Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navman SmartST V 2.0 won't connect to the internet.
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navman SmartST V 2.0 won't connect to the internet.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
glidingdoc
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 17, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:00 pm    Post subject: Navman SmartST V 2.0 won't connect to the internet. Reply with quote

Is Navman particularly prone to problems??? I have the Navman GPS 4410 v 2.0 SmartST Desktop installer and it won't connect to the internet.

Navman sent me the info on configuring the Norton Firewall but, as I knew, this wasn't the problem. Now they have gone silent and won't respond to any further requests for help. I really am not impressed with Navman. The support is awful.

Is Tom Tom any better? I have an iPAQ 2490 with lots of memory and I have a solar powered GPS which connects via Blutooth. The combination worked well until I had to reinstall everything on the PDA.

Does anyone know why Navman 2.0 won't connect to the Navman servers? If Navman know there is a problem, why are they wittering on about the firewall?

Seriously not impressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 06, 2005
Posts: 564

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly before you bag Navman, theres a lot of stuff between SmartsST on you PC and thier servers. Any one of those can an often does stop a successful internet connection.

Now, back to me being my typical self - a Navman bagger - they don't care, you have an old product, you are not a valuable customer or you would have upgraded by now. Hence most customers upgrade to the Tomtom or Garmin brand.

Back to your problem- Disable all firewalls and antiV (norton) and try again. Some programs do quietly filter legitimate traffic. Remember to reenable them after.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainDrift
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2006
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Firewall settings for V2 are:
Allow SmartST_Desktop(English_UK).exe (replace English_UK with correct installation language)
Allow RegisterProduct.exe
Open Port 443

But more inportantly How does your Map Product key start ?
MEU-025, MEU-026 or MEU-027
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping