Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navcore 8.301 now being offered by Home for X20 Devices
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navcore 8.301 now being offered by Home for X20 Devices
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:22 pm    Post subject: Navcore 8.301 now being offered by Home for X20 Devices Reply with quote

I *hope* it will cure the screen refresh and stuttering voice problems but somehow I don't think it will... Crying or Very sad

Last edited by Andy_P on Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickrichardson535
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Home Is Now Offering Navcore 8.301 For X20 Devices Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
I *hope* it will cure the screen refresh and stuttering voice problems but somehow I don't think it will... Crying or Very sad


It'll be interesting to see what difference it does make - I never suffered the screen refresh issue - and managed to cure the stutter with a soft reset with power connected.

I did however, lose the RDS TMC functionality that I had working perfectly before the last update. Hopefully, it'll come back now!

Mick

TTG720T
App 3.01
GPS v1.20 Boot 5.5015
Map Western Europe v8.15.2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomTom are being characteristically quiet with no announcement of this. As in the past we'll doubtless get some PR launching it tomorrow by which time it'll be old news Rolling Eyes
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Out of interest, what build number are you being offered?

Once installed you can check by tapping the signal strength bars, then by tapping the small "version" box on the next screen.
This will give you a full page of text showing the full version and build number (as well as your map name and version and a lot of other techy stuff).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andy-c1
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 05, 2005
Posts: 1039
Location: East Sussex

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmmmm might be 1st bug ..can anyone check to see if they can operate their tomtom from home ..I keep getting "this function is not yet supported for your navigation device or operating system" ...i have xp home ???
_________________
TomTom 5001
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hazzamon
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
Out of interest, what build number are you being offered

Just installed it on my GO 520, I'm getting:
Code:
App 8.301 (9736/090114) OS:244890
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickrichardson535
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine reports

App 8.301 (9736/090114) OS:244890
GPS v1.20 Boot 5.5015
WE map v815.2003

hopefully that makes sesne.

others refer to navcore - I assume that's the same as the App reference.?

Should add it's a TTG 720T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickrichardson535
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andy-c1 wrote:
mmmmm might be 1st bug ..can anyone check to see if they can operate their tomtom from home ..I keep getting "this function is not yet supported for your navigation device or operating system" ...i have xp home ???


I had that.

Reboot the pc - and reset the TT device with the use of a pin.

Mine works fine since I did that.

Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks both, for the info on build number Smile

mickrichardson535 wrote:
others refer to navcore - I assume that's the same as the App reference.?


Yes, "Navcore" is TomTom's own name for the operating system software, so they tend to refer to "Navcore 8" or "Navcore v8.301".


andy-c1 wrote:
mmmmm might be 1st bug ..can anyone check to see if they can operate their tomtom from home ..I keep getting "this function is not yet supported for your navigation device or operating system"


I've been running a beta version of 8.301 and the emulator in Home hasn't been working upto now.
It's not a bug as such,just that TT need to make a new .dll file available to Home in order to make it work. Usually they are a few days behind.

I just checked and it is still not working for me. Either that is down to the different build number or it is still not available (which is normal for TT).
I'm rather surprised if it is working for 'mickrichardson535'. Did Home download a new file when you tried it, Mick?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you had your hands on a version, Andy, would it be ok if you now made public your experiences with the firmware vis-vis:
1) stuttering
2) Slow screen refresh
3) fm transmission for navigation
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickrichardson535
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_P wrote:
Thanks both, for the info on build number Smile

mickrichardson535 wrote:
others refer to navcore - I assume that's the same as the App reference.?


Yes, "Navcore" is TomTom's own name for the operating system software, so they tend to refer to "Navcore 8" or "Navcore v8.301".


andy-c1 wrote:
mmmmm might be 1st bug ..can anyone check to see if they can operate their tomtom from home ..I keep getting "this function is not yet supported for your navigation device or operating system"


I've been running a beta version of 8.301 and the emulator in Home hasn't been working upto now.
It's not a bug as such,just that TT need to make a new .dll file available to Home in order to make it work. Usually they are a few days behind.

I just checked and it is still not working for me. Either that is down to the different build number or it is still not available (which is normal for TT).
I'm rather surprised if it is working for 'mickrichardson535'. Did Home download a new file when you tried it, Mick?


Well, it was working!

Isn't now.

Bl**dy typical!

I have had the computer on and off a couple of times since I updated the software on the TTG - may be that had something to do with it.?

Why can't TomTom do it all right first time? Sad

Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrT
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 2143
Location: Surrounded by A1, M1 & M25

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was also offered for the x30 range. Cannot see any changes yet.

It will not operate under Home until the correct version dll is released.

I wonder why the download is called salzburg?

8.301.go530-go730-go930.CAB-navcore-SALZBURG.cab
_________________
Drivelux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
253
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 1054
Location: The green bit between the M40, M4 and M25.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mickrichardson535 wrote:
Mine reports

App 8.301 (9736/090114) OS:244890
GPS v1.20 Boot 5.5015
WE map v815.2003

hopefully that makes sesne.

others refer to navcore - I assume that's the same as the App reference.?

Should add it's a TTG 720T


mine goes to,

App 8.300 (9732/081030) OS:244890
GPS v1.20. Boot 5.5015
WE v815.2003

Anyone know why the difference?? What does it mean??
_________________
Triumph Tbird 1700. And now a Bonnie T100 as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bullyterrier
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 30, 2008
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
Since you had your hands on a version, Andy, would it be ok if you now made public your experiences with the firmware vis-vis:
1) stuttering
2) Slow screen refresh
3) fm transmission for navigation

To answer your question just look at Andy P's first posting above.... It doesnt sound like he thinks it has cured the problems! "I *hope* it will cure the screen refresh and stuttering voice problems but somehow I don't think it will..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it the same build number as the beta AndyP?

If so, it is probably not much better than 8.300!

I will wait a day or two before trying (new maps tomorrow anyone?????)

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.094 (28 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping