Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - GO940 - New TomTom App v9.054, Now No Live Services
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

GO940 - New TomTom App v9.054, Now No Live Services
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OhBuggerit2k2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 06, 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:02 am    Post subject: GO940 - New TomTom App v9.054, Now No Live Services Reply with quote

Not sure what is happening here.

Went to TomTom Home this morning and was offered a new upgrade to my GO940 application V9.054.531676.1.

Downloaded it and then everything went kaput. It is definitely a newer version of the TomTom app and I quite like it except it has broken my Live Services - whenever I try and use Weather or Buddies or Google Search I get an Sim Error 1008.

Not sure if it just my unit that is playing up or whether there is a problem with the upgrade. Anyone else upgraded and having problems or not as the case may be??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here it will now not connect to the network. It is receiving a signal and the connection status shows the correct information but it just goes from Not Connected to Connecting to Not Connected. There are three bars in the signal strength.

Looks like TomTom released another untested app. Looks like I will have to restore the backup.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OhBuggerit2k2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 06, 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just restored from an old backup, checked everything was working then upgraded.

Once again a Sim Card Error occurs.


So yet another useless TomTom upgrade that breaks your device......... Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just phoned them and after all the menu options basically got told to go away as they are too busy. What a bunch of useless people.

Restored App 8.371 and the SIM is working again.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matthewj
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apart from it not working at all, and not being listed on the TomTom updates page yet, I'm pleased to see that v9 includes the following:
"This application update allows the latest version of TomTom HOME to transfer your favourites and settings to a new map."
Apparently there for x50 devices today, so I look forward to smoother updates of maps in future.

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6141/kw/software%20update
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OhBuggerit2k2 wrote:
I just restored from an old backup, checked everything was working then upgraded.

Once again a Sim Card Error occurs.


So yet another useless TomTom upgrade that breaks your device......... Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad


I'll second that !!!
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course the "upgrade" has updated the bootloader which is not restored with the rest of the backup, so who knows what new features the 5.5260 bootloader will add.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speaking to TT Support just now. Will update thread when I know more.
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Had no joy with removing application and re-installing so next step is to email in some info from the device for them to take a look at.

Will let you know more when I do.
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whilst waiting for a TomTom response, I have managed to make some progress.

If you use the option to operate your device whilst connected to your computer, I can enter my TTAccount details and get the LIVE Services to work.

Soon as I disconnect from the computer and operate stand-a-lone I get the same error message.
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hijacker wrote:
OK. Had no joy with removing application and re-installing ....


Do you mean reverting back to v8?

As I said in another topic, I have successfully gone backwards and forwards (several times) between v8 and v9 using my backups and got my live services back every time on v8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my 940, the Live Services worked (until the signal was lost) with the Go950 9.023 app but the 9.054 app for the Go940 kills the SIM functions.

Copying the 8.371 files back across restores it except for the bootloader which would need a few hacks to replace with the original, although as of yet I have found no reason to need to do this.

The Live Services work under "Operate my Go" as they connect through Home to the Internet rather than GPRS over the SIM.
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blush
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Kent

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:11 pm    Post subject: It's not a laugh a minute on the Go950 either Reply with quote

For the 950 the latest App is 9.054.531676.1 which works ok for the live services.


However the 2D/3D setting does not work and everytime you do a 'navigate to' it starts in 2D mode and you have to press the 2D/3D toggle. When you turn the device off it forgets the setting. Minor compared to the 940 but still irritating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
hijacker wrote:
OK. Had no joy with removing application and re-installing ....


Do you mean reverting back to v8?

As I said in another topic, I have successfully gone backwards and forwards (several times) between v8 and v9 using my backups and got my live services back every time on v8.


Removing v9 and re-installing v9 was at the request of TT Support. This wasn't successful.
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hijacker
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I notice that my boot loader is still 5.5120

others have changed though......
_________________
TT GO 1005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 1 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping