Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Converting .ov2 to Garmin ICN 520 poi format
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Converting .ov2 to Garmin ICN 520 poi format

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gtru55
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: Converting .ov2 to Garmin ICN 520 poi format Reply with quote

Hi

I have some poi's in an ov2 file and want to put them on a Garmin iCN520.

With the tomtom device I simply copy the .ov2 file into the maps folder.

Can anyone enlighten me on firstly how to convert the .ov2 and then where to put the converted file on the Garmin device/ SD card?

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14925
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you mean a Navman iCN 520?

You can use POI Edit (free from http://poiedit.com) to open the ov2's and save to a different format.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gtru55
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOPs, yes, apologies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtru55
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, managed to get the POI's onto the memory card by removing the memory card inserting into my laptop, running poi edit, converting the ov2 file and using poi loader to load onto the card.

Now I start up the device but the poi isn't displaying, I've gone to MY Data and it's empty, I've looked at the on-board poi's but cannot see my data.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved to Navman Forum.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14925
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you cannot just copy the files across, you need to use the bundled desktop software to get poi's on.

the guide here: http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/uksafetycameras-navman-icn.php is for speed cameras but simply replace teh speed cam database with other poi files.

hope that helps

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.033 (15 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping