Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Version v6.15 Firmware Update for pre x10 AIO's
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Version v6.15 Firmware Update for pre x10 AIO's
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gadget_sa
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 02, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Ray's extended warnings on this latest 6.15 version Reply with quote

pip510 wrote:
id wrote:
Has any one managed to get Rays extended warnings running on this latest version. Each time I try it just locks up.

ID Crying or Very sad



Works for me have you downloaded the data chck and renamed it appropiately as you are supposed to.


pips510, are you confusing the 15 voice data.chk file with the "extended version". I'm pretty sure that Ray has not yet developed the EXTENDED 30 voices!!

There is a data.chk that contains 15 spoken files on Rays site.
_________________
Steve

iPhone 6 with Western Europe & CamerAlert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
keefrto
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pip510, I did back up my 1gb version prior to the reformat, i did not include this. so alls well and the new software is aok at present.
:D
_________________
TTG300 with version 7.903. (9183/081205)OS:2344, GPS v1.21 Boot 4.8600
UK and Republic IRE MAPS v815.2024
UK and ROI with west europe major roads v675.1409
USA and Canada maps v840.2561
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Captuk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone, ive just updated to 6.150 installation went fine but im seem to come across one problem when i click on mobile phone icon, then call , the phonebook entry is not high lighted is there anyway to manual type into the phone book? look forward to anyone that can help me out.

My Mobile phone is a Sony E 910i.

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pip510
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 25, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Sheffield South Yorks

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Captuk wrote:
Hi everyone, ive just updated to 6.150 installation went fine but im seem to come across one problem when i click on mobile phone icon, then call , the phonebook entry is not high lighted is there anyway to manual type into the phone book? look forward to anyone that can help me out.

My Mobile phone is a Sony E 910i.

Many thanks


Yeah connect your tom tom to the pc and open up the phonebook and add the phone numbers manually, though I would try leaving the phone to it again. I used to have this problem with mine but if you let it go for long enough it did back up to tom tom eventuially though it was by no means fast
_________________
TomTom 300
Tom Tom 500

Let's Be Safe Out There
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Captuk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there when i link the tomtom to my PC what the folder called for the Phonebook on the tomtom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geraint
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Dorset, UK.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the changes TomTom have made is to move where the application thinks your contacts are.

Your contacts are in a file called contacts.txt, which used to be in the root directory, but is now in a subdirectory called contacts.

What the update seems to have done is to create the contacts directory and put an empty contacts.txt into it. This is why your application has greyed out your phonebook - it thinks it's empty.

Luckily, your original contacts.txt should still be intact in the root directory. If this is the case, simply copy it to the contacts subdirectory, and it should work again.

At least, this is what happened to me.

TomTom like to keep us on our toes...
_________________
Geraint

TomTom for iPhone v1.9
App version: 8.300 (777309)
Map: Western Europe v875.3668
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keefrto
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone had this problem since downloading 6.15? My screen after switching it off, appears to have a faded splash screen just noticeable still showing. The on / off liht is off, however the unit's battery this am is completely flat. Will spk to tt this am to find out.
Question 8O
_________________
TTG300 with version 7.903. (9183/081205)OS:2344, GPS v1.21 Boot 4.8600
UK and Republic IRE MAPS v815.2024
UK and ROI with west europe major roads v675.1409
USA and Canada maps v840.2561
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rb5286
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have just performed the latest update via TT Home and have found the following problem:

TTG goes to re-boot after disconnecting from laptop but just sits there on the splash screen.

I left it for approx 5 minutes with no change.

Am I just impatient and should wait longer or is it crashing on me?

I have tried installing the new update twice now and have had revert back to v5.44 but have lost all my favourites now!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
arfurdent
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2006
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rb5286 wrote:
i have just performed the latest update via TT Home and have found the following problem:

TTG goes to re-boot after disconnecting from laptop but just sits there on the splash screen.

I left it for approx 5 minutes with no change.

Am I just impatient and should wait longer or is it crashing on me?

I have tried installing the new update twice now and have had revert back to v5.44 but have lost all my favourites now!!!!


join the club, TTSupport have had about six goes at fixing this. It is related to the SD card type. I am using a Kingston Elite 256MB SD card which will not work with v6.15. Use the original TT SD card or get another one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keefrto
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arfurdent wrote:
rb5286 wrote:
i have just performed the latest update via TT Home and have found the following problem:

TTG goes to re-boot after disconnecting from laptop but just sits there on the splash screen.

I left it for approx 5 minutes with no change.

Am I just impatient and should wait longer or is it crashing on me?

I have tried installing the new update twice now and have had revert back to v5.44 but have lost all my favourites now!!!!


join the club, TTSupport have had about six goes at fixing this. It is related to the SD card type. I am using a Kingston Elite 256MB SD card which will not work with v6.15. Use the original TT SD card or get another one


hi rb5286, go back a page on this forum and see if what i did helps. you should not really need to get another sd card
good luck
_________________
TTG300 with version 7.903. (9183/081205)OS:2344, GPS v1.21 Boot 4.8600
UK and Republic IRE MAPS v815.2024
UK and ROI with west europe major roads v675.1409
USA and Canada maps v840.2561
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cptbrian
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 03, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sixonenine wrote:
I don't know if it's just 'cos I'm stupid, but I can't figure out how to get text to speech to work on my 700. Just installed 6.15 but couldn't get it sorted on .14 - Does it actually work then? I just get a message saying because I've chosen a recorded voice (all I use is the default UK woman) that text to speech won't work. Any advice? Thakns in advance [619]
Try using Catherine uk Computer generated voice it workd on my 910
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pip510
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 25, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: Sheffield South Yorks

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cptbrian wrote:
sixonenine wrote:
I don't know if it's just 'cos I'm stupid, but I can't figure out how to get text to speech to work on my 700. Just installed 6.15 but couldn't get it sorted on .14 - Does it actually work then? I just get a message saying because I've chosen a recorded voice (all I use is the default UK woman) that text to speech won't work. Any advice? Thakns in advance [619]
Try using Catherine uk Computer generated voice it workd on my 910



Text to speech will not work on any other Tom Tom model apaprt from the 910 as the programme uses 4 gb of memory
_________________
TomTom 300
Tom Tom 500

Let's Be Safe Out There
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10638
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pip510 wrote:
Text to speech will not work on any other Tom Tom model apaprt from the 910 as the programme uses 4 gb of memory
Not strictly true. Each voice uses about 300MB.

Having said that it would appear that you should be only using this on a 910. On anything else, it's not kosher. Probably in TomTom case - verbotten.Smile
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Western Europe Map v1110
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cptbrian wrote:
Try using Catherine uk Computer generated voice it workd on my 910
Is this reply a day early? or do you allways use "Sunday" names, I have no Catherine computer voice on my 910, there is one called Kate though Laughing Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MickeyM
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 12, 2005
Posts: 216
Location: Norfolk UK.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have just upgraded my Classic to 6150,was a bit slugish to begin with,as I had to tap screen quite hard to get pages up,but getting better now. Have loaded data.chk 7120 into unit and made the previous one data.chk old, but I am not getting voices (they are activated) for Gatso,etc, tried 7080 as well to no avail, can anyone help please,by the way I dragged and dropped into place, did not go through Tomtom home as did not know how with data.chk. Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.055 (31 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping