Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom release v8.350 for GO x20, GO x30 and GO x40
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom release v8.350 for GO x20, GO x30 and GO x40
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 31, 32, 33 ... 37, 38, 39  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hoolahoops
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 07, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, in a fit of madness I upgraded my TT920 from 8.3 to 8.35 at the weekend in the hope that the change would address the one issue I had which was the unit locking up when taking a bluetooth call. I didn't have any of the stuttering problems reported elsewhere.

Following observations:

1. Map rebuild with TMC connected. I also see this problem but the rate at which the map disappears and re-appears seems to be variable. In the morning driving from where I live in Milton Keynes to Abingdon it was very noticable. I removed the TMC for the first part of the return journey and there were no issues. Re-connecting half way home I did see the occasional re-draw, but it wasn't anywhere near as obvious as it was in the morning.

2. I hate the splash screen telling me other ways to a) adjust the volume or b) go to the traffic screen. Any way to turn these off?

3. BT phone management is now completely broken. I get a "Bluetooth is now enabled" message when TT starts up, but with my E71 I get "phone not connected" when I try to make a call, and with my BB 8700 I get "no dial tone".

Some of the POI graphics are a little neater now, but I can see no reason to keep 8.35 so I think I'll go back to 8.302.

Cheers - Kev
_________________
Kev

TT Go 950 Live. Fixed Brodit mount
Motorola Moto 4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Skwark
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 30, 2005
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could just be me, but I'm sure my 540 is now finding it harder to find and lock on to satellites...

Did a 100 mile journey and not only did it take an age to find anything but then the signal strength bar rarely maxed out for the whole trip....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pEst_29
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoolahoops wrote:
3. BT phone management is now completely broken. I get a "Bluetooth is now enabled" message when TT starts up, but with my E71 I get "phone not connected" when I try to make a call, and with my BB 8700 I get "no dial tone".

Some of the POI graphics are a little neater now, but I can see no reason to keep 8.35 so I think I'll go back to 8.302.

Cheers - Kev


Phone management got messed up with me too (would usually not connect to phone at startup), but it went back to normal without me doing anything after turning on the device a few times...

I still reverted because of the redraw issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14878
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoolahoops wrote:
2. I hate the splash screen telling me other ways to a) adjust the volume or b) go to the traffic screen. Any way to turn these off?

Page 8 of the Change Preferences, Hide Tips. But I have a sneaking feeling you may have already done this - I get some daft "helpful" screens too, not the traffic one, but that's a bonus.

The bluetooth phone thing "issue" is long established. It's possible to use a short term cure - Search the site for gnsdata to find odd things. A slightly longer term cure which worked for me for several months was to stop using RDS-TMC on it. I had the luxury of several devices, so I was able to run BT handsfree on one and RDS-TMC on another (I also think it helped that I use a steam driven mobile phone too, Nokia 6230i, none of yer fancy pants toys!). But my latest, long term cure is to exchange a 720 for my old 700 which I let go to son in law last year. He gets a lovely slimline, widescreen 720 (sucker!) and I get a nice podgy 700 - no stutter, no flickering screen, nav instructions which I can hear, handsfree phone calls which I can hear, chuck away my vast collection of reset tools littering the dashboard and desktop. It's got an old navcore and map (app6.520 and map v675), but guess what? It gives me virtually identical routing to the GO920 running alongside it with app 8.302 and map 825 - I don't anticipate any difference now that the 920 has got app 8.350 and map 830.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoolahoops
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 07, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dennis

The big difference between BT on 8.3 and 8.35 is that before I'd have problems on about 20% of the calls I took - hence I moved to using a Jabra visor thingy. Now on 8.35 I can't even make a call, with or without TMC connected....
_________________
Kev

TT Go 950 Live. Fixed Brodit mount
Motorola Moto 4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14878
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delete the file gnsdata (it will be regenerated without problems) from within the gns Folder (not the folder) and run the Clearflash tool. Then try again. Neither will do any harm and just might help - if you can't delete the gnsdata file, it proves it's corrupted.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazelk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Contrary to a few people saying you will need the latest software when new maps are released, I have just connected to home and it gave me map version v830.2305 I have installed them with no prob's and yes I am using software v8.302.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
technik
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2004
Posts: 788
Location: Midlands UK

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My 930 is still freezing on the splash screen every time I connect to external power to begin a new journey or when using battery power and turn it on after being off for for a while.

Eventually it does a self reset and switches on.

The 930 has only been doing this since v8.350.

Also battery never shows fully charged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emjaiuk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2003
Posts: 335
Location: North Surrey (TW17) UK

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Colin, Which RDS-TMC device are you using? is it fitted with a Mini USB plug or the slightly older round plug type - Mike


Just seen this, FWIW I've got occasional scren redraw now, using a new RDS-TMC mount. I also have OCCASIONAL gps aquisition problems, up tp 6/7 minutes to obtain any sort of fix, and another 4/5 to get full service.
_________________
Go740L App 9.510 Europe 985.8155
RDS_TMC mount
Home 2.8.3.2499 Win10 Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoolahoops
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 07, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dennis

Thanks for your suggestions, but that didn't fix by bluetooth problem.

I've now rolled back to v8.302 and the call handling works ok.....for the time being.
_________________
Kev

TT Go 950 Live. Fixed Brodit mount
Motorola Moto 4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
orion_jb2001
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 24, 2006
Posts: 138
Location: Tamworth Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have rolled back to 8.302 and used the unit for a trip. Now that that is over, I still would like to solve why 8.35 wont work on this unit.

I have formatted the unit, run tomtom flash exe, connected to home, offered a very early version, 7.something, loads no problems, add my map folder etc (what are the basic folders required to work the unit), reconnect to home, download and install 8.35. Actually get to start a set up on the unit BUT everytime I get to picking a voice (I also add my old voices folder before doing a setup, so I have a number to choose from) when I pick a voice, the unit freezes. If I go through the whole precess again, the unit freezes at the same place in setting up a voice, to be precises, at the select option for the voice chosesn. At least i have got to a point that the unit acceptes 8.35, but cant get past that set up stage. Any ideas????

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQUARE2024
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 02, 2005
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up until the 8.350 update I have been lucky and never had any problems or issues with my 520,But 8.350 has given me the same issues as this topic.I reverted back to 8.302 and all works fine again.
A ticket was submitted to Tomtom regarding no connection with the wireless data,thus making the Tomtom traffic u/s,also pointed out that there was an issue with volume as well.and the fact that I believed that I was not the only customer with this problem.
I had a reply telling me how to check if my phone was compatible and how to set up manually the connection.I have replied stating that they have missed the whole point and the problem has only come about with 8.350 update,this was at the weekend [sat] when I replied,to date no response from Tomtom,
In the mean time I will keep with 8.302.
_________________
Square2024

TomTom 520
Christmas Draw 2010 Grand Final Winner Garmin Nuvi 1490TV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skwark
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 30, 2005
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emjaiuk wrote:
I also have OCCASIONAL gps aquisition problems, up tp 6/7 minutes to obtain any sort of fix, and another 4/5 to get full service.


Glad it's not just me then.... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bullyterrier
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 30, 2008
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried the 720 after the update today, just a quick run. And after the 8.3 fiasco I am inclined to hold back any views for a while, as I never got the stuttering straight away. But I never had any screen flicker today and I tried it with and without RDS TMC. The volume is now very low, even on 100% without it linked to background noise. I would say it is the same as 65% before, but the speech is much clearer (you just have to hold the unit to your ear now to hear the clear instructions). But the biggest problem I found was the curser was not in sync, it was a behind where I was on the road and very very jumpy on roundabouts, holding back at roundabouts then jumping when you were exiting to catch up.
I will wait until I have given it a long run, and if it is the same I too will revert to 8.320.
So all in all another typical tomtom lash up as far as I am concerned. I wonder if they have English mp's developing and testing for them?
How can a company exist in these hard financial times producing such cr#p?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sven1
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 26, 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Norwich, U.K

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now have the BT problem. It worked fine after the upgrade but a few days on and they won't connect. recreating the pairing seems to work with each device seeing the other and connecting but as soon as I try to do anything it says cannot connect!

Ah well, here looking forward to 8.4!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 31, 32, 33 ... 37, 38, 39  Next
Page 32 of 39

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.014 (25 Jan 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping