Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Firmware release 3.10
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Firmware release 3.10
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alan_t
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno if its me, but after i upgraded to 2.9 from 2.7, my i3 as never been the same, even after i went back down to 2.7.
any one else had similar probs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dusty321
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My v3.10 i3 works fine until I near my local plod shop at which point it shuts down and will refuse to work until I'm at-least 1 1/2 mile away?

Beats me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alan_t wrote:
dunno if its me, but after i upgraded to 2.9 from 2.7, my i3 as never been the same, even after i went back down to 2.7.
any one else had similar probs?

Yes, I've gone from 2.7 to 2.9, back to 2.7, then to 3.0, then back to 2.7 again, and mine hasn't seemed quite the same since I installed 2.9.

Couldn't have been more specific until the last few days, when it's frozen a couple of times showing 0% during the initial route calculation. None of the controls had any effect for a while, but eventually the unit turned off - not sure what I was pressing at the time. Rolling Eyes When I switched it back on it calculated the route without any problem.

Of course, this might have happened if I'd never changed from 2.7, so I can't really blame it on the more recent software versions.
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075
UK map 1115.12043
Samsung Galaxy S21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulyoung666
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi all , first post here , i bought an i3 last week for a trip to the lakes , it had firmware 2.70 on it and worked faultlessly all week , then i updated it to 3.10 and it crashed 3 times on the way to work this morning 8O , i only used it to see what it reckoned was the best way to go Wink , i have now set the firmware to 2.82 beta to see what happens :D , hopefully it will be ok or it is going back to 2.70 Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pootle
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 25, 2005
Posts: 111
Location: Nottingham

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome Paul,

I have would have to agree with those in the know v2.82 is the best in terms of navigation, warnings etc. but it heaps all the poi's together so if you use them a lot then v2.7 is choice.
_________________
-----------------------------------
Enjoy? WTF?
(S)ad
(A)nd
(P)roud
-----------------------------------
i3, V8, V2.7, WAAS EGNOS.
Audio V2, Simpsons Voice File
-----------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulyoung666
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the welcome pootle , i had read that about poi's , i will give it a go as it is now and see what i think , at worst it is easy to go back to 2.70 if i want to Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waynelisa
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pootle wrote:
Welcome Paul,

I have would have to agree with those in the know v2.82 is the best in terms of navigation, warnings etc. but it heaps all the poi's together so if you use them a lot then v2.7 is choice.


noticed you had simpsons voice how you get that Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matb
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 20, 2006
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

waynelisa wrote:
Pootle wrote:
Welcome Paul,

I have would have to agree with those in the know v2.82 is the best in terms of navigation, warnings etc. but it heaps all the poi's together so if you use them a lot then v2.7 is choice.


noticed you had simpsons voice how you get that Smile


here

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=31721
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slartibartfast
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 19, 2006
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alan_t wrote:
dunno if its me, but after i upgraded to 2.9 from 2.7, my i3 as never been the same, even after i went back down to 2.7.
any one else had similar probs?


Yes. See this post
http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=211872&highlight=#211872/

Tenth post on the page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Coaster2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2006
Posts: 113
Location: Nottingham

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now tried all the versions of the software on normal and WAAS / EGNOS.

I'm back on v2.7 and I'm staying on it until Garmin get themselves sorted out. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xzibit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 31, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got v2.4 on mine. Is there any benefit in changing it? Seems to work fine so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Coaster2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2006
Posts: 113
Location: Nottingham

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xzibit wrote:
I have got v2.4 on mine. Is there any benefit in changing it? Seems to work fine so far.


I came in on 2.7 but if I were you, if it works OK I'd leave it alone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulyoung666
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

or maybe go to 2.82 beta and see what it is like , i went from 2.7 to 3.1 and back again to 2.82 within a day , 3.1 locked up all the time Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thesmithz
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on v3.10

did a trip from the midlands to northumberland & back ... plus 2 days of driving round newcastle & the country lanes of northumberland.

the i3 performed perfectly ... no lockups whatsoever. Maybe there's a difference between the newer i3 ( with built in maps ) and the original version, and everyone who is having problems with v3.10 own original i3s.

the only "problem" i encounter was driving along the new stretch of A1 near the A1/M1 junction at Wetherby. This road only opened a few weeks ago and for a few miles the i3 had me driving through fields and was continually recalculating to try and get me back on the road ! It sorted itself out when the new stretch of A1 merged back into the old stretch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoobydooby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 19, 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thesmithz wrote:

the i3 performed perfectly ... no lockups whatsoever. Maybe there's a difference between the newer i3 ( with built in maps ) and the original version, and everyone who is having problems with v3.10 own original i3s.


I dont think so, my i3 has the maps on an external TF card, I have done over 1000 miles with no problems.

thesmithz wrote:
the only "problem" i encounter was driving along the new stretch of A1 near the A1/M1 junction at Wetherby. This road only opened a few weeks ago and for a few miles the i3 had me driving through fields and was continually recalculating to try and get me back on the road ! It sorted itself out when the new stretch of A1 merged back into the old stretch.


As you suspect, your new stretch of road isn't included in the latest v8 maps, hence the i3 cant know about it.

Scoobs
_________________
Tom Tom Go 510 (new model)

I'd be lost without it !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 7 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping