Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Total beginner - Lat/Long vs. O.S. Map References
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Total beginner - Lat/Long vs. O.S. Map References

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
EdF
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Total beginner - Lat/Long vs. O.S. Map References Reply with quote

Hi, Just joined the forum as I'm somewhat confused... I bought a cheap GPS device recently (for car route finding - I never use it!), a Fujitsu Siemens Loox which gives lat/long references. Since buying it I've become involved in finding small historical sites and interesting old buildings using public records with map references, to photograph them for the public record (this is encouraged by the Highland Council Archeological Unit). Also, I'm just finding out about geocaching, which sounds interesting (and uses map ref's). So, the Loox lat/long references are not of much use to me, especially as I have no idea how to use them to get a map reference or vice versa. Do I simply have to buy another GPS device which uses O.S. maps and references?? Thanks for any replies.
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does THIS help?
EdF
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corrr, many thanks indeed!!!
harryparkes
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,