Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - v895 maps out updating postcodes through home prob...
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

v895 maps out updating postcodes through home prob...
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:04 pm    Post subject: v895 maps out updating postcodes through home prob... Reply with quote

Ihave updated to the latest map last night. I did not get an update for the postcodes the way i did when i updated last week. Should i get this or is it still a few days or weeks before tomtom bring out the postcodes to suit the map.........
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was offered the postcodes along with the v895 map for my 720.

I was going to ask the version of the postcode file you downloaded last week, but the Great_BritainPostal.ver file I downloaded yesterday doesn't contain a version number. A cynic might suspect that was because it's the same as the previous one which was 890! Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the postcodes download for my Carminat, just Like Anita, with no version number.

But for my GO550, I didn't get the postcode download.

Cynically, I'm waiting for one of them to go all grumpy over a postcode to prove they are different - I won't be holding my breath, because I've still to find differences between up to date (on GO550 and Carminat) and ancient (on GO520) postcodes. Now I'll be looking for three different outcomes. Rolling Eyes
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anita wrote:
... but the Great_BritainPostal.ver file I downloaded yesterday doesn't contain a version number.
The tlv File holds the Version Number. Wink
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows says it can't open the tlv file.

The Great_BritainPostal.ver file in my last backup before updating the map says:
[Description]
ID=GreatbritainPostal_TeleAtlas
Version=890

The current Great_BritainPostal.ver file says:
[Description]
ID=GreatbritainPostal_TeleAtlas
Version=
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1932

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly, the usual direct download link -
http://www.tomtom.com/updates/zipcodes/Map_895/zip.zip
is not working.

I wonder if TT are pulling the option to update the Post codes outside of Home?

@Anita, If you don't have access to the version info. is there much difference in size when comparing the latest UK PostCode file to the previous one in Windows Explorer?
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daggers
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Solihull, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if Dennis didn't get the postcode update for his 550, why did I get it for mine?

However, I've managed to look at the TLV file using notepad, and the version number in there is .... 890!!!!
_________________
Garmin DriveSmart 50 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AliOnHols wrote:
@Anita, If you don't have access to the version info. is there much difference in size when comparing the latest UK PostCode file to the previous one in Windows Explorer?

The file downloaded on 2 August is 8,992KB.
The file downloaded on 27 August is 8,975KB. Confused
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daggers wrote:
However, I've managed to look at the TLV file using notepad, and the version number in there is .... 890!!!!

I hadn't persevered with trying to open the tlv file as the right-click menu didn't include "Open with".

I've now changed the file properties and opened it with Notepad, and it includes "http://id.tomtom.com/map/zipcode/Great_Britain Great_Britain895", not 890 like Daggers'! Confused
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075,
UK map 1095.11581
Samsung Galaxy S8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use WordPad as it reads much better.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guivre46
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2010
Posts: 1262
Location: West London

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
But for my GO550, I didn't get the postcode download.


Got 'navigate to postcode' at the same time as the map on my 550.....
_________________
Mike R [aka Wyvern46]
Go 530T - unsupported
Go550 Live [not renewed]
Kia In-dash Tomtom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've decided that I didn't get the postcode offered because I'd already received it for my Carminat. Probably wrong. Anyway, I went into Manage My Go and looked at what I'd got - postcodes v890 which I had added manually via Win Explorer (actually Finder in Mac).

I deleted them from the 550, then went to add items from my computer and found I had v895 there, so I added that.

Strangely, there is now only one file - Great Britain Postcodes. The .tlv file says....
Quote:
This file enables you to navigate to a location in the UK, The Netherlands and Singapore via the entry of a full digit postcode on your device. In the UK and the Netherlands, postcodes are detailed enough to identify a house on their own. In other countries you can enter a postcode to identify a town or area. You will then have to enter a street and house number.
and I happen to have a postcode for a friend in Holland and with just the one file on the 550, it did indeed find that postcode.

And - I've never tried it before, but it accepted a French 'postcode', i.e. it took the code for the area and then I was able to scroll for the correct road and enter the house number for where we're calling next week.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
And - I've never tried it before, but it accepted a French 'postcode', i.e. it took the code for the area and then I was able to scroll for the correct road and enter the house number for where we're calling next week.
TT Maps have always been able to do that - it's coded in the Map.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14874
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There ya go! Shows my naiivety and also that I haven't driven abroad since my GO700 in 2006. Yet another example of pgpsw being full of people with clever. Very Happy
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Canada, the postal codes are 6 characters ANA NAN (A=Alpha N=Numeric)

Forever (well, since I got my 720 in 2007 at least), TT has only provided postal code files with the first three characters (ANA)

I find that functionality totally useless if you only have the postal code and not the street.

For example, if I type the first 3 characters where I live (L3T), I get a listing of 326 streets!!!

Dumb........
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping