Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - My Garmin doesn't communicate with GE
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

My Garmin doesn't communicate with GE
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
topref
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Sep 08, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Carmarthenshire

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:51 pm    Post subject: My Garmin doesn't communicate with GE Reply with quote

For some unknown reason, My Drivesmart 65 doesn't open GE on connection any more. Obviously I now can't update my camera files.

I have my 2699 which updated correctly as before and I used the same USB port and cable.

On connection, the usual display shows on the unit indicating the connection exists and it also shows as connected on my Windows 10 PC but GE says it's not connected.

Anyone have any ideas where I go next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delete the unit from GE and add it in again.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
topref
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Sep 08, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Carmarthenshire

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kremmen.

I did that before I posted here but when I re-connected my unit, it didn't recognise it. It's really strange. I'm wondering whether I should do a master reset but concerned that if THAT didn't work, would I lose all my PGPSW downloads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somewhere here is a post from Suss that tells how to change the unit from MTP to mass storage so you see all the units folders and files, non hidden.

In that mode you can offload your personal .GPI files and copy them back when done.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
topref
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Sep 08, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Carmarthenshire

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never been able to find that option on my 65. Done it on earlier models but will have to do a search for his post. Suss has forgotten more about Garmins than I (or many others too) have ever known.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4385
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A reset will affect favourites but doesn't touch your maps or POIs, but still worth backing up your POIs just in case Smile

I know the recent Zumo model no longer has a mass storage option, whether that's been removed from the latest drive models I don't know.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
topref
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Sep 08, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Carmarthenshire

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A master reset has resolved nothing. Do I assume that the software in the unit may have corrupted? I tried my 2699 and all's fine so the cable, USB port and GE are appear fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the latest GE as often new units don't work with older versions of GE.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
topref
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Sep 08, 2005
Posts: 334
Location: Carmarthenshire

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They've worked together for the year that I've owned it. The unit has also, in the last couple of weeks, started to restart whilst I'm using it. I'm beginning to think it's a software glitch and is developing. It is just 1 year and 5 days since I bought it!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My next ploy would be to uninstall GE, run CCleaner* to clear out any left behind settings then reinstall GE.

*CCleaner portable version only as the installable version is quite intrusive now.

http://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/builds
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14702
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kremmen wrote:
My next ploy would be to uninstall GE, run CCleaner* to clear out any left behind settings then reinstall GE.

*CCleaner portable version only as the installable version is quite intrusive now.

http://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/builds


CCleaner, as you say, is annoying.

Personally I prefer to use Revo Uninstaller. Does the same but the whole purpose of the software is to fully remove stuff so no risk of all the extra Crap that CrapCleaner ironically installs...!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use CCleaner because it has a facility to keep wanted cookies via selection and cleans out the recent ones you don't want.

The portable version is far less intrusive.

I've seen good reviews about Bleachbit but it clears out all cookies which is a pain.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Midsboy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Kidderminster

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 8:09 pm    Post subject: Sat Nav not recognised on GE Reply with quote

The same has happened to me. Both my Drivesmart 55 and Avtex Tourer Camper Unit are experiencing the same problem. Until June 20th connecting just fine and then suddenly they aren't being recognised by GE. Recognised on POI Loader just fine. reinstalled windows and took al the rubbish of PC. Reinstalled GE and reset both Sat Nav units but still not recognised, although they are recognised by the PC and POI Loader app. Any other ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6495
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2021 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea.

If the PC and POILoader are recognising them then there is no understandable reason why GE isn't recognising them.

What version of GE are you running ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4385
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2021 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is strange although there are reports on the Garmin forum that the latest Express version can't find some units, if you're running 7.7.0 you could try reverting to an earlier version to see if that helps.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping