Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Binatone A350 - worth it for TMC ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Binatone A350 - worth it for TMC ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Swinghvn
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:26 am    Post subject: Binatone A350 - worth it for TMC ? Reply with quote

Hi guys - newbie here !!

Ive toyed with buying a Sat Nav recently. I dont travel a lot , bar holidays , and the about 6 journeys up the M6 from Worcs to Manchester.
However, I do have a genuine fear of being stuck in traffic jams, so TMC sounded like a great idea.
We bought the A350 for a relative recently , and for the price it seemed a great little model. (especially for the infrequent traveller). There is a TMC option, so I thought thats for me !

However, after reading some of the threads on here, it seems that TMC is pretty hopeless - and we may as well rely on local radio. Is that a fair comment - or is there too much negativity on here !? Shocked

If TMC is my main reason for buying, is there any difference between buying a cheaper model than a more expensive one ?

Cheers in advance .
perussell
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would never buy a sat nav primarily for the TMC function. I have had 3 or 4 sat navs over the last few years and there are 2 main issues' (1) Reception - can be very patchy and variable dependiong upon which model you have and (2) when you are able to receive the data is is often of questionable accuracy.

The problem with radio derived traffic info is often that by the time they report the hold up you are already in it!