Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - New firmware v1.323 released
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

New firmware v1.323 released
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I suppose if the route planner is working OK then we shouldnt have to keep too many routes saved at all and as we need them we can pick them up quite easily from Satmaps route planner.

By the way if any of you have been following my thread about the route planner not working if the route is too big, I got a reply from Satmap as follows, 'the route Planner will start to slow down after about 200 way points. We are working on making this better, but it will be a lengthy process.'

Unfortunatly I didnt save the waypoints (500 odd) it was done automatically by the active 10. I think the problem was that I kept it going in my pocket even while I was having a cup of tea, bacon sandwich etc. So out of the 4.45 hours I was out I was probably only cycling for half of that. It was plotting me making small turns, in and out of a cafe etc. I've noticed that if your going fast in a straight line it, pretty obviously I suppose, it only plots every now a then. If your going slow and in tight turns it plots at every turn, hense loads of waypoints. I will have to bear this in mind and turn it off if I dont need it recorded.
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno99 wrote:
Hi

I suppose if the route planner is working OK then we shouldnt have to keep too many routes saved at all and as we need them we can pick them up quite easily from Satmaps route planner.

By the way if any of you have been following my thread about the route planner not working if the route is too big, I got a reply from Satmap as follows, 'the route Planner will start to slow down after about 200 way points. We are working on making this better, but it will be a lengthy process.'

Unfortunatly I didnt save the waypoints (500 odd) it was done automatically by the active 10. I think the problem was that I kept it going in my pocket even while I was having a cup of tea, bacon sandwich etc. So out of the 4.45 hours I was out I was probably only cycling for half of that. It was plotting me making small turns, in and out of a cafe etc. I've noticed that if your going fast in a straight line it, pretty obviously I suppose, it only plots every now a then. If your going slow and in tight turns it plots at every turn, hense loads of waypoints. I will have to bear this in mind and turn it off if I dont need it recorded.
John


Sorry, I'm starting to sound like a real thickie here, do you mean the route planner that Satmap have made available on the website, or the function on the A10 itself to create a route? If it's the latter, that's really bad news - effectively degrading the performance of the unit on larger routes and limiting it's usefulness on more serious outings. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

The route planner on satmaps site. If the route is too large the route planner cannot cope with it. The same route works fine on the unit and Satmap are working on the problem. Strange but the route on the unit only shows 177 WPs but once saved on the route planner it increases to 500 odd!
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno99 wrote:
Ok

The route planner on satmaps site. If the route is too large the route planner cannot cope with it. The same route works fine on the unit and Satmap are working on the problem. Strange but the route on the unit only shows 177 WPs but once saved on the route planner it increases to 500 odd!
John


Got it. Cheers Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone asked about routes being saved to card only. I see in the upgrade info that it provides
Quote:
Better handling of routes that are moved between internal memory and SD card
This suggests you can transfer routes between the two?
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno99 wrote:
Thanks jonesbach

Do you get the option to save to the sd card or the unit, I'm assuming not. One reason I'm asking is my SD in the unit is a site centred card supplied by satmap and 94% of it used up leaving free space of 26.525 bytes and if I dont get the option then I'm worried I will fill the card up! I would normally in these circumstances just copy the lot to a larger card, I have plenty of them, but as we know we cant copy to another card.

John


Although the A10 doesn't ask you where you want to save the route after you've created it (it automatically puts it on the SD card if one is present and not write-protected) you can then immediately copy the route from the SD card to the internal memory and this then persists in memory, even after removing the card and/or turning off the A10. So a bit more button-pressing required than before, but the same result can be achieved.
Personally, I think I prefer this new way of keeping routes with their associated maps - it's like a filing system that ensures that you don't have to wade through dozens of routes in internal memory that cannot be used with the currently inserted mapcard before you get to the one that can (assuming that you haven't paid to consolidate all your maps onto one card, of course!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I must be doing something really stupid or..... I have just updated the software to 1.323 and I couldnt 'see' the routes I had saved. I deleted them all, except one that I downloaded off the route planner a few days ago which seems fine. But I just have created a route on the route planner, saved it to my desktop then downloaded to my active 10 no problem, look on satsync, shows it quite clearly on satsync but will not show the route on the active 10! I've turned it off and on again, deleted the file and tried again but on satsync but not on the unit.

Also when I save it to the unit it still gives me the option of saving to internal or sd card, I thought the 1.323 would only give the option of sd card. I've tried it and is saves to either. I checked 'about' and its 1.323.
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

I was doing something stupid, tired, long day etc. I was clicking on 'copy file to active 10' instead of 'import'!

Tried a few times as tests and its fine but still gives me the option of saving to unit or SD card.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

I was doing something stupid, tired, long day etc. I was clicking on 'copy file to active 10' instead of 'import'!

Tried a few times as tests and its fine but still gives me the option of saving to unit or SD card.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johno99 wrote:

By the way if any of you have been following my thread about the route planner not working if the route is too big, I got a reply from Satmap as follows, 'the route Planner will start to slow down after about 200 way points. We are working on making this better, but it will be a lengthy process.'


What sort of routes are you planning that have 200+ waypoints?

I ask because that would seem to be a bit of overkill for most things (IMHO). I did the cycling C2C (Whitehaven to Sunderland) back in the early 90's - 120 miles - with a total of 87 waypoints (which had to be split across 3 routes due to limitations of the GPS I was using). Most of these were to mark non-obvious turnings and changes from on to off road routes (and vice-versa). Still it didn't prepare us for the route choice in Greystokes where at the centre of the village there are 4 roads at right angles - each one signed for the C2C Laughing
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phil

I agree I would never have any near 200 waypoints but the problem is when transfering from the active 10 to the route planner, the system automatically decides the number of waypoints not the user.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostMike
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2008
Posts: 369
Location: Monmouthshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The comments about the number of waypoints seems to miss the possibility of walking a route, downloading the file and then editing it to produce a clean route that can be walked (missing out the wrong turns, stops for lunch, visit to the shop etc.). I have tried to do this but the current route planner will not cope. Which is a shame as I could then have uploaded them to route share!.
_________________
LostMike
Satmap A10. Platform 21
Software version 1.5.9193
Satsync 1.525
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostMike
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2008
Posts: 369
Location: Monmouthshire

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone had any problems with the latest software. On a walk today two odd things happened. My Duracell rechargeables (that normally last all day) gave out half way round and the route that the A10 created from the trail I had created added 2 miles on to the route and put in a loop that I had not made.

I accept that this may in part be a mistake made by me. I might have forgotten to fully recharge the batteries but it seems unlikely. The loop did start where I replaced the batteries but the loop was not shown on the snail trail or the log of total distance walked so I have no idea why the A10 created this odd loop.

Interested if anyone else has had similar experiences.

P.S. the replacement Energiser Lithiums seem to be holding up well.
_________________
LostMike
Satmap A10. Platform 21
Software version 1.5.9193
Satsync 1.525
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonesbach
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 07, 2008
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LostMike wrote:
Has anyone had any problems with the latest software. On a walk today two odd things happened. My Duracell rechargeables (that normally last all day) gave out half way round and the route that the A10 created from the trail I had created added 2 miles on to the route and put in a loop that I had not made......

I walked yesterday total on time about 8 hours and had no problem with the Sony 2700mah rechargeables. By the end of the walk I was down to three bars but this is normal and I have been using it on and off since then and still has three bars. Route was recorded OK but obviously without the power down I am not repeating your conditions.

My only gripe is I still get long lock on times when I move out of my area by more than a few miles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonesbach
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 07, 2008
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LostMike, did you have a chance to stop the Trip Log before the batteries gave out? If not, on restart it would have logged the initial "lock on drift" although you should still have had a snail trail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.033 (15 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping