Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom 300 - how to free up space
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom 300 - how to free up space
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:33 pm    Post subject: TomTom 300 - how to free up space Reply with quote

hi, i need some help.. on my old tomtom300 what files can i delete to free a little bit of space up????? please help... cheers alan...

Subject edited to something more useful - PaulB2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This will depend upon what you have got installed to the device, the first port of call is the voices folder which will contain UK and lots of other foreign voices, if you can stand to lose the foreign voices this might free up a few tens of MB.

data04.chk and data04.vif are for the Tim UK voice
data05.chk and data05.vif are for the Jane UK voice

Unless you have loaded some custom voices all the others can be removed (make a full back up of the folder first though just in case) - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi mike, thanks for your quick reply.. as always! i have only on voice installed.. i remember talking to t/t years ago over the same problem and they gave me a list of folder i could delete ie scripts etc .. but cant remember which ones! this is an old t/t i have got for my daughter who has just started driving so any help would be a big help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's not much else that takes up a lot of room that won't be missed.
Any reason you can't just move everything onto a larger SD card?
500MB or 1GB ones are 'cheap as chips' now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only other folder that can be cleaned out is the "rastor" folder that contains images the device uses when fully zoomed out, I am not too sure if the 300 ever had such a folder though and this will only yield a few MB of space - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andy.. i do have a larger sd card that does not belong to this t/t which it doesn't read ..being thick dont want to start messing with my t/t home.. how can i match this larger sd card to this new t/t? would it then work for me to transfer my back up to this card? cheers alan.. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FAQ #8 on This page details how to do this without using TomTom Home, although if the card you are thinking of using is too slow then the TomTom might refuse to boot from it - nothing to lose in trying it out though other than around 20 minutes of time - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks again mike... spot on. does t/t still have that stupid idea that you can only plug one device in for a six month period at a time??? mike can you copy a later map? cheers an...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot change the account for a device in six months, but you can have more than one device operating via TomTom Home as long as they each use seperate e-mail identification.
Have you got the larger card working in the device then by now? - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep ... works just fine.. thanks again alan...p.s just need to work out the map bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a new account on the TomTom website with a new email address (your daughter's?).
Then you can connect the Go to the PC, fire up Home, log in with the new address and you will be able to register the new device to that account, update the software and buy new maps.

The only issue is that if the software on the 300 is very old, Home v2 may not be able to update it. If that is the case, you will need to download Home v1, update as far as you can with that (you might have to select "Update" more then once), and then move back to Home v2 and continue updating with that.
Home v1 and v2 can both be downloaded from this page:
http://www.tomtom.com/services/service.php?id=16&tab=87
Home v1 is a easily missed link BELOW the ones for Home v2 - Windows version on the left, Mac on the right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wotswot
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i new it was going to well!!!!! everythings fine except i've lost all my original voices!!! can download free ones no prob!! where have they gone & is there a site to download um! please help i'm getting a little fed up now! cheers alan. Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which voices? The ones supplied with the unit from new?

If so, both the "real" voices (Jane and Tim) and the text to speech voices (Kate and Simon) can be downloaded from TomTom, using "Home".

go to "Add Maps, Voices etc.". The computer and "real" voices are in two separate sub-sections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
and the text to speech voices (Kate and Simon) can be downloaded from TomTom, using "Home".
Wishfull thinking that Kate or Simon can be used on the OP device though - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

True of course!
In my defence, as I was typing that, I *did* think I should look back over the previous posts to see what model 'wotswot' had. Something obviously distracted me and I just hit that "reply" button!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping