales, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1952kev wrote:

I have put the Winrar extracted camera files in the content folder but when I open HOME it now shows as just one file of 376kb. Is this correct?


Yep. (Sorry if I'm teaching you to suck eggs...) The file with the speedcam database in is a .cab file - which is a spawn-of-satan (sorry did I say that ? I meant Microsoft 8) ) archive file format similar to zip primarily used by installation packages etc...

And to be honest, I find the old way alot easier and quicker Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
1952kev
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Grantham , Lincs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enough said................back to the old way it is then.

I suppose I might as well delete HOME from my PC completely? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arimus
Regular Visitor


Joined: 25/11/2002 13:13:12
Posts: 117
Location: Wales, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've kept Home purely to grab software updates and so I can sit at my desk and generate routes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
1952kev
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Grantham , Lincs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just tried to do that but when I click on My ONE all I get is a picture of a ONE and a message that says " At this time there is no component available that is compatible with your device"

Not having much luck am I?

As far as updates go I am still running on 5.42 as it works fine and I would only have to reinstall new voice files from Ray's if I changed.

I am normally a "if it aint broke, don't fix it" bloke..................so not quite sure why I tried HOME anyway. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14881
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've ALL tried HOME!! :D Many of us have even kept it like Arimus for software updates - personally I don't have the nerve to try it for routes and don't need to anyway.

There's a possibility that HOME is telling you it hasn't got something as a result of it getting 'so far, but not all the way' with an update. Hopefully someone else who knows how it's done can come in here and tell you how to delete a partial update - something about cab and toc files I think. I had to do it once, but can't remember what it was. But after doing it, HOME behaved itself long enough to download the latest software update. There's also something about Clear Flash, the very thought of which gives me the shudders!!
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1952kev
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 16, 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Grantham , Lincs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said, I don't really see any need for me to Update from 5.42

It was the Navigation through my PC I was trying to do when I got that message" At this time there is no component available that is compatible with your device"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14881
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then your "aint broke, don't fix" is absolutely spot on.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very happy with 5.42.
Only updated to v6 very recently when I got the latest map.
The only change that I've found rather useful is the lat/long display on the map, but that only for submitting new POIs.
For core navigating, I agree "not broke, why fix" Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oldboy wrote:
Andy_P2002 wrote:
Well I didn't like to say anything...
Now that would be a first. Laughing Laughing


Oldbooy- Posts: 4749
Andy_P - Posts: 2791 (or 2792 now I suppose)

Only trying to catch up, mate! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.033 (15 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping