Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 5100 & 6100 a World Device with Traffic!!! NOT...
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

5100 & 6100 a World Device with Traffic!!! NOT...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Flashyphotos
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 306
Location: All Over The UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:27 pm    Post subject: 5100 & 6100 a World Device with Traffic!!! NOT... Reply with quote

I recently bought a 6100 to replace my 500 that someone helped themselves to out of my car glovebox while parked on my drive..

I went for the 6100 as I liked the bigger screen and fancied not having to tether it to my phone as SWMBO has problems getting it reset.

Anyway all well and good, World Maps Great, No Speed Cam Costs, Great

Actually not a bad little unit.

Till...

Went to the US on work trip switched it on.. No Traffic.

Ok gets out smartphone, goes to tether it as I get free data in the US, No way to tether it, option removed on the versions with built in SIMs

Speak to TomTom Support and get a sheepish, response that the Traffic Data works via SIM in (most) of the EU, but not elsewhere due to no roaming agreements and different network standards.

So Joy of joy work trip around LA with no traffic.

Back in the UK sling it back at Amazon, and get the 610, back to tethering, back to US switch it on works straight off US Traffic perfect.

So if you are planning on buying the new WORLD Series 5100/6100 DONT if you want traffic outside a limited EU country range.

Stick to the 510/610 as at least you can tether those.. Crazy to remove tething from the 5100/6100 when they know the traffic service is so limited.

Anyway rant over but just a warning
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least your LIVE units will work in most EU countries. Here in North America, a LIVE unit from the US will not work in Canada and vice versa.
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flashyphotos
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 306
Location: All Over The UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
At least your LIVE units will work in most EU countries. Here in North America, a LIVE unit from the US will not work in Canada and vice versa.


Yeah, Problem is for me I work in either Los Angeles or London, with only the odd trip across europe.

Luckily with "3" in the UK offering free roaming in the US at least I can now go back to using the 610 with my phone for data (The amount used is so low by the TomTom that 3 dont class it as tethering and block it).

I just think it was a really bad move by TomTom to remove the option of using a phone to get data in areas where the internal sim does not work in the 6100/5100

And of course by the time most people realise the return period will have expired! Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gazza70
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tomtom was at the top of their game many moons ago and I now get the impression that couldn't give a toss about their customers,
I bet their was no mention on the box saying that theirs no traffic subscription in the USA ,
you was lucky that Amazon changed it, if it been somewhere like halfords or Argos then the answer would have been no ,
It makes you wonder how many people have been caught out with this .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazon come under the 'Distance Selling (DS)' rules (or whatever it's called now). Halfords and Argos don't if you go in to buy.
If buying from Halfords, buy on line and pick up in shop, that way the DS rules apply and you can just 'change it' if you don't like it. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping