Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 9.058 for x40 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

9.058 for x40 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 19, 20, 21  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shad, where are you!!! Surprised
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbecking
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2005
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrT wrote:
It is over 4 months since the first post in this thread and you would have thought that TomTom could have fixed some of the issues in this time.


Yep I can't believe tomtom have still not released an updated navcore. they are obviously not bothered about us x40 owners Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smallish company, limited technical resources, shrinking profits and a management that is desperate to get the issues with the new models ironed out.

Not a lot of capacity left to de-bug the (free) updates to older models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matthewj
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
Smallish company, limited technical resources, shrinking profits and a management that is desperate to get the issues with the new models ironed out.


Not so much issues with the new models, as core features. I can see that they'd be focussed on that. Unfortunately, the consequence will probably be that they never do another big update for older models - that is the easy option for the PHB in charge of this. Seemed a nice idea, but caused lots of hassle and took time away from core business of new models. Won't do that again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WackyRaces
Banned


Joined: Aug 04, 2010
Posts: 172
Location: Banned Member Using New ID

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

matthewj wrote:
Not so much issues with the new models, as core features. I can see that they'd be focussed on that. Unfortunately, the consequence will probably be that they never do another big update for older models - that is the easy option for the PHB in charge of this. Seemed a nice idea, but caused lots of hassle and took time away from core business of new models. Won't do that again!


But on the other hand Navcore 9.058 still contains some very serious bugs that also affect all x50 series units (the last of which are only now being sold from the shops) as well as the x40 series and I think those bugs really do need resolving for the sake of TomTom's own corporate reputation. We are not asking for any new features but just for the features we have got to work as advertised.

The most serious bugs apart from the HD Traffic log on issues (which now takes up to five minutes and/or where you may not be able to log on at all for long periods) are as follows:-

1. Battery Runs Flat In No Time Unless Clear Route is Selected Before Turning Unit Off.

2. Route is Not Automatically Cleared When "You Have Reached Your Destination" is Announced if you also stop at your Destination for more than a few seconds (as opposed to overshooting it where clearly the route should not be cleared)

3. Unit Switches Back to 2D Display Mode When The Route Is Cleared By The User Even if You Were Previously In 3D Display Mode (you have to manually clear route to avoid battery drain as stated above when the unit is turned off)

4. Changing Volume Level Upwards Is Now Extremely Difficult Under Navcore 9.058 When A Route Is Set (this may only affect x40 series units) And The Vehicle In Motion

5. EPT No Longer Displayed When Travelling Through Tunnels On The 940 - this suggests that EPT may not work at all under Navcore 9.058 compared to Navcore 8.371 but I don't know if this bug with Navcore 9.058 also affects 950 units?

6. Asking To Travel To A Petrol Station When You Are On Route No Longer Gives You The Option To Recalculate Your Route Via The Petrol Station - instead selecting to travel to the petrol station clears your original route without asking you and makes your current route just your current position to the petrol station.

7. Google Live Search Does Not Work Properly And Often Navigates You To An Address Up To A Mile From The Place You Actually Wanted To Travel To - is this only a problem with my older v835 maps and not with more recent map releases though?

If I have missed any serious bugs in Navcore 9.058 that are affecting other users or that are possibly only affecting x50 series users (I have a 940) then perhaps they can post them below.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never had the route cleared on any TomTom once I had reached my destination. It would be a useful feature.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WackyRaces
Banned


Joined: Aug 04, 2010
Posts: 172
Location: Banned Member Using New ID

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrT wrote:
I have never had the route cleared on any TomTom once I had reached my destination. It would be a useful feature.


But now made all the more essential by the annoying habit of the v9 Navcores of flattening the battery on one's 940 if the route is not cleared before it is turned off. This didn't used to happen with the v8 Navcores and I might be imagining that the route was ever cleared automatically by arriving at one's destination as obviously not clearing route did not then have the same disastrous battery draining consequences. Although I'm suddenly wondering how much more battery drain now having the latest version of Joghurt's Height program installed on my 940 may cause.

However I am sure when I had a route set and I looked up a petrol station that was on route or near to the route and selected that I wanted to go there that I was previously asked if I wanted to navigate Via that petrol station under Navcore 8.371 and earlier and that this does not now happen under Navcore 9.058 which simply clears your existing destination and replaces it with the petrol station as your final destination instead. Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@WackyRaces

When you complete a trip try the following:

Press and hold the on/ off button for a long time, when the device reboots keep the button pressed until the device displays the info screen (black screen with loads of white text). At this point release the power button and press it again to switch the device off, at this point it should be fully off. When you next switch it on do you see the yellow bar running left to right across the lower portion of the screen.

If so the device is starting up from cold and won't have had the processor doing anything while powered down resulting in a battery at the same charge state as when you turned it off - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
WackyRaces
Banned


Joined: Aug 04, 2010
Posts: 172
Location: Banned Member Using New ID

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Press and hold the on/ off button for a long time, when the device reboots keep the button pressed until the device displays the info screen (black screen with loads of white text). At this point release the power button and press it again to switch the device off, at this point it should be fully off. When you next switch it on do you see the yellow bar running left to right across the lower portion of the screen.


Thanks for the useful information Mike but one still has to ask why TomTom's Navcore developers are not able to write software that shuts the unit down in to this state when you press down the On/Off button in the normal way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WackyRaces wrote:
one still has to ask why TomTom's Navcore developers are not able to write software that shuts the unit down in to this state when you press down the On/Off button in the normal way.

I seem to recall the answer to that question was the number 42 - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Guivre46
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2010
Posts: 1262
Location: West London

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But the quetion was "what is 6 times 6.."
_________________
Mike R [aka Wyvern46]
Go 530T - unsupported
Go550 Live [not renewed]
Kia In-dash Tomtom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in which number system? In octal that would be 44 which is "close enough" to 42.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WackyRaces wrote:

..... the HD Traffic log on issues (which now takes up to five minutes and/or where you may not be able to log on at all for long periods)

When I timed it earlier this evening, on my Go940 running v9.058 it only took 1 minute 7 seconds after the navigation screen appeared to retrieve the HD Traffic information and show it in the side bar. That's about as long as it always takes and seems reasonable to me.

Quote:
1. Battery Runs Flat In No Time Unless Clear Route is Selected Before Turning Unit Off.

If this really occurs I've not noticed it as I always use the charger cable in the car and when I get home it usually sits in the PC dock. So not a problem for me. Maybe I'll run some tests.

Quote:
2. Route is Not Automatically Cleared When "You Have Reached Your Destination" is Announced if you also stop at your Destination for more than a few seconds (as opposed to overshooting it where clearly the route should not be cleared)

I MAY get this occasionally (or even every time) but never notice it.
I must use the device in a different way to you as it never causes me any hassle if it is happening, but I will keep my eyes open for it.

Quote:
3. Unit Switches Back to 2D Display Mode When The Route Is Cleared By The User Even if You Were Previously In 3D Display Mode

As designed, I am told by TT staff... "That's a new feature, sir"
I hate the 2D view, but as I said above, I must use my device differently to you as I have the right connection of tick boxes for it never to bother me now.

Quote:
4. Changing Volume Level Upwards Is Now Extremely Difficult Under Navcore 9.058 When A Route Is Set (this may only affect x40 series units) And The Vehicle In Motion

Why? What happens? I can't say I ever have any difficulty with altering the volume up or down on my 940.

Quote:
5. EPT No Longer Displayed When Travelling Through Tunnels On The 940 - this suggests that EPT may not work at all under Navcore 9.058 compared to Navcore 8.371 but I don't know if this bug with Navcore 9.058 also affects 950 units?

Not checked myself as I don't use long tunnels that much but I have just read old posts on another forum that suggest the EPT symbol DOES appear on an x50. I'll have to find a long tunnel and do some tests on both models (or get out the silver foil!)

Quote:
6. Asking To Travel To A Petrol Station When You Are On Route No Longer Gives You The Option To Recalculate Your Route Via The Petrol Station - instead selecting to travel to the petrol station clears your original route without asking you and makes your current route just your current position to the petrol station.

Unless I misunderstand you I'm definitely not seeing this problem either... How are you trying to do it?
If I have a route set and then go to Live Services / Fuel prices, select "cheapest nearby" and then choose one, I then get a screen saying "Would you like your route to go via this fuel station?". If I tap "Yes" the route is recalculated to go via the petrol station, but it still has my original final destination.
I've just checked this on both a 940 and a 950.

Alternatively I can just go Find alternative/ Travel via in the menus and get the same result.

Quote:
7. Google Live Search Does Not Work Properly And Often Navigates You To An Address Up To A Mile From The Place You Actually Wanted To Travel To

No problem here. It seems to me to be just as accurate (or inaccurate) as any Google search on a PC is.
TT cannot work miracles and improve the Google data.


So.... most of the "serious" bugs you are reporting are either not happening on my devices or my way of using them means the bugs simply don't 'bug' me particularly.


PS Why All The Capital Letters on Each Word? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now... I will add one bug/issue that really DOES drive me crazy.

I want the "Browse map" screen to NOT show traffic, as I always want to see my POIs and Favourites on-screen.
So that is how I have the options set.

However, if I switch the device on and go straight to browse the map, as soon as HD Traffic is received, the map changes over to the Traffic view and I lose my POI icons, map colours etc.
The TomTom has ASSUMED I want to see the Traffic view.

If I then go to the options page and switch it back to show POIs etc, very often, as soon as I go back to the map it changes BACK AGAIN to the Traffic view and I have to reset the options a second time before it "sticks".

Unfortunately, this is not a bug but another "desired feature" according to the TT designers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WackyRaces
Banned


Joined: Aug 04, 2010
Posts: 172
Location: Banned Member Using New ID

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
When I timed it earlier this evening, on my Go940 running v9.058 it only took 1 minute 7 seconds after the navigation screen appeared to retrieve the HD Traffic information and show it in the side bar.


What are you calling a Navigation screen though? Do you mean the screen after the blue bar on the right has appeared? It is connecting to Tom Live Services at all that takes several minutes after switch on. Obtaining the traffic information does not take nearly as long provided that a data connection to the TomTom Live servers is already in place and the blue traffic bar on the right already present. But that is no comfort if upon starting a journey from your current location there are two different routes that diverge immediately after leaving your front door and you need to know which route to take as soon as you leave home.

Quote:
If this really occurs I've not noticed it as I always use the charger cable in the car and when I get home it usually sits in the PC dock. So not a problem for me. Maybe I'll run some tests.


I can't help the fact that you apparently spend almost your whole life with your TomTom on charge and apparently drive your car all day long every single day. Plenty of the rest of us have to catch trains in to London and also even use the TomTom for walking routes (with the help of the StatNav utility that speeds up screen alterations at walking pace)

Quote:
I MAY get this occasionally (or even every time) but never notice it. I must use the device in a different way to you as it never causes me any hassle if it is happening, but I will keep my eyes open for it.


If your device is almost always connected to a power supply then the battery run down problems caused by a failure to Clear Route will not usually affect you.

Quote:
As designed, I am told by TT staff... "That's a new feature, sir"
I hate the 2D view, but as I said above, I must use my device differently to you as I have the right connection of tick boxes for it never to bother me now


I have the tick box set for the TomTom to change to 3D mode whenever it is following a Route but it doesn't do this if it is already in 2D mode after a previous Clear Route despite having this option set when I set up a new Route. Perhaps you never Clear Route but merely always Navigate to somewhere else while a route is currently set (which would not revert you back to 2D mode). Again one only has to Clear Route if one's TomTom does not spend its whole life on charge to stop the battery running flat. I still don't see why 2D/3D switch option could not have been confined to one of the Preferences screens and/or Shortcuts as its presence on the main screen has taken away space for the satellite signal strength bars and direct access to the satellite display and Network button (both of which are far more important to me). In fact rather than displaying satellite bars I suspect a permanent pair of icons showing GPRS signal strength and the level of battery charge (even when charging) would be the most useful thing to go in this space in the middle of the Status Bar.

Quote:
Why? What happens? I can't say I ever have any difficulty with altering the volume up or down on my 940.


It is very difficult to get the volume slider to move in an increase volume direction when it is in the car and you are driving. The volume slider appears but you cannot move it to the right. It moves up ok to the right when I am at home. Are you perhaps running Navcore 8.371 rather than Navcore 9.058 for the purpose of responding to this section of my original questions? I never had this problem in Navcore 8.371

Quote:
Not checked myself as I don't use long tunnels that much but I have just read old posts on another forum that suggest the EPT symbol DOES appear on an x50. I'll have to find a long tunnel and do some tests on both models (or get out the silver foil!)


EPT always came on with Navcore 8.371 in even quite short tunnels and always when driving in multi storey car parks etc. Now it never appears at all. An 800 ft tunnel in Mallorca I drive through always made EPT come on in Navcore 8.371 but now with Navcore 9.058 it does not appear.

Quote:
Unless I misunderstand you I'm definitely not seeing this problem either... How are you trying to do it?

If I have a route set and then go to Live Services / Fuel prices, select "cheapest nearby" and then choose one, I then get a screen saying "Would you like your route to go via this fuel station?". If I tap "Yes" the route is recalculated to go via the petrol station, but it still has my original final destination.

I've just checked this on both a 940 and a 950.

Alternatively I can just go Find alternative/ Travel via in the menus and get the same result.


How you describe it as working is how it worked for me in Navcore 8.371 and my only complaint was that you didn't get distance and time to the Via point you were being guided to rather than only the final destination still being shown and that you could therefore stumble on your intermediate Via point by surprise or even miss it. But in Navcore 9.058 I find that Navigating to a fuel POI with a route currently set just clears the current route and makes the petrol station now my final and only destination.

Quote:
No problem here. It seems to me to be just as accurate (or inaccurate) as any Google search on a PC is.

TT cannot work miracles and improve the Google data.


I find it doesn't navigate you to better than a mile away from the Googled POI more than 50% of the time. I read elsewhere there was due to some serious translation error in terms of the GPS coordinates when TomTom make use of Google's GPS coordinate data. My understanding is that it is the way TomTom uses the coordinates rather than Google's data which is at fault.

Quote:
So.... most of the "serious" bugs you are reporting are either not happening on my devices or my way of using them means the bugs simply don't 'bug' me particularly.


I am sure that they would obviously hire you for a job at TomTom support in Holland like a shot given that you can't seem to find anything at all wrong with the functions of the x40 and x50 series under Navcore 9.058

Quote:
P.S. Why All The Capital Letters on Each Word? Confused


Because they were topic headings rather than discussions within a topic? Don't Your headings normally have capital letters at the start of each word?

Andy_P wrote:
Unfortunately, this is not a bug but another "desired feature" according to the TT designers.


Surely you are an intelligent enough person with a critical enough faculty to recognise that no customer can actually want the various obvious longstanding current bugs in Navcore 9.058 and that the cynical claim of customer services in Amsterdam that they are that way due to customer demand is just a way to get rid of you and improve their call centre complaint resolution statistics. Rolling Eyes


Last edited by WackyRaces on Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 20 of 21

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping