Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - New IPAQ 314 voice problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

New IPAQ 314 voice problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Hardware and Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:00 pm    Post subject: New IPAQ 314 voice problem Reply with quote

Received a new IPAQ314 yesterday, updated it to the latest software release (from HP's website) and tried it out today.
I have it set to the 'Kate TTS' voice.

On the outward journey it worked fine, although the sound quality is poor.
Put it away at my destination and left it off for a few hours.
On the return journey noticed that the voice sounded very 'garbled' - e.g. roundabout sounded like 'bout' - almost like two voices speaking over one another with slight timing shift. Impossible to understand.
I have tried resetting the device, removing battery etc. Also reloaded the latest software release, but no better. Have I got a duff device? Anything I can do to fix it - it must be S/W rather than H/W problem. Standard (non TTS) voices are better, but nowhere near as good as TomTom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you can, reset the application (there's a menu item for that) and select the voice again.

Funny you should mention TomTom. They are using the exact same Loquendo TTS engine...
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.
I have done both soft and hard-reset (via engineering mode) and reintalled the latest S/W several times, but to no avail. I even downloaded the latest S/W again in case of file corruption. Everything works fine apart from the audio, which sounds like there is an echo or two voices 'overlaying' each other and garbled. Its not a patch on TomTom so I have concluded its a hardware fault.
Since the device is basically brand new I'm returning it to Dabs for a replacement.
Will update when I get a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rizzio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the garbled message glitch, too; only happens on some messages, and most are intelligible. I can't believe this is a hardware fault, but will interested to see what you find with the replacement machine from Dabs.

Unfortunately, I haven't kept any of the packaging, so not sure I can send mine back to Expansys...

(Very pleased with the 314 overall, incidentally.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, about 50% of messages are intelligible, but the other 50% are not. Messages associated with roundabouts are completely garbled and so the unit is not satisfactory.
Strangely it worked OK on my first journey (about 1 hour) but on switching it on for the return, it was garbled!
I too find it hard to believe its a H/W problem, but after several hard resets and software installations I can't think of any other explanation.
I can play the voice files back through my PC and they sound OK. The same file when played by the 314 is garbled with a wierd 'echo' on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thestiv
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problems, but have done alot of work to fix the problems. I have created a voice file based on Kate that addresses;

- the issues of roundabouts being called either "round" or "about" in different circumstances.

- the motorway being called a highway

- the motorway exit bug "exit the at junction 34" etc.

Willing to share, if anyone wants it!

I have also found that the TTS software is exactly the same as on the later TomTom units. Voices could be transferred if the software licence permits it. I've done it and enjoying the experience. The voices are much louder and more crisp. Still not as good as when on the TomTom though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thestiv wrote:
I had the same problems, but have done alot of work to fix the problems. I have created a voice file based on Kate that addresses;

- the issues of roundabouts being called either "round" or "about" in different circumstances.

- the motorway being called a highway

- the motorway exit bug "exit the at junction 34" etc.

Willing to share, if anyone wants it!


Yes, that would be useful.

Just to point out that the problems I've had are an actual fault with the unit in that it worked OK on first use and then went faulty. The supplier has contacted me to confirm that they've checked it and it is indeed faulty and they're sending out a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iainkirk
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Share! (please Very Happy )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thestiv
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about the delay in replying. I havent really been online too much. Anyway heres some instructions and a download link.

=======================================


Do this at your own risk! The process doesnt really affect the core system, but you never know what can happen accidentally.

Download dictionaries from;

http://rapidshare.com/files/135656435/Voice_TTS-stiv.zip.html


Connect your sat nav via usb.

PERFORM A BACKUP

Download the dictionary file and copy it into the \IPAQ\Nav\content\voice on the sat nav. DO NOT extract the contents.

Once you have done this, disconnect the device and it should reset.

When its back up and running, go to the Navigation screen and select Settings and then Regional.

Select "English (UK) - female - Lady STiV (TTS) v1.0"

Your done!

Hope this is clear.

Please let me know what you think, also if you find anything that needs to be fixed. I am currently working on the next version which will introduce pauses into the instructions much like the TomTom does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've downloaded it but not yet installed.

Please keep us updated with your next version.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I tried dropping the Zip file into the /voices directory. Reset the Ipaq and the new voice does not show up. Could it be something to do with the filename?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thestiv
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You arent the first person to tell me this. I am a bit confused now!

The filename on my unit is the same as was uploaded Voice_TTS-stiv.zip

From my experiments I was able to call the file just about anything as long as it was a zip file.

Are you able to open the file using Winzip or similar? If the file is corrupt, let me know and I'll send it you via email.

Which version of the software is running on the unit?

I am going to have a look to see if I am using any odd settings on my unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thestiv
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 16, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have officially been stupid. It looks like I dont have the file Voice_TTS-loq-eng-uk-f1 on my unit. I think I missed a step out of my instructions (WHAT AN IDIOT!).

You need to copy the Voice_TTS-loq-eng-uk-f1 on to your computer and delete it from the device. I'll work on this for the next version too.

I just copied it back on and got the same behavior you described, so ignore my previous post.

Sorry for the confusion!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EGC
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks

Got it working now. It does indeed seem to be an improvement over the original, so good work and well done! I look forward to the next version.
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frankHP
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 22, 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:20 pm    Post subject: Improving TTS voice of IPAQ31x Reply with quote

I had similar problems with the Dutch TTS voice.
Actually problems can be solved very easy.
Is a matter of finding the zipped archive of the concerning voice.
Open it, and copy the 'command' file to your desktop. Than make a backup of it.
When that is done you have to open de file with notepad.
Look for the wordt 'bout' and change it to 'roundabout'.
In my case many mistakes were maked. Words like 'left'and 'right'wer switched.

When you study the script you will also see other possebilitites to improve the spoken text.
For example I have replaced many %destin variables by %streetname varibles.

Now at least my Ipaq gives correct spoken instructions.

Ow dont forget to copy the corrected command file back to your Ipaq.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Hardware and Software All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.022 (08 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping