Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Removing TT speed camers and Petrol Stations
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Removing TT speed camers and Petrol Stations

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greenglide
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 295
Location: South East Northumberland, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:37 pm    Post subject: Removing TT speed camers and Petrol Stations Reply with quote

Having got a Go 540 Live and trying to learn to live with it there a couple of the TT "features" I am trying to get rid of!

TT Home keeps on offering me the TT speed cameras - I always reject the kind offer along with the update the navcore 9 to break my unit. However it displays and occasionally beeps at speed cameras. I know I managed to stop this on my 520 but I cant remember how I did that and couldnt find anything using search.

TT Home also keeps offering me european petrol price updates - are these the ones that are provided via TT Live and I can ignore them?

Is there a way I can stop it showing petrol stations all the time? Is this tied to the Live system? Display of all of the POIs are turned off.

I want to get rid of this clutter before putting the PGPSW cameras and warnings on Very Happy
_________________
TomTom Go 540 - V9.058, Map GB & Ireland 860.3101
TomTom Go 520T, V8.351, TTS V7, Map GB & Ireland 855.2884
Nokia 5800 with Google Maps & OVI Maps
Google Nexus One with Google Maps & NDrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tomo
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 17, 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Fife Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go through the menu until you find 'Live Services' and then to Speed cameras and disable warnings. Job done. I believe that these will always be offered on Home though whenever you plug into you PC to update the unit. I keep them updated just in case my PGPSW database gets corrupted and cant get access to a PC for a few days (sometimes the config file on the TT goes tits up and that contains the settings for warning distance etc)

Regarding the petrol prices, are these really worth getting rid of? Least when you are out and about you can use them to find the cheapest fuel nearby?

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tomo wrote:
Regarding the petrol prices, are these really worth getting rid of? Least when you are out and about you can use them to find the cheapest fuel nearby?
Have TT fuel prices got better then? Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect tomo drives a special Delorean!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of your points have been covered, but there's one outstanding...

Quote:
Is there a way I can stop it showing petrol stations all the time? Is this tied to the Live system? Display of all of the POIs are turned off.



I've scratched my head and I can't think of any way the petrol stations can still be showing if you really HAVE switched them off in the preferences.

The only two possibilities I can think of are that you still have them set up for a "Warn when near" or you've been having a sneaky look at the Fuel Prices pages in LIVE Services which might somehow turn them back on again (I couldn't make it do it when I tried just now, but I'm running v9 software).

I'm also surprised Home is offering you European fuel prices. I've got full Europe mapping and I only get offered UK fuel prices when I update via Home. But then nothing Home does should surprise any of us any more!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have European mapping and I get European fuel prices. About 8 or 9 different countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the past with the Fuel Stations, there are two sets of POI on Live Devices, there are the set included in the basic POI and also the set downloaded as part of Live Services. The set from Live Services are saved in the map folder as "FuelStationsEU.ov2". I thought the set from the Live Services will show up what ever the "show POI" settings are and the only way to get rid of them is to delete the FuelStationEU files from the device.

However having had to do this before, I now have no Petrol Stations showing on my map but do have the Petrol Station Live POIs installed. I now assume there may be a difference between map versions or application versions. I also seem to remember a file called additional fuel stations or similar which I no longer have.

This is a little confusing.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenglide
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 295
Location: South East Northumberland, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
I've scratched my head and I can't think of any way the petrol stations can still be showing if you really HAVE switched them off in the preferences.


I was applying the changes suggested last night and noticed the the first 5 POIs in the list had re-enabled themselves even though I had turned off the display of them when I originally set the device up. Strangely enough the same five were selected for display out of the box Confused I have turned them off again and we will see how long they stay off!

The joys of TT! But at least it reads the road numbers out "properly" now Very Happy
_________________
TomTom Go 540 - V9.058, Map GB & Ireland 860.3101
TomTom Go 520T, V8.351, TTS V7, Map GB & Ireland 855.2884
Nokia 5800 with Google Maps & OVI Maps
Google Nexus One with Google Maps & NDrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Map Share also has a function in it where POIs are similarly updated through Home. I did not select any POIs to be updated but there were several selected in Home which I have now deselected. These also appear to have self enabled on the map.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tomo
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 17, 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Fife Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:
I suspect tomo drives a special Delorean!


I do agree that the fuel prices can be out of date.... I didnt suggest that they were, but at least they give;

A. The location of a petrol station and
B. Although the price may be inaccurate it will show who is the cheapest in the area which, to be fair generally is the same, regardless of what the actual price is.

Steve ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tomo wrote:

I do agree that the fuel prices can be out of date.... I didnt suggest that they were, but at least they give;

A. The location of a petrol station


Unless of course the "Petrol station" it sends you to is:
1. a block of flats
2. a tyre yard
3. an HSS hire shop
4. an auto electrician
5. a supermarket (with no petrol pumps)
6. a primary school
7. a private house

All of these and more can be your goal with TomTom Fuel Prices LIVE! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
Tomo wrote:

I do agree that the fuel prices can be out of date.... I didnt suggest that they were, but at least they give;

A. The location of a petrol station


Unless of course the "Petrol station" it sends you to is:
1. a block of flats
2. a tyre yard
3. an HSS hire shop
4. an auto electrician
5. a supermarket (with no petrol pumps)
6. a primary school
7. a private house

All of these and more can be your goal with TomTom Fuel Prices LIVE! Laughing


Indeed. And there have also been cases where prices were being updated for forecourts that had long closed. I know one near my old house was until i asked TT why....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yes... all of my examples above had fuel prices that were "less than 5 days old". Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
I've got full Europe mapping and I only get offered UK fuel prices when I update via Home.


PaulB2005 wrote:
I have European mapping and I get European fuel prices. About 8 or 9 different countries.


You're absolutely right Paul, I'm talking rubbish!

I was thinking they would be downloaded as separate files (like the speed cameras), but I did an Update using Home last night and sure enough, the single file it offers is for the whole of Europe.

Sorry! Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.094 (28 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping