Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tomtom XL IQ Routes2
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tomtom XL IQ Routes2
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gatorguy6996 wrote:
Unlike Europe, the model lineup here in North America is quite limited. No x50's, only one x40 model, the 740 Live and no assurance the 1000 will ever make it here.

I think we are seeing a slight shift to make a noticable difference between the models at the high, middle and lower end of the cost range. Lets face it six months ago you could purchase a 950 Live or an XL IQ Live, there was little difference in terms of spec other than the hands free functionality some additional storage for extra maps and a card slot. Look at it from a Navigation device everything the 950 could do the XL IQ Live did (some might even say the XL IQ Live did it better, but thats too subjective)

With the revised spec XL2 IQ Live there is a large difference between the current flagship 950 and the XL2 IQ Live in terms of capability, sadly it would appear to get options such as full Custom Menu support know means spending more money on a higher end product - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
gatorguy6996
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 16, 2008
Posts: 695
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike. That would be sensical, and perhaps that's TomTom's true intent. As it is now, there are way too many models, causing a lot of confusion for potential buyers. The differences are so subtle that it's tough for even the long-time users to discern the changes. So perhaps simplifying the model lines is just what TomTom is attempting to do. Good move if so.
_________________
Garmin 1695 / 255 / 760 w/MSN - Droid w/Google nav + Navigon - Navigon 8100T - Dakota10 - GPSMap76C - GeoMate Jr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radamfi
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 06, 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just bought an IQ Routes XL Version 2 and I don't seem to be able to find the 'Shortest Route', 'Maximum Speed' and 'Avoid Motorways' options that I used to like on my old, sadly lost, TomTom. Are these really no longer available? Can I do some kind of software update to get them back?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archchancellor
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 45
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
[snip]
Personally, I use POIs all the time....
[snip]
Then there are ones that I use to fill gaps in the "Travel via.." function, such as:
Motorway Junctions (exits and entries),
Service areas, and
London Thames Bridges

Andy - can't see "London Thames Bridges" in the PGPSW POI list - I'm sure that they're there, can you point me in the right direction, please?!

Cheers! Smile

FWIW, on this topic, I would not welcome a dumbed-down version of my XL Live IQ Routes. It has saved me a lot of time driving around London (including the centre) and I use custom POIs all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laughingravy
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 18
Location: St Austell, Cornwall

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radamfi wrote:
I just bought an IQ Routes XL Version 2 and I don't seem to be able to find the 'Shortest Route', 'Maximum Speed' and 'Avoid Motorways' options that I used to like on my old, sadly lost, TomTom. Are these really no longer available? Can I do some kind of software update to get them back?


I am looking at

my IQ Routes TT and Change prefs, planning prefs, gives the options of Fastest, Shortest Avoid m/way/ bicycle etc is there...maybe it is something to do with your application?....or is it the same problem that i had with it being the simplified menu unit?...

Regards
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XL IQ and XL IQ Live are fine with full menu options, the newer units XL-2 IQ and XL-2 IQ Live are the devices with the reduced functionality, they may as well be totally different devices as the older unit is far more capable in terms of functionality than these newer devices with there dumbed down menu - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

archchancellor wrote:

Andy - can't see "London Thames Bridges" in the PGPSW POI list - I'm sure that they're there, can you point me in the right direction, please?!


No, you haven't missed them, they aren't from PGPSW. I just made it myself.
I've only done the road bridges and tunnels in the London area, so it only took a few minutes as there are only 25 entries.

(But I just Googled "Thames Crossings" and apparently in total there are 214 bridges, over 20 tunnels, six public ferries and one ford Laughing)

If anyone is wondering why I did it, it's because several of the roads going over the Thames aren't named anything like the name of the bridge itself (e.g. Chiswick Bridge is just Clifford Avenue on the South side and Great Chertsey Road on the North, so the TomTom doesn't know the bridge's name at all!
Having them as POIs is useful for those times when someone says something like "You should go via Richmond Bridge, the traffic is usually quieter at that time of day" or for when a bridge gets closed, like the Albert Bridge is (for 15 months!), so you can do an "avoid".

Anyway, I'm rambling... if you want it, archchancellor, PM me with your email address and I'll send the .ov2 file to you.
I suppose I could send it into PGPSW for inclusion too, but I might have to do the other 202!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.064 (22 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping