Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navman S50 stuck on data screen when charging
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navman S50 stuck on data screen when charging

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Navman S50 stuck on data screen when charging Reply with quote

My Navman S50 works fine on battery but when charging from a car or mains charger it goes to the data screen like it was connected to a computer. (picture of laptop and device with red cross). I contacted navman and they said format device and reinstall software which I did but it still has the same problem. Any help appreciated.
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the original charger?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question, No I am using an after-market one from eBay. I did also try an after-market mains charger which also caused the same problem.
Could this be it?
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes almost certainly. The Navman thinks it has a data USB lead connected and so is in data transfer mode as if it was connected to a PC.

The original Navman charger will have the data line pins either disconnected or wired in such a way as to tell the unit it is charging only.

Most devices seem able to handle this using any USB lead but Navman are always very fussy and I have seen other devices behave in a similar fashion when using other chargers.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help. I guess if I buy one from eBay which claims to be a genuine Navman one from a good seller I should be ok.
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So long as it is genuine Navman that should work. Amazed Navman support didn't ask you what charger you used!
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did also wonder about that. I just borrowed my friends garmin car charger and guess what, it works. So if his will work on my generic one I'm sorted.
Thanks a lot for your help
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update.
The garmin one works but only if plugged into the mount, If plugged into the unit it goes into data mode.
Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRAIGsatnav
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Rotherham

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:25 pm    Post subject: Navman charger Reply with quote

I'm having the same sort of problem, I accidently damaged the car end of the car charger (beyond repair), when transferring between vehicles, a friend loaned me his TomTom cable but when i'm charging in the car it shows the USB Sync screen, which is a PITA as i need to use it when I'm delivering pizza, normally charge it that way in the car overnight but it doesnt last the whole shift Laughing Out Loud, does anyone know where i can get a replacement Navman s50 cable that works as the original did, i.e. charge while using ...(sub 10 if possible Laughing Out Loud), i've seen some on eBay but i'm wary of buying if its only gonna do what the tomtom cable does....TY in advance Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sug172
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's tricky because many people on eBay say genuine navman car charger when they are selling generic ones, Ask the seller and only buy from the UK. Remember a garmin one also worked for me.
good luck
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aussiebob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 28, 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2010 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having this exact same problem with my S50. I managed to buy a "wall" charger, not sure about the term "wall" as I use it on my desk, which has a rated output of 1000mA. My S45 Navman is more than happy with a charger rated at 600mA but when I connected the S50 to that charger, it immediately thought it was supposed to be communicating with the computer. If you look at the car charger, I think you will find that it is rated at something higher than 600mA.
When buying on eBay, you might notice that some sellers make a point that their charger has the advantage of having a higher output than other "lesser" units. Just be aware that all chargers are not the same.
I ended up buying online (not eBay) from an outlet here in Sydney (Australia) and it cost the equivalent of about 5-6 GBP. It is small (convenient for traveling) and works perfectly.
Hope this helps,
Regards,
Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainDrift
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2006
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the PC supplies 5V 500mA and most card chargers supply 5v 1A (1000mA) as long as the supply is arounf 1 Amp then it should be fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul_and_kim
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 12:33 pm    Post subject: How prevent navman from going into data mode on USB power Reply with quote

Quote:
The Navman thinks it has a data USB lead connected and so is in data transfer mode as if it was connected to a PC.


There is a way around this depending on the cable and connectors.
If is is simply a pc style usb cable connector (the large wide flat one) that plugs into the charget, then insert it slowly until the navman powers up and STOP. Now you have the two outside contacts (power & ground connected) and the two inside (data) ones that are a little shorter not connected. I use this trick to charge my navman using a laptop.

Alternatively open up the charger/cable and disconnect the two data cables (the ones that go to the two inside connectors). That way it should never go into data mode, but still charge.

Note on some chargers you may need to short the data cables on the charger side NOT THE NAVMAN SIDE only do this if having them disconnected does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping