Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navman iCN520 and 64 Bit computer
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navman iCN520 and 64 Bit computer

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> SatNav User Reviews
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HelgaWelder
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:27 pm    Post subject: Navman iCN520 and 64 Bit computer Reply with quote

You may be interested to know that Navman DO NOT SUPPORT Their software SMART ST2005 with downloadable drivers so that it can be used on the latest PC systems running Vista 64 Bit

I received the following reply from them to my E-Mail request for driver info

"Thank you for your email. Unfortunately, we inform you that Windows Vista 64 bit is not compatible with your device icn 520. The compatibility could only work with Windows Vista 32 bit.
Sorry for any inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Vincent "

When I rang the support line it was suggested that perhaps I could borrow a PC from a freind so that I could download maps if I lost them

THIS was the only solution they could think of

The Moral of this story is

IF YOU WANT TO USE NAVMAN DON'T BUY THE LATEST 64 BIT PC COS IT DON'T WORK

I UNDERSTAND THIS IS FOR ALL NAVMAN MODELS

What a shower

I'm off to get another GPS certainly not NAVMAN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a surprise as I run windows xp 64bit edition without any problems with my icn750. The two operating systems are not too dis - similar but if the say it won't work, then it won't work???

Welcome to the forum.
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HelgaWelder
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dom

Thanks for the welcome

The info I have came straight from the horses mouth, but I was talking about Vista 64 bit as opposed to XP

regards Chaz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HelgaWelder wrote:
The info I have came straight from the horses mouth, but I was talking about Vista 64 bit as opposed to XP


This is true, but it is usually the 64bit part that makes software and hardware fall over! There is always a possablility they will eventually write the software for vista 64, but I wouldn't hold your breath, with Navman! Sad
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thomasteele
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Im a beginner to sat nav
I have the same problem Garmin doest work on VISTA I have 32 bit wont accept -garmin keeps asking for disc -which is not supplied ,though on the main site for garmin there are drivers for 64 bit but these dont work on mine or other peoples - IM going back to windows XP it seem the only way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smudger879n
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 29, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if anyone can help me, I am trying to find where to get an update for the RAC200 sat-nav which I bought recently? I came over the Forth Bridge recently and the screen went blank, as they are still building the replacement road for the A8000.
I have been trying everywhere to find on update, so if you could put me in the right direction....
Cheers, Smudger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> SatNav User Reviews All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20-071 (06 Jul 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping