Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - V9 MAPS FROM MY I3 ONTO MY NUVI 310 ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

V9 MAPS FROM MY I3 ONTO MY NUVI 310 ?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Chrol
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 15, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:50 pm    Post subject: V9 MAPS FROM MY I3 ONTO MY NUVI 310 ? Reply with quote

I have just changed from an i3 to a Nuvi 310. My Nuvi 310 does not come with the full Euroepan mapping. I have a v9 udate dvd with the full maps of europe and have one more unlock code to use.

If I loaded the maps onto a 2gb sd card from the v9 update dvd, would it work in my Nuvi 310 ?

The unit has not arrived yet, just preparing myself. Going to the South of France in a month would like it to work down there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikconnor
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 15, 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:15 pm    Post subject: Unlock Reply with quote

It depends on which Maps you have, either City Navigator NT or just City Navigator.

nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oddsock
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: May 01, 2004
Posts: 706
Location: Monmouthshire

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Unlock Reply with quote

nikconnor wrote:
It depends on which Maps you have, either City Navigator NT or just City Navigator.

nick


Could you please expand a little on that....Oh and welcome to the forum Smile

Dave
_________________
TomTom one v1,tomtom one v 3,TT Start20,Garmin Oregon 300,Nuvi 300
Garmin Quest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chrol
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 15, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the welcome.

My Nuvi 310 arrived today. It has preloaded City Navigator NT v9 UK and Ireland only. My update DVD is also NT v9 but covers the whole of europe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikeecix
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 19, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just posted this in answer to another thread....

Not sure if this helps but I have just upgraded from a UK/Eire StreetPilot i3 to Nuvi 310. I ordered my free V9 UK/Europe update DVD from Garmin earlier this year to update the i3 maps from V8 to V9 by using the registration code I received with my i3. This unlocked all of Europe, not just V9 of UK/Eire.

My new Nuvi 310 had V8 maps installed so used the same i3 registration code to unlock V9 maps for use on my Nuvi 310 via the Garmin website. This has again unlocked all of Europe for use on my Nuvi. I believe I was able to do this because Garmin allows you to unlock a maximum of 2 GPS units per code (correct me if I'm wrong!).

Not sure what this proves but I didn't need to pay any extra to get all of Europe unlocked on both my i3 and Nuvi. I still have an unused registration code in the Nuvi box which I'm hoping to use on the V10 update DVD whenever it's released.

Hope this hasn't confused matters further!

-Mikee-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Given your Nuvi already has v9 UK/Ireland mapping built in, yes, you could loads sections of the rest of Europe onto an SD card and it will work, although you will need to use that second unlock code to access the rest of Europe on the Nuvi.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Zondaf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to clarify, I bought a Nuvi 300 about a month ago which had V8 maps on. If I order the V9 Upgrade DVD, will I have to pay for the unlock code just to get the GB maps updated?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floridafil
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: NE England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zondaf wrote:
Just to clarify, I bought a Nuvi 300 about a month ago which had V8 maps on. If I order the V9 Upgrade DVD, will I have to pay for the unlock code just to get the GB maps updated?


No, you will not have to pay.
Also, if you have not yet registered your unit with Garmin, you could wait until V10 is released before you register. Then when you order the Upgrade DVD you will get V10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tynecomp
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 11, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zondaf wrote:
Just to clarify, I bought a Nuvi 300 about a month ago which had V8 maps on. If I order the V9 Upgrade DVD, will I have to pay for the unlock code just to get the GB maps updated?


Did you buy it new or second hand? If new then you may well get a free map upgrade if you contact Garmin. If secondhand then I am afraid you will have to pay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zondaf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tynecomp wrote:
Zondaf wrote:
Just to clarify, I bought a Nuvi 300 about a month ago which had V8 maps on. If I order the V9 Upgrade DVD, will I have to pay for the unlock code just to get the GB maps updated?


Did you buy it new or second hand? If new then you may well get a free map upgrade if you contact Garmin. If secondhand then I am afraid you will have to pay.


Bought new from Asda (99). Today it tried to send me up a one-way street the wrong way! Think I'll wait for V10 to come out if I do keep it.

Is it true that Tomtom maps are always more up-to-date than Garmin's ?

I'm thinking whether I should get a TT instead; I find with the Nuvi it doesn't always give enough warning when approaching some roundabout's so that I can get in the right lane, are TT's any better at this ?

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tynecomp
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 11, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zondaf wrote:
Think I'll wait for V10 to come out if I do keep it.


Just be aware that whilst you may well qualify for a free upgrade to V9 you would probably have to pay for the V10 upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also, if you have not yet registered your unit with Garmin, you could wait until V10 is released before you register


Please be aware that deliberately lying about the purchase date of the unit to obtain a free upgrade is fraud. Do NOT post this advice again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zondaf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Garmin say City Navigator 2008 will be available in January next year
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zondaf wrote:
Is it true that Tomtom maps are always more up-to-date than Garmin's ?
No, and you may also find the Garmin map is more accurate than the TomTom map too (although this is can be very location specific).
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guffnuts
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a little thread hi-jack.

Where can you buy the map DVDs? The Garmin website confuses the hell out of me. Always end up at the American site and unable to order anything.

I have the 310 (UK/Eire) and would like to purchase the rest of europe. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping