Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Poi Page problem or not
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Poi Page problem or not
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Points Of Interest (POIs)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Poi Page problem or not Reply with quote

Can somebody check out the Poi submission page, in all cases the ID box is greyed out consequently cannot enter Poi ID to change thus showing error on submitting, looks like page error but then could be my end.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10641
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is how it should be. The "greyed out" boxes are not, and should not, be user edited.

If you hover the mouse over the it will explain.

If you need to reference an existing POI then use the method of clicking on the POI Icon to display the information just above the map.

Then click on the underlined ID number. This will auto fill all the fields.

This method was brought in because of all the typos in entering numbers in the 3 fields.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Europe Map v1120
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Makes no difference Oldboy even if I click on the POi to change it still stays greyed out. believe me i have tried always, and cannot clear the box, it will simply not autofill or accept manual input. even logged out and tried again. but will try again in couple of minutes.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Oldboy, but its not quite that clear:
Quote:
If you hover the mouse over the it will explain

Doesnt really explain it, but the directory underneath does help if you read it all the way through, unfortunately only got to the bit that says:
Quote:
Click on the link associated with the POI,
which I did but then next sentence says example ID:XXXX,Perhaps the first bit could be removed for clarity
If I remember you just had to click on the Poi to Autofill, But anyway at the end of the day you did sort me out,So Thanks
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well managed to change one (I think) now having different problem on second one, Located Poi on map then changed to Hybrid clicked on Poi, then clicked on ID header, hybrid then refresh's and reverts to Map display.
Also note that in both cases have to click twice on ID header, not sure if its me or the site, but would be interesting id anybody else seeing problems, meanwhile will leave till tomorrow befor trying anymore.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10641
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aj2052 wrote:
Located Poi on map then changed to Hybrid clicked on Poi, then clicked on ID header, hybrid then refresh's and reverts to Map display.
It has always done that, as the Map Display is the default.

aj2052 wrote:
Also note that in both cases have to click twice on ID header,
Never happened to me, but sometimes it takes a while for the Google side of things to sort their act out.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Europe Map v1120
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
aj2052 wrote:
Located Poi on map then changed to Hybrid clicked on Poi, then clicked on ID header, hybrid then refresh's and reverts to Map display.
It has always done that, as the Map Display is the default

I shall have to look further into this because it stops you autofilling and then trying to relocate the Poi, a fresh day today so will look later.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15136
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aj2052 wrote:
Quote:
aj2052 wrote:
Located Poi on map then changed to Hybrid clicked on Poi, then clicked on ID header, hybrid then refresh's and reverts to Map display.
It has always done that, as the Map Display is the default

I shall have to look further into this because it stops you autofilling and then trying to relocate the Poi, a fresh day today so will look later.


once the page has reloaded simply press 'hybrid' again to change the map view.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a another look and yes MaFt you have to go back to hybrid view,
It is a while since i changed a Poi but for the life of me I cannot remember it being this way before, anyway over the senior moment now.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1936

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could there be a reason why my submission of Perpignan Rugby Club (USAP) at Latitude: 42.71466715137659 Longitude: 2.8909653425216675 keeps being rejected. I've tried submitting it a few times over the last couple of weeks but I never get an e-mail confirmation nor does it get added to the map. All my other submissions go through OK (e.g. Catalan Dragons just up the road from USAP)
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10641
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blame Google for this one - it is there, but for some reason it doesn't show on the map. There are numerous 'spots' in the UK that suffer the same fate.

If you download the (sub)category you will find it is present.

When you submitted a second time I made a mental note to email you - then forgot to do so. Embarassed

My apologies.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Europe Map v1120
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15136
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google can be fun at times! There is something somewhere (either in Google's API or maybe a stray apostrophe in our data somewhere nearby) stopping POIs showing in that area.

If you search for 42.71099557492478,2.8911209106445312 then you can see the Rugby club at the top of the map but if you move up slightly then BOOM! all the icons vanish.

I'll look into it to see if I can work out the cause for this area.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15136
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this particular issue has been resolved. It was caused by the Google API not liking accented characters on another POI in the area...

Time to go digging to stop it happening as opposed to simply removing a POI!!

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15136
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All fixed. I am wonderful.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1936

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent. Many thanks for the explanation Oldboy and the solution MaFt.
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Points Of Interest (POIs) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.043 (17 Apr 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping