Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Re Subscribed, now i cant put database on my Navman 475
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Re Subscribed, now i cant put database on my Navman 475

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 9:32 pm    Post subject: Re Subscribed, now i cant put database on my Navman 475 Reply with quote

Hi all,

Subscribed over an hour ago and have downloaded the Navman database for my 475 unit.

I downloded the consolidated database and have noticed that the files are in ASC format.

When I open the miomore desk and try to locate the files i've downloaded, the miomore desk will not locate them as its asking for CSV format.

I'm now concerned that i've wasted one of my three database choices.

Please help Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 9:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Re Subscribed, now i cant put database on my Navman 475 Reply with quote

leehazzo wrote:
I'm now concerned that i've wasted one of my three database choices.
You are not limited to three choices. See third post down Here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I appreciate that.
Thought you could only choose 3 different formats of database to download within your subscription ie tomtom, navman & say garmin.

Just took the car for a spin with the latest pwgps database loaded on my 475 Navman.
Had to convert the asc file format to CSV using poi editor and loaded it up to the unit.

Not once did it sound an alert or display a picture on the screen, went past two known gatso's and a red light camera and nothing.

(Now I know the camera's are in the pgpsw database as i had Cameralert running on my mobile and it picked em all up)

Does ANYONE know how to get the database to work on the 475 Navman???

This unit is getting beyond a joke now.....

Thanks in advance

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you look on the compatibility list below the download section, you will find an installation guide for your device. To save you looking for it, it's Here. TRy following the instructios, and if it fails, explain where it went wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

leehazzo wrote:
I appreciate that.
Thought you could only choose 3 different formats of database to download within your subscription ie tomtom, navman & say garmin.



Not quite Lee....
The licence allows you to install the database onto three UNITS in your possession (or members of your immediate household).

You can download the database in as many different FORMATS as you like just in order to get it working. Smile

Try the .asc version and follow the directions that M8TJT linked to, and let us know how you get on.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

Ok, here's what i've done:
I downloaded the consolidated speed camera database for Navman and unzipped it.
I then found the files by typing *.asc in the browse box as by default navdesk only wants to find CSV files.
The files then appeared.
I selected the gatso one first, named it gatso, added the Icon from the unzipped folder for gatso cam and seltcted it to be shown as visual alert and also a sound alert.
I did this for all cams: Mobile, Specs, Redlight and named them accordingly, but when I came to add poss mobile cams the navdesk told me that it had a limit of 12,000 poi limit (as mentioned previous on here)
I didn't bother to add the poss mobile cams.
I set out to a christening today in Stockport, well known for camera's there
There are even two Gatso's on a road where I live that I have to pass.

I've followed the instructions given by M8TJT in the link to the letter.

On the journey today, not once did an Icon appear on my 475 Navman, nor did I get any Sound alert.

This is the problem that i'm having, the poi's copy across to the unit but when in use, no Icons for camera's or sound alerts appear....

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a navman, so am having a guess here. The installation instructions do not appear to tell you how to enable the cams. I assume that the NM has some sort of 'enable POIs' control and assume that you have switched them on on the NM device Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
The installation instructions do not appear to tell you how to enable the cams.


I think it might... in steps 4 and 5?

But I don't have a navman either, so I guess we're both floundering really, until a Navman owner can put us out of our misery! Smile
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
I don't have a navman, so am having a guess here. The installation instructions do not appear to tell you how to enable the cams. I assume that the NM has some sort of 'enable POIs' control and assume that you have switched them on on the NM device Question


Thats just it mate, the NM does not have anything like that on the unit.
There is nowhere on it thats says enable poi's etc

I had a Tomtom which I wish i'd kept, dead easy to set up and use.

Thats why I'm wondering how someone has managed to use them on their NM 475 as its lised in the device list.....

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
M8TJT wrote:
The installation instructions do not appear to tell you how to enable the cams.


I think it might... in steps 4 and 5?:
Could be right. I was looking for something to set them on on the device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Andy_P wrote:
M8TJT wrote:
The installation instructions do not appear to tell you how to enable the cams.


I think it might... in steps 4 and 5?:
Could be right. I was looking for something to set them on on the device.


Yeah i've done all that on the mio desk ie selecting visual and sound alerts then copying the selected camera's to the device but nothing shows up on the map when in use Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bear in mind that Andy and I are just trying to help you when neither of us have a NavMan. Shocked Hopefully someone with one will be along soon Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Bear in mind that Andy and I are just trying to help you when neither of us have a NavMan. Shocked Hopefully someone with one will be along soon Very Happy


No i appreciate that guys Smile

I've e-mailed Navman and i'm awaiting a reply from them so i'll let you know what they say, or unless as you say someone comes along who's got a NM and managed to do it Smile

Cheers

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehazzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(This could be linked to the other thread I started 3Zero)

I've just downloaded the cams for my Navman 475.
On the Mio Desk it asks me to browse for CSV files so I downloaded "Other CSV"
I've followed the instructions and it copied it all to the unit including Image's.
I've turned the unit on and scrolled on the screen to where I know there is a "Red Light" and a "Gatso" camera near me.
They don't appear on the map....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackd_123
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:25 pm    Post subject: MIO spirit sucks? Reply with quote

Same experiences ..... the 475 model sucks, don't buy one unless MIO gets their act together. Also no reply from MIO when inquired about their software. -J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.054 (25 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping