Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Brixly - Fast, Reliable, Secure UK Web Hosting
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - I am a beginner, please be kind
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

I am a beginner, please be kind

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Swagman
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:58 pm    Post subject: I am a beginner, please be kind Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have been reading through the forums, but still have a few questions that remain elusive.. I hope you can help

I would like to buy a PDA (pocket PC 2003) that I can use not only for work but also for SatNav in the car, and external to the car.. eg walking and bike rides..

I havn't been able to find a run down on what features I will NEED for this setup

Does Bluetooth work outside the car ? eg what's it's power source.. ?

If I use bluetooth do I need a receiver card plugged into the CF port ? or is that what the bluetooth receiver will do ?

Which is the best option for all round use, Receiver card or Bluetooth ?

Which will have less wires in the car, I suppose Blutooth as it's wireless.?

If I go Reveiver card in the PDA I will need 2 slots, 1 for the card and 1 for memory, if I go integrated bluetooth do I still need 2, or just a memory slot ?

Finally, does anybody have any favorites for a bluetooth/non bluetooth enabled PDA and a SatNav Software package (if I get a package that somebody else finds favorable, I almost onto a winner straight away, and needn't fight my way through the jungle of technology)

Thanks in advance for all your help
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote