Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TT Go 630 post code's prob
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TT Go 630 post code's prob
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:53 pm    Post subject: TT Go 630 post code's prob Reply with quote

I am unable to input the full post code search on my TT Go 630.

using a fictitious code as an example B12 9YZ

I can only put the first part of any post codes search in (example) B12 but not the second part 9YZ
The unit has been working properly, and only recently developed this fault,I have not altered any of the settings prior to this fault.

It's worth pointing out that I have tried a factory restore but it just gets stuck at the restart screen necessitating a paper clip up its bum to get it going again.

Any suggestions before I do a complete "new restore"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Warning......a lot of uses of the word 'zip' here..... Laughing

Download the latest 850 UK postal codes from here:

http://www.tomtom.com/updates/zipcodes/Map_850/zip.zip

It's in a zip format so unzip the files therein to the zip folder on your unit. See if that helps
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happened to me once before and it was because it wasn't set to look for a uk address. I'd been looking for an address in Italy and forgot to switch back to uk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did use it in Spain 2 weeks ago but I have put it back to the UK setting also I can input the full postal address's so looks like it might of got corrupted some how

dhn
I have down loaded and unzipped the file but can't find where to put it in the TT ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daggers
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Solihull, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a folder called "zip" on the TT? If not, create one and place the files in here.

Remember that some countries call postcodes "zipcodes" - hence the slightly confusing name of the folder.
_________________
Garmin DriveSmart 50 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daggers wrote:

Remember that some countries call postcodes "zipcodes" - hence the slightly confusing name of the folder.


Bloody Americans, eh? Wink
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, the Go650 was never intended to be sold in the UK or Europe, only the US.
So as the postcodes files in the "zip" folder only cover the UK and Netherlands, it's maybe not surprising they were not on the machine from new.

Out of interest, assuming you got it in the UK, where did you buy it from and did they mention it was an import?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks to dnh for the file, and thanks to Daggers for where to put them.

I have it working perfectly now, but I still can not understand how it was working up until I changed it to Spain and then back again to uk.

In answer to your Q Andy_P it was from Pixmania on there eBay shop in a package deal which included a Samsung mobile (I believe a TT promotion at the time) for the winning bid of 72 ish Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got to put my hands up and admit I had a senile moment in that it was my 730 that worked perfect on the post code searches and not my 630.
As Andy-p said the 630 was not originally intended for the UK and there for never had the UK post codes from day one. Embarassed

So to clarify for anybody viewing this thread looking for help you need to install the post codes via the help instructions posted above.

Many thanks to all, now working perfectly Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geddit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 05, 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not strictly true that the GO 630 was not intended for the UK. It filled a gap for a while and anyone who bought in the UK received a fully working UK version, postcodes and all. There must be some other reason why it did not work - I regularly switch between UK, France and Iberia maps and have no problems with postcodes on returning to UK.
Regards
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was supplied by Pixmania who of course are a French company maybe that was it? but at least it's work perfectly now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pixmania are a grey Market importer. This means they import goods intended for other markets into the UK. Some of my customers used to buy cameras and printers from them. They used to arrive with European plugs and a uk adapter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your right. The Samsung phone that came as part of the package with the TT 630 had a European charger with a UK adaptor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geddit wrote:
Not strictly true that the GO 630 was not intended for the UK.


PaulB2005 wrote:
Pixmania are a grey Market importer. This means they import goods intended for other markets into the UK.


As Paul says....

Also, the 630 never appeared on TomTom's UK website, so I rest my case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geddit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 05, 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps if you bought from Pixmania. I bought 2 from Comet, and Halfords were selling them at the same time. I have no idea why Tomtom introduced them as (as you say) they disappeared as quickly as they arrived, but they were good value at the time.

Regards, Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping