Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 9.058 for x40 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

9.058 for x40 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well after a few more miles things seem to be settling down. The unit tends to now start in 2D mode most of the time. It does now automatically switch to 3D with a route but if you cancel a route it drops back to 2D again. I know I can switch with a tap on the screen but the old 8.x NavCore didn't do this and it not always convenient to sworn when driving m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddly the unit will not give me the option to upgrade to the new software.

It is stuck on version 9.054 and says no upgrades available.

Anyone else had this issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some users on North American forums have.

So they uninstalled 9.054 from their units and then were offered the new app when they connected to Home.
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbooth
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 18, 2006
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2D thing with no planned route is a pain but I'll live with it for the other stuff that the upgrade brings.
Anybody else noticed that the unit now doesn't switch off when power is removed - you have to go and tell it this is what it to do in one of the menus.

Just tried 'Operate my Go' in Home and of course it doesn't work. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
Some users on North American forums have.

So they uninstalled 9.054 from their units and then were offered the new app when they connected to Home.


Thanks that worked.

Still won't connect to Live Services though. Sad

Edit: Now working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davedoubledecks
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 04, 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Halesowen, West Midlands

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive tried my XL Live with 9.058 on a good run today. I did four journeys which add up to over 350 miles. I lost the traffic bar once but it came back after 2 minutes. The routing and rerouting where a lot quicker than V9.053 or 9.054. The screen response is slighty slower than V8 but i can live with that.
Overall im happy with this version and will carry on testing it next week.
Laughing
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyTheHand
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 16, 2005
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:
The unit tends to now start in 2D mode most of the time. It does now automatically switch to 3D with a route but if you cancel a route it drops back to 2D again.

My 550 has been reverting to 2D - on 9.054 (and doesn't go automatically to 3D despite the setting when navigating). It took me a while to realise that it would switch back - even when the 2D/3D were hidden behind instructions - I have the bar vertically)
_________________
J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xspartx
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 13, 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Live services have given up the ghost again.

Tomtom should be ashamed to charge money for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xspartx wrote:
Live services have given up the ghost again.

Tomtom should be ashamed to charge money for this.


Err they didn't... it was a free update.

So what exactly are you seeing with the Live Services?
If you go to "My TomTom account" does it accept your login name and password?

Do you see anything in "My services"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gazza70
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matt865 wrote:
PaulB2005 wrote:
Anyone else find their unit takes a couple of minutes to start even attempting to connect to the LIVE services? I.e the bar doesn't appear for the first 2 minutes after switching on?


Yes, that happens on my 740. Turned on at 14:27, it took until 14:29 for the traffic bar to appear at all and until 14:31 for it to load 374 incidents. Other live services don't work ("cannot connect, try later...") until the 14:29 point either.

Can't confirm the failure to switch to 3D, I haven't been out with it since the upgrade.

edit: I did just try in demo mode and it didn't automatically switch to 3D whilst navigating.




it also happens on my 540 i went through dartford tunnel last night after about 15min i had to turn it off then back on to get the travel back also my live fuel prices no longer work(have emailed tomtom waiting for reply)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hagman777
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 24, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there updated all seemed fine next day no live services all i get is try again later i have a 540 Live it shows on network settings i am connected getting a bit annoyed now i know its a free update i might revert back to my original application its just too much hassle i like tomtom i have had a 520 and a 530 GO butenough is enough anyone else getting live problems. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brucebb
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 10, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:15 pm    Post subject: Cant update through Home Reply with quote

Can someone help me to update to 9.058 please. I am stuck on 9.054 and using Home to update it doesnt show the latest application as an option.
I have performed a soft reset on my 940 and retried but to no avail. Not sure what else to try.
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bucebb, did yousee these posts just above yours?

xspartx wrote:
Oddly the unit will not give me the option to upgrade to the new software.

It is stuck on version 9.054 and says no upgrades available.

Anyone else had this issue?


dhn wrote:
Some users on North American forums have.

So they uninstalled 9.054 from their units and then were offered the new app when they connected to Home.


You can uninstall 9.054 by deleting all the files on the unit that are NOT inside yellow folders. Do not delete any of the folders.

Also, do you know how to make a backup? Details for that are in the FAQs at the top of this forum section, and you should DEFINITELY make one before doing the above (or any other changes).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phillevy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 01, 2006
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could someone tell me how an updated x40 differs from an x50?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alan195
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since updating I can not use any Live Services. If I try I get the following error msg :-

Quote:
There is something wrong with your SIM card. Please contact TomTom customer support.
Error code: 1001


Have been in touch with TomTom, Friday, and, after trying several things, they said it was a fault at their end. Had to send my system information but have not had an update yet.
_________________
Alan

Go 740 Live
Go 600
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 3 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.022 (08 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping