Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Garmin i3
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Garmin i3
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zogman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2005
Posts: 1417
Location: swindon uk

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not being funny mate ,but all this has been covered many,many times before...have you read some of the previous posts on this subject/
_________________
***************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Point taken but it is not wrote for the newbie i want some body to go through it for me..........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zogman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2005
Posts: 1417
Location: swindon uk

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all the explanations HAVE been written for newbies..why dont you do a backup and try yourself and then if you have a question , ask for help ....
_________________
***************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duh that is what i want to know how i do it, not going to try and do it and my unit up if you dont want to help just say or point me in the right direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zogman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2005
Posts: 1417
Location: swindon uk

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, connect to home and click on backup...and you can do this as well, copy and paste the entire tomtom data via windows explorer of the tomtom onto a folder on your c drive.....
_________________
***************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not tomtom i need its Garmin i3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i am blowed if i can find backup???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zogman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2005
Posts: 1417
Location: swindon uk

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whoops , sorry mate, my apologies... Embarassed
_________________
***************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mhb
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 21, 2005
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Once you have the card reader and you have connected it to your PC with the USB lead it comes with, you should see, under 'My Computer', four extra devices listed. These relate to each of the four card slots on the card reader and if you double click on each in turn you will see they contain no folders or files. However if you then insert the card from the i3 into the SD adapter you already have and you slide this into the appropriate slot in the reader, now on double clicking on the appropriate device listed under 'My Computer' you will see the Garmin folder you want to backup.

Hope this helps you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mhb
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 21, 2005
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, ignore all that. I misread what you want to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that but i want to back up all the data from my i3 can you help please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zogman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 05, 2005
Posts: 1417
Location: swindon uk

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dacota, stick the card into a card reader and transfer the files to your pc...you can only copy back to the original card for the card to work....you cannot copy to a new card...
_________________
***************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zogman wrote:
dacota, stick the card into a card reader and transfer the files to your pc...you can only copy back to the original card for the card to work....you cannot copy to a new card...

Zoggy, he's got one of the 'new' units with onboard mapping.

I don't know how you back up those. I would have thought that it would appear as a drive on the computer and you'd copy the files to and from it like any other drive.

Dacota, does it appear as a drive when you connect it to your computer, either with or without the card in it?
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075
UK map 1115.12043
Samsung Galaxy S21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dacota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Anita nice to have you back.
when i connect the unit up to pc, unit turns on and and i get a Garmin G start and it asks me if i want to update POI and i cannot find the drive no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anita
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 3219
Location: Windlesham, Surrey

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dacota wrote:
Hi Anita nice to have you back.
when i connect the unit up to pc, unit turns on and and i get a Garmin G start and it asks me if i want to update POI and i cannot find the drive no.

I haven't tried to help before because I have no experience of the type of i3 you have.

Can you confirm that when you go to 'My Computer' you only have the usual C drive, D drive etc, and no additional drive that could be the i3?

If that's the case I'm afraid I can't help you. Hopefully someone who has a similar model to you will be along to help.
_________________
Anita
TomTom VIA 135 - App 12.075
UK map 1115.12043
Samsung Galaxy S21
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping