Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Help! Not enough free memory to update my Go 720
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Help! Not enough free memory to update my Go 720

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aldridge_Andy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:35 am    Post subject: Help! Not enough free memory to update my Go 720 Reply with quote

I went to update my TomTom Go 720 yesterday, and as I basically subscribe to the Map Update Service, and TomTom Safety Camera Alerts, TomTom Home has for the past two years simply looked after everything.

Yesterday "Home" reported that it was unable to update as it required an extra 48 Mb of free space!

I assume that TomTom wouldn't have released a Map Update that wouldn't have fitted on the device with their Safety Cameras in use, or any other service.

Help what do I do now? Crying or Very sad
_________________
A Happy user of...

TomTom Go 720.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use HOME to remove some of the voices for countries that you do not need to free up memory. You only need the UK English voices so by removing all the others you will free up a great deal of space.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Aldridge_Andy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to be a pain - can I ask how? Embarassed
_________________
A Happy user of...

TomTom Go 720.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aldridge_Andy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just found it - I only have the standard voices - and Kate is the biggest file, but that's the one I use.

The other files are only around 0.5Mb anyway... and are just the ones that came with the device.
_________________
A Happy user of...

TomTom Go 720.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fire up HOME and connect your device then if memory serves me correctly you use the "Manage my Device" menu option.

Within that select "Items on device" then click the + button next to voices.

You can select all the voices you don't need/use and "copy to computer" to ensure you have a backup of them if you wish.

Then return to the same menu and use the "remove from device" button to clear them.

If you don't want a backup then just delete but ensure you retain the English UK voices.

You should also ensure you have a full system backup as explained in our FAQ, entry #1 here BEFORE you do anything.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aldridge_Andy wrote:
Just found it - I only have the standard voices - and Kate is the biggest file, but that's the one I use.

The other files are only around 0.5Mb anyway... and are just the ones that came with the device.

Ok, in which case you're best advised to get a memory card then. But still follow the backup advice. No backup, no recovery of anything ever goes wrong.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Aldridge_Andy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers for your assistance and pointers.

Luckily on advice from this forum, when I purchased my Go720 I also brought a 4GB SDHC Card "Just In Case".

My solution was to copy three related folders, and their content to the SDHC Card, "Maps" "POI" and "Western Europe".

I left these three folders on the internal memory, but without any content.

Then I checked that everything still worked as before, and then used TomTom Home to check and install updates.

All the updates were processed on both internal and memory card memory, by selecting the "Internal Memory" option in TomTom Home, and completed succesfully.

All appears good, and as I write I'm just completing a "Windows Explorer Backup" of my new configuration.

It does seem a bit bizare that TomTom would release an update that won't fit on a standard unmodified device, but now my device is configured as it is, hopefully it will be a little more "future proof".

Cheers,

Andrew.
_________________
A Happy user of...

TomTom Go 720.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harley-noj
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 18, 2006
Posts: 80
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Had the same problem, my work round was as follows,
Back up everything useing windows exployer (VERY important)
Remove memory card
Useing windows go into the 720 internal memory (not card) and delete all the stand alone files (DO NOT delete any folders)
Connect to TT home and your account
Alow Home to down load new application, keep updateing untill no new applications are available.
Then dowload new map
Update as normal.
This worked for me, However as you are deleteing files I have to say its at your own risk. Thats why its so very important to do a back up.
The first time I did this I left the memory card in and Home (being the wonderfull program that it is) decided to down load some files to the internal memory and some to the card. This well f!!!!!! my 720 up and I had to back up and repeat to sort it out!
Hope this helps
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping