Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury 4 Bedroom Villa For Rent In Disney Orlando Florida
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World Reviewed
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World Reviewed
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jeremypritchard
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I missing something here? This review talks as if the 1005 World is all new including it's screen, mount etc..

I've had my 1005 for over a year and this version seems like added functionality in the software but it's not a completely new device. Yet there is no reference to the previous 1005 at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rwgreg
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 25, 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting review but I would disagree with the TomTom Map data being reasonable for Europe particularly Spain. Some of the towns more inland than the coast roads can be a nightmare. It pays to have ones wits working as well as the satnav.

I have a Go720 which in my opinion worked perfectly because it didn't have any of the problems other people complained about. Like you I prefer the 5" screen so bought the XXL. The XXL would have been almost perfect if it had the SD card slot. i.e. a Go720 with 5" screen. I have followed the new 1000 series hoping they would give faster processing when going around small roundabouts in Europe but have been disappointed by the lack of usability compared to the previous series.

I keep reading the reviews hoping for the perfect TomTom so keep up the good work and please mention positional update speed. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matchlessman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 16, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the device has a built in SIM card for traffic etc updates then why does it need to be connected to a PC to update maps, Satellite locations etc.?
Surely not beyond the wit of man to allow it to connect to the TT website and update itself the way my phone can upgrade itself to a later version of software etc.
Didn't see a mention of the cost beyond year 1 for the 'Live' services.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeB
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 20/08/2002 11:51:57
Posts: 3859
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matchlessman wrote:
If the device has a built in SIM card for traffic etc updates then why does it need to be connected to a PC to update maps, Satellite locations etc.?
Surely not beyond the wit of man to allow it to connect to the TT website and update itself the way my phone can upgrade itself to a later version of software etc.
Didn't see a mention of the cost beyond year 1 for the 'Live' services.

If you want to pay about 10 a month they may add this functionality, but as you don't then you will not get the mass content delivered over wireless. With the UK taking ip about 300Mb and Europe over 1Gb it really is not practical to have OTA map updates.

The whole concept of the LIVE system is to transfer small amounts of data between the device and the server. You can see from the review that when you start to use larger data amounts the delay becomes rather long.

Your phone is an entirely different matter. You are the one paying for your data bill and you can chose to download a lot or a little data. The deal TT have with the wireless provider (Vodaphone in the UK) only allows for a limited amount of traffic.
_________________
Mike Barrett
Editor, PocketGPSWorld.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pottsy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 86
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No mention of the dreaded....

Traffic horizon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikeB
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 20/08/2002 11:51:57
Posts: 3859
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pottsy wrote:
No mention of the dreaded....

Traffic horizon?

Did you miss:
From the review wrote:

This is where the implementation seems to have some users up in arms. A good example of this is that TomTom recently decided to only take into consideration traffic data for a certain distance ahead of you. To a certain extent this sort of makes sense. Unless you are going round the M25 and having arrived at the junction and started going round the M25 you are suddenly hit with a 25 minute delay. It had been there all the time, but was not used in the routing calculations because it was out of range. Had I known about it I would have gone the other way round the M25 avoiding the delay.

_________________
Mike Barrett
Editor, PocketGPSWorld.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or the dreaded POI search horizon.... Evil or Very Mad
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marky
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Walkington, Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matchlessman wrote:

Didn't see a mention of the cost beyond year 1 for the 'Live' services.

If the yearly subscription price was mentioned it might put people off buying. Wink Wink

found this on tom tom:
http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/services/live/#tab:tab4

this on halfords, but not available to purchase:
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_733141_langId_-1_categoryId_165587

this on play:
http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/4-/9975758/TomTom-LIVE-Services-Pre-Paid-Subscription-Card/Product.html?_%24ja=tsid:11518|cat:9975758|prd:9975758

Not very clear on many websites what the yearly cost is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marky
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Walkington, Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tempted to buy a 1005 to replace my really old tomtom one....

I only needs maps of UK and Spain so are there any difference apart from the maps between a 1005 europe
http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/car-navigation/go-live-1005-europe-apps/index.jsp#tab:highlights

or a 1005 World?
http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/car-navigation/go-live-1005-world/

I would rather buy the Europe version if the hardware and operating system/menus etc are the same.

Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marky
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Walkington, Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A bit more digging about and I see why I am confused, looks there are two versions of the 1005 Europe, no mention of this on Tom Toms own website that I can see....

Halfords list a 1005 V2 Europe for 269.99
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_868075_langId_-1

and a 1005 Europe for 249.97

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_788555_categoryId_165685_langId_-1?cm_sp=Intelligent_Offer-_-Product_Details_Zone_1-_-Blank&iozone=PDPz1

Looks like I need a Version 2 1005 Europe...

It's not easy deciding which tom tom to buy, it is such a confusing website.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scubades
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 04, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:00 am    Post subject: Speed camera upload to Go Live 825 Reply with quote

In my old GO Live540, when I connected it to my computer I could see the storage like an SD card or hard drive and so could upload my PocketGPS speed cameras to the appropriate folder. But with my new GO Live825, the computer does not recognise it as a storage device so how do I upload the speed cam files? Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1928

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Speed camera upload to Go Live 825 Reply with quote

Scubades wrote:
....But with my new GO Live825, the computer does not recognise it as a storage device so how do I upload the speed cam files? Sad


http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/uksafetycameras-tomtom-nav3-zip.php

It does not mention the 825 in the title but the procedure is the same.
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scubades
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 04, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Speed camera upload to Go Live 825 Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll give that a go
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juliaosborne
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 22, 2009
Posts: 88
Location: Maldon, Essex

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scubades - I took a brand new TT V2 1005 world out of a box today and followed those instructions for the PGPSW database. It worked a treat.

It doesn't do itineraries though Twisted Evil
_________________
TomTom Live 1005 world maps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mostyn
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 01, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:57 pm    Post subject: Should I buy one Reply with quote

I have a 910 but am looking to upgrade to a 1005 world. My 910 works perfectly but I fancy an upgrade for the new features. I know I can sell my 910 on e-bay for a very good price, but the reviews for the 1005 world are contradictory.... Should I do it?

Mostyn Question Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.052 (12 May 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping