Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - SatMap Route Planner and Route Share - Beta Trial Invitation
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

SatMap Route Planner and Route Share - Beta Trial Invitation
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nicka7
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all again.

Thanks for all your input.

David. The problem was happening with all the different routes I plotted and tried to save, not specifically to one route/file.

However I think I have solved the problem. I tried using Firefox v2 rather than IE v6 and low and behold it downloaded and saved as a gpx file and imported correctly via Satsync onto my A10.

Going back to IE, I found that if I typed .gpx at the end of the file name i.e ‘Route_Title.gpx ’ and changed the save as type selection to ‘all files’ the file was saved to desktop as a gpx file which I could then import to my A10.

Nick Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HJC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2007
Posts: 33
Location: Hill Top Bucks UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Being a Mac user and SatMap owner since Nov 2007, I feel as though I am an observer for until the A10 is 'seen' by the Mac the reported hiccups with Satsync remain an enigma.
However I have played with the Route Planner using Safari, all seems to work well and the downloaded Route_Title,gpx file opens up instantly in “RouteBuddy” (a Mac mapping programme) and then straight into my Garmin Nuvi, Unfortunately having a cross country route on a Car satnav has its limitations.Wink
This is overcome by putting GB topo on an SD card in the Nuvi, voila I now have a large screen contoured GB map, Very Happy
But not OS, so in the meantime I wait patiently for the SatSyncMac? afterall it was promised12 months ago. Mad
Yes I know I could get it to work using Bootcamp etc, but that means buying Windows (version I know not what)
Heyho Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soldado
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 13, 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, couple of questions ...

When I transfer a planned route from the Route Planner to the Active 10, the profile does not show on the unit but it can be seen on the Route Planner, on the Active 10 it just has a straight flat profile? I have the unit set on 'Altitude from Maps' but have also tried 'Altitude from GPS' but it still shows no profile ... is this normal, no problems saving or transfering routes that I know of or am I missing something?

and

I tried to upload a route to the Route Share Network but it does not show up, filled in all the required fields and hit submit, I got a message that said it had uploaded successfully but there was a 'syntax error on line ...' and it displayed half a line from my description - surely this would not cause a problem as it's just saying it doesn't like the way I've constructed my sentence?? Tried to upload it 2 times and just got the same results, this was last night so wondered if it needs to be checked before being available so looked this morning and still not there? or am I missing something??

Thanks

Also, anyone else noticed that on the UK Counties Map on the Route Share, East And West Sussex are around the wrong way? ... I informed Satmap last weekend but they've not changed it yet. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PloddinPedro
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike777 wrote:
Does this application has the option to follow the road when plotting a route ?mike
I don't believe so. The A10 doesn't have such a function so apart from making it a little easier to compose routes, there wouldn't be much point.

In fact, for me, a method which would enable me to compose a "follow roads" route in something like Mapsource or Bikely.com and then convert it into a detailed track (rather than just a series of waypoints where I placed the route markers) would be a godsend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terry8
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2005
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Nick....I think you have sorted out my problem of downloading. I have come to the conclusion that the new route planner does not like Firefox. I have now tried downloading a route on both Safari and IE and have had no problems with either.

Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Just tried my first test route. Created it on the route planner, named it, downloaded it, saved it to my desktop, transfered it to the active 10. But although appearing on Satsync, cant find it on active 10.

Any ideas?

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johno99
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, worked it out. To switch off the active 10 you need to disconnect it from the USB cable, press the off switch, confirm off and restart and there it is, great.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike777
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 12, 2009
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you plan a route without the active 10 connect to PC. I would like to plan and save route for example at work.

Is that possible ?
Thanks

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can easily plan routes using the device, this is one of the easiest devices to pre-plan routes on, just use the Routes Menu/ Create new Route and then use the cursor control to position each way point - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But if you DO want to do it on the PC first, this beta planner doesn't need the Active 10 connected for the planning. You can save routes and then download later.
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PreshawPete
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 24, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:30 pm    Post subject: Time? Reply with quote

What is the time zone of this blog? It's 15.30 GMT on Thursday 19th Feb in UK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't quite understand the question Pete? - if the forum page is displaying the wrong time for your post go to your profile page and adjust the local time zone - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Mike777
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 12, 2009
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BigPerk wrote:
But if you DO want to do it on the PC first, this beta planner doesn't need the Active 10 connected for the planning. You can save routes and then download later.


I am using the wrong application SatSYNC because when I open it the first thing it does is ask me for my email address and Active 10 serial number : then it goes to a screen which asks me to connect the active 10.

Many thanks for your time

Regards

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Mike777, don't quite follow about the 'wrong' application, Satsync - the planner itself doesn't require Satsync for route planning until (presumably) you come to the actual downloads. I can well understand that Satsync itself expects the device to be connected!

Anyway, either you've sorted it now, or I'm still barking up the wrong tree Rolling Eyes
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobbomapper
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 02, 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried the new Route Planner using FireFox 3.0.6 on Ubuntu 8.04.

All seemed to work OK, and a planned route was correctly saved with the .gpx extension.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.122 (08 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping