Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark Antivirus
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - ONE XL
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

ONE XL
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:57 pm    Post subject: ONE XL Reply with quote

Would someone with a ONE XL be kind enough to check if, when a route is planned the current road being travelled on is shown across the bottom and the next turn / road number displayed in the top right corner.
I know that with no route planned the current road being travelled on is shown across the bottom.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vroomfondel
Regular Visitor


Joined: May 12, 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Hampshire

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:52 pm    Post subject: Re: ONE XL Reply with quote

JimR wrote:
Would someone with a ONE XL be kind enough to check if, when a route is planned the current road being travelled on is shown across the bottom ....

Yes if its turned on in the Status display preferences
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry vroomfondel - could you spell that out for me in the language suitable for a four year old. Exactly where have I upset something and what menu screen have I been on to do so? Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JimR wrote:
Sorry vroomfondel - could you spell that out for me in the language suitable for a four year old. Exactly where have I upset something and what menu screen have I been on to do so? Embarassed
I don't expect you've "upset something", simply haven't set up your preferences yet.

Change Preferences
Status Bar Preferences.

There are lots of choices there. I suggest you mark ONE of them, then go back to see what you've got, then come back again to try another, and so on until you've got what you like. Some of the results are not going to be evident until you have set a route and started driving.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bear with me DennisN,
I have done what you suggest but alas no result.
When I have “no route planned” the name of the road I am on is along the bottom panel. When I plan a route the name along the bottom changes to the next road I am to take – and also (unnecessarily) in the top right hand corner.
I have had a Classic since time began and it has always been this way but when I got the XL last week I was pleased to see that TT had apparently altered this to show when a route was planned, the name of the road I was on was along the bottom and the next road number in the top right corner. Eureka.

I tried some PC juggling to try to keep the “volume link to speed” ticked – it goes off each time the XL is switched off and has been mentioned by some others so it’s not just mine.
After this fateful PC effort I find that the current road display when route planned has now disappeared and I assume I have done something in error to cause this.

I have eliminated all the ticks in the Status Bar Preferences and the street name is gone. When I tick “show street name” it shows the street I am on but when a route is planned that display changes to the next street rather than staying with the current street and with the next turning in the top right.
I am slowly going apoplectic thinking that I have imagined the update on this version (but I didn’t)
Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to bear with me, I'm afraid, because I don't have an XL. But there are similarities across the range.

In my Status Bar Prefs are two items of value ...
Show Next Street Name
Show Current Street Name


There is another menu - Name Preferences, where there are
Show Street Names
Show Next Motorway/Signpost (goes top right)
Show Current Street Name on Map.

Do you have these to try?

I have a sneaking suspicion that showing current street name whilst on a planned route is a brand new feature only with my GO720 - I saw somebody comment that it is a welcome development. I now get current street name displayed on the map, just above the status bar (too small for me to read!) and next street name shows on status bar. I do not select (in Name Prefs) Show Next M'way/Signpost - too much clutter.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

“In my Status Bar Prefs are two items of value ...
Show Next Street Name
Show Current Street Name”

No DennisN – I don’t have this menu – but it is possible that in my adventure with the XL linked to the PC I have inadvertently wiped out a menu – something definitely happened when they were linked.

“There is another menu - Name Preferences, where there are
Show Street Names
Show Next Motorway/Signpost (goes top right)
Show Current Street Name on Map.”

No DennisN I don’t have this menu either and it would appear that this is the one I need (and maybe had before the fateful PC episode)

I shall have to install the original from my back up and see if any of these menus are available or indeed return to their rightful respective places.
Many thanks for your patience.
Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you click "Show fewer menu options"?
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should I? - I have "all menu options" ticked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe different on mine - when all menus are showing, the preference is "Show fewer menu options". When fewer are shown, it changes to "Show ALL menu options". With you saying the menus aren't there, I wondered if you'd inadvertently clicked to show fewer, because when I do that, I lose both the Status Bar Preferences and Name Preferences menus.

Or perhaps you meant to say you have the tow menus, but you don't have those ITEMS in them ?
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Answered that too fast - Clicking "fewer menus" removes too many options - I need "all menus" to show.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Or perhaps you meant to say you have the two menus, but you don't have those ITEMS in them ?"

That is exactly what I meant to say. I will have to reinstall the original from the (luckily stored) back up and see what that leaves me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Final throw of the dice - Trusty old RESET button??
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14893
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Second final throw of the dice!! - Are you disconnecting properly when you've been plugged into computer? With TT Home you MUST click the "My Device" icon, bottom left to disconnect. With Windows Explorer you need to right click the drive letter and select "eject".
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimR
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Gtr Manchester

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.062 (12 Jun 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping