Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom 1.7 - HD Traffic Issue
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom 1.7 - HD Traffic Issue

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
danio1972
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:08 pm    Post subject: TomTom 1.7 - HD Traffic Issue Reply with quote

Since the update to version 1.7 I note that traffic data only seems to be obtained for a defined area around your believed location. Maybe 50 to 60 miles in circumference only, rather than for the whole length of a given route.

Example, Birmingham to London. Traffic in Birmingham is shown, London's end of the route shows clear. Upon checking with TomTom live traffic website London was covered in traffic issues and indeed the route selected would have been affected - London on the iPhone showed no traffic at all!

Create a advanced route. select the starting point as London and the end as say luton, right through the M1 roadworks. Select route demo. Sometime have to wait a short while for the traffic update cycle to run, but, you will see a mass of traffic arrive for London and surrounding area, but, nothing outside of say 50 to 60 miles again.

It seems the update has restricted the amount of traffic the system obtains and displays. I've asked the question in the TomTom forum; does anyone else see this at all? It makes the system less useful as traffic outside of 50 to 60 miles could well be a reason you choose to use M1 rather than M6 as one example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14878
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This lesser radius for HD Traffic display is a recent development by TomTom on probably all their devices and has been discussed quite a bit already.

See HERE for example.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomTom wrote:
HD Traffic: Officially the quickest way through traffic. With more accurate traffic info, wider coverage and at least seven times more updates than anyone else

So to get the figures for the advertising stats i.e. more frequent updates they reduce the coverage because that was also greater than the competition with previous releases - Go figure......
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
danio1972
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
This lesser radius for HD Traffic display is a recent development by TomTom on probably all their devices and has been discussed quite a bit already.


Thanks very much for that; I hadn't picked up on it before todays software update.

Now that I read those reports it makes a few recent routing decisions by TomTom make sense to me. I can see both sides of the argument. If traffic exists now but over an hour up the road would it affect me? Should I go in a completely different direction?

I can only imagine that they have modelled situations like that and found on balance that traffic generally clears, or, you can locally re-route rather than going miles out of the way.

HD Traffic is still clearly without competition at the current time though and remains the best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14878
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it is best to add that no traffic service I know of is completely reliable. That's not because they are "unreliable" as in poor implementations, merely that because traffic is fluid, it will change faster than it can be updated on any system. And it will never be completely reliable.

Best course is to access as many traffic services as you can without spending all day searching instead of driving! Personally, it is convenient for me to run three devices side by side with different traffic implementations, plus I have Radio 5 Live on all the time for traffic news at 15 and 45 minutes past the hour. And I often say "You've got to be joking " and ignore all of them! Laughing Laughing Laughing
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
st1967
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 28, 2003
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very interesting, that will explain why it didn't show any traffic when I started my journey from Bolton to Glasgow yesterday, the last 10 miles being the terrible M8 right through the centre of Glasgow.

When I reached there it was well after 10am and the traffic was flowing.

I am so "anal" about avoiding delays, although not is seems as bad as Dennis Laughing 3 devices !!! but if this works then I'm not too worried. Another plus is you aren't thinking about a later delay if it doesn't show it till you get closer.
_________________
Samsung S22 Android, Google Maps & Camera Alert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14878
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st1967 wrote:
I am so "anal" about avoiding delays, although not is seems as bad as Dennis Laughing 3 devices !!!

I don't use three devices (four, counting the radio, and I do have another two if I could conjour up the ciggy lighter sockets!) because of the traffic. Traffic is a by-product of them all, to which I pay not a lot of attention, just note it from time to time. My main benefit from them is to check the routing, which sometimes differs between them, and for security against loss of signal in towns like London where the tall buildings can cause signal reflection, hence havoc for my GPS position. With three devices, I can usually manage to hold signal on at least one of them. Today in Manchester my main one, Carminat usually most reliable of them all, using vehicle built in antenna, lost signal and had me off route somewhere - "Turn left/right/around" etc, whilst all the time I was on the correct track held by the other two!
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping