Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 3rd Party Altitude 'Plug-In'
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

3rd Party Altitude 'Plug-In'

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: 3rd Party Altitude 'Plug-In' Reply with quote

Admin Edit: Topic split from original disussion here.

mikealder wrote:
It doesn't disable the "zoom in" function but does alter how you use it, try putting your finger below or to the right of the + sign (where the altitude displays if you have put that option on) and slide your finger over to the + sign, the map will now zoom without taking a screen capture - Mike

Mike......

Where does one find the 'altitude' option and how does one implement it?

TIA
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
Where does one find the 'altitude' option and how does one implement it?

I think I'm correct in saying this is a third party applet that Mike is evaluating.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can download the files needed from Here this is a third party add-on application written by "Joghurt" whose web site can be found Here it contains quite a few other add-ons for the TomTom devices, although as yet the Height app hasn't been listed on the main site.

For some additional information on the application and how to change it from Meters to Feet and apply local height offset figures have a read of This Thread - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you both.....
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanji
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 04, 2006
Posts: 179
Location: Somerset

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:08 am    Post subject: Height programme Reply with quote

Joghurt has issued release 5 http://gps.dg4sfw.de/ of his Height programme which, in addition to allowing choice of ft or meters, allows change of font size. I have simplified (I hope) the instructions in the link provided by Mike, above.

1) Extract all files once downloaded - you can then (I think) use Home to install or proceed as follows
2) Open the Height_5.cab file – you should have 3 files - ttn, height.cfg and height.so
3) copy the ttn file to the root (top) directory of the internal or sd card (whichever the map folder is in) on your TomTom
4) Create a folder called “Height” in the same place on your TomTom
5) Edit the Height.cfg file if required, using a word/text programme
6) Copy the height.cfg and height.so files to the “Height” folder on your TomTom

Many thanks to Yoghurt for providing this.
_________________
Alan

Go 750 LIVE Europe Map 870.3406
Go 720 W Europe Map 865.3245
One XL W Europe. Map 715.1689
Dell Axim & TT3
Psion 5mx & Routeplanner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neat little app, works well.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...and it's already updated (from the beta downloads) on the "Third Party Apps." list Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
Neat little app, works well.


But not on my 720 with V8.32 running.

I get a number displayed which changes depending on which menu is being displayed. On the map it stays at the same figure (25401) no matter what! Looks like it has been broken now Sad
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That could be a known issue and it is displaying the "page id number".

Have a look at the explanation (and cure?) from the programmer HERE and see if it helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Andy Thumbs Up That fixed it. You need to do this if you select different map colours by the look of it.

It works (well just as much as any other GPS altimeter does Laughing ) I'm somewhere between -3 and +35m here in Warrington and that's in the time it has taken me to write this.

I must try to find the offset to the WGS84 spheroid for around here. I think that where I am at present is at about 5-10m on the OS maps
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update on "Height" (maybe we need to split this into it's own topic?)
Currently it is not working on x00 and x10 models. Joghurt is investigating...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

philpugh wrote:

I must try to find the offset to the WGS84 spheroid for around here. I think that where I am at present is at about 5-10m on the OS maps


If anyone is really interested I did some very crude height averaging when parked up at home last night (5 mins of data manually logged every 5 secs - roughly). Average came to 65mtrs - OS have us at 60mtrs - the contour line goes straight through our kitchen. Given the OS have a +/- 4.5 mtrs accuracy on these I would say that's not too shabby.
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuart
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 20/04/2003 11:51:10
Posts: 405
Location: Dorset, England, Great Britain

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike. I only keep my iPaq charged up and running as a novelty really. And like alanji, I still have my Psion 5mx working. How sad is that. But I have got the screen grab working OK on the iPaq.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alanji
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 04, 2006
Posts: 179
Location: Somerset

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stuart wrote:
And like alanji, I still have my Psion 5mx working. How sad is that


Hi Stuart,
Not sad at all. I still use my Psion extensively - diary, all accounts, share portfolio, numerous spreadsheets, my own OPL programmes. It was (and is) a great machine and it hardly ever crashes!
Must admit the last time I used Routeplanner was on a trip to Eire in 2006 when there was no map of Eire on Navigator 3.
_________________
Alan

Go 750 LIVE Europe Map 870.3406
Go 720 W Europe Map 865.3245
One XL W Europe. Map 715.1689
Dell Axim & TT3
Psion 5mx & Routeplanner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stuart
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 20/04/2003 11:51:10
Posts: 405
Location: Dorset, England, Great Britain

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alanji wrote:

Must admit the last time I used Routeplanner was on a trip to Eire in 2006 when there was no map of Eire on Navigator 3.

Must dust mine off and flash it up again for old times sake. Thumbs Up
Back on Topic. As Mike said, Height does NOT work on PPC Navigator. Well I can't make it work. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.014 (25 Jan 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping