Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Postcodes
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Postcodes
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
playswell
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:59 am    Post subject: Postcodes Reply with quote

Is there any way to have a better database of post codes for the 1005. For example an office I visit is at CR3 6PP when my 1005 asks for the number I put 409 or 411 (actual address is 409 to 411 Croydon road Caterham) 1005 will only let me use 407 or 413. This is one example but there are many more any ideas?
_________________
Lift Tester/Adjuster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14871
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best you can hope for is that TomTom use the up to date Royal Mail Postcodes (which is not always the case). But in this case and thousands of others like it, the postcode doesn't help one bit - "409-411" is NOT a number on the Royal Mail postcode list. And, incidentally, try that postcode in Google Maps and see how close it gets you to that office.



_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Postcodes Reply with quote

playswell wrote:
Is there any way to have a better database of post codes for the 1005. For example an office I visit is at CR3 6PP when my 1005 asks for the number I put 409 or 411 (actual address is 409 to 411 Croydon road Caterham) 1005 will only let me use 407 or 413. This is one example but there are many more any ideas?


Actually, that's not an issue with the postcodes at all.

The postcode data is used to get the rough location (usually street or part of a street) but it then uses the house numbers in the map data to pinpoint the exact location.

I think you'll find if you tried to navigate to the same address but used the city-street-house number method, then you'd find it had the same problem.

But in general, the issue of EVER updating postcodes is as yet unsolved on the new models.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theripper
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 07, 2006
Posts: 581
Location: Medway Towns, Kent

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
The best you can hope for is that TomTom use the up to date Royal Mail Postcodes (which is not always the case). But in this case and thousands of others like it, the postcode doesn't help one bit - "409-411" is NOT a number on the Royal Mail postcode list. And, incidentally, try that postcode in Google Maps and see how close it gets you to that office.






Dennis
Whats the last address on the list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iGO allows house number 409 or 411 but not 410, so it appears to be a problem with TT.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14871
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

theripper wrote:
Dennis
Whats the last address on the list?
The point I'm making is that it's not a number, it's a name, just like 25 is listed numerically before Dennis - insert number 409 or 411 and it won't match - y'know, that's where my 70-odd year old fading brain actually beats the computer/satnav! The postman will do the same and re-sort his post with Pickerings between numbers 407 and 413. You and I can see quite plainly that there's a 409 in the list, but the machine can't. Isn't there some sort of fancy way it does it by matching, not actually seeing numbers? It matches the first number against 409 and fails, goes to the next and fails again and so on until it has tried them all including Pickerings, which isn't a number - sorry, it's a number greater than 409 in bifocal. Or am I being a weirdo? Mind you, there was a time when TomTom got you to a number by extrapolating from other known numbers - it might have 351, 401 and 451 and worked out an approximate location for 409 from those, but it doesn't seem to do so nowadays.

Border_Collie I'd guess the even numbers on the other side of the road don't reach 410 (yet).
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Border_Collie I'd guess the even numbers on the other side of the road don't reach 410 (yet).


I think another brain cell died today because I wasn't thinking odd and even numbers. Embarassed

Luckily my trusty iGO gets me where I want to go. Very Happy
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Border_Collie wrote:
iGO allows house number 409 or 411 but not 410, so it appears to be a problem with TT.


The "even" side of the road will have a different postcode. 410 may exist but not with the same postcode as 409 and 411.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think most users have the wrong idea of how TT handle Postcodes.

Using the example above, with older software at least, inputting CR36PP returns 2 pieces of information.

First the road address, Croydon Road, Caterham, to which you can input a property number between 1 and 431. It will then centre itself on where the Map Data thinks that property is.

Second, it returns a Lat/Long within that Postcode area, not necessarily the centre, and if you Tap OK, without inputting a number, it will centre the Map on the Lat/Long that was returned.

IIRC, in later software versions you don't have any option but to use a number before pressing OK (unless there are no numbers listed for that road).
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:
The "even" side of the road will have a different postcode.
Not neccessarily. My postcode includes both sides of the (fairly major) road.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
PaulB2005 wrote:
The "even" side of the road will have a different postcode.
Not neccessarily. My postcode includes both sides of the (fairly major) road.


Lol. Serves me right for posting with such conviction!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuart
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 20/04/2003 11:51:10
Posts: 405
Location: Dorset, England, Great Britain

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Latest Postcodes are available from here

http://www.tomtom.com/updates/zipcodes/Map_885/zip.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new postcode files are of little help to the OP as he owns a 1005 which uses the borked PC interface known as MyTomTom, no way to add these files to the device using MyTomTom unlike "normal" devices - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
stuart
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 20/04/2003 11:51:10
Posts: 405
Location: Dorset, England, Great Britain

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I wasn't of any help Mike Sad

Hope the link is helpful for 'normal' Tom Tom users Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sdm197
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 06, 2004
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a tt940, I was just wondering, do the postcodes on the unit get updated when you update the map? I have signed up for the quarterly updates and wondered if there is any point of installing the codes earlier in the thread?

thanks in advance for any replies.

SDM197.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping