Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Firmware release 3.10
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Firmware release 3.10
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
timber
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2006
Posts: 422
Location: Wild and Windy SW Scotland UK

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 am    Post subject: Re: Firmware release 3.10 Reply with quote

Quote:
This has been released today. The bug fixes don't make any mention of the problems we have experienced with 2.90 and 3.00.


Have used Firmware 3.1 for the last 3.5 hours and can report that all the previous faults are still present. Had a complete lockup that required the removal of the batteries to sort out. Back on to Beta 2.82 when i get home.

Save yourself a bit of time don't even bother to update Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prasadm
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 08, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3.1 correction says "Corrected a bug where MSAS test signal could cause the unit to shut down"...

Could this mean if we use GPS mode = WAAS then the unit lockup/freeze problems what most people experienced with 2.9/3.0 software will be resolved ?

It would be interesting to see feedback from someone who regularly uses WAAS mode..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greeny67
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just upgraded manually to v3.1 with audio v2.3.

Have just completed a 50 mile journey in navigate mode with WAAS enabled without problems.... though in fairness I was one of the only people not to be experiencing problems with v3.0 !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timber
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2006
Posts: 422
Location: Wild and Windy SW Scotland UK

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

prasadm wrote:
3.1 correction says "Corrected a bug where MSAS test signal could cause the unit to shut down"...

Could this mean if we use GPS mode = WAAS then the unit lockup/freeze problems what most people experienced with 2.9/3.0 software will be resolved ?

It would be interesting to see feedback from someone who regularly uses WAAS mode..


Every thing you wanted to know about MSAS but were afraid to ask Exclamation

http://www.kasc.go.jp/MSAS/link4_e.html

If your any the wiser let the rest of us know Joker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PerseusTheseus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 28, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:14 am    Post subject: Garmin i3 Reply with quote

I have installed F/w version 3.10

I didnt have any problems with my unit unill i installed the extra voice prompts.

I previously didnt have any problems with my unit . but now ive been waiting for over 10 minuits for my unit to locate satalites ! when it used to take less than a minuit!

I have hard reset it & Re-installed F/w version 3.10 and im still waiting !

I bought my garmin unit in april 2006

Unit id = 31461232XX
came with F/w = v2.90 - No problems
Updated to = v3.00 - No problems
Updated to = v3.10 - No problems

Audio version = v2.00 - No problems

Updated Voice prompts/languages - PROBLEMS!!!


PerseusTheseus[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15033
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to be honest i never had any problems with 2.90... i still always get the final 200ft announcement to take the turn..

anyway, i'll get 3.10 on tonight and give it a spin.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sanaar
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greeny, where did you get new audio files to download?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PerseusTheseus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 28, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

greeny67 wrote:
Just upgraded manually to v3.1 with audio v2.3.

Have just completed a 50 mile journey in navigate mode with WAAS enabled without problems.... though in fairness I was one of the only people not to be experiencing problems with v3.0 !!!


I too Didnt experience any problems with my i3 unit
i havnt had any trouble with any updates as-of-yet

apart from when i installed the extra language packs

... my unit has finally calmed down

it has gone back to finding satalites within a minuit and the route calulator timing seems to have been improved!

Thank Fcuk it has gone back to normal PHEW! (wiping the sweat from my head)

PerseusTheseus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waynelisa
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 15, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scoobydooby wrote:
Upgrade to v3.10 done ok via webupdater, used webupdater again to and it found 3 more languages to install, so have done so.

Audio version still 2.00 Crying or Very sad

I'm not hopeful that the 2.90/3.00 bugs have been addressed as there is no mention of that in the 3.10 description, however, as I am going on a 200 mile round trip tomorrow I will be in a good position to try it out.

One hiccup & I'm going back to the very stable 2.70 that I had a while ago.

Scoobs

My audio still v2.00 Also no change there, im off out today will try 3.10 and see if any better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard5
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 13, 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just updated to V3.10 via web updater, still ver 2 audio Crying or Very sad
Ran web updater 2 or 3 more times and downloaded all the additional languages (like i'll ever need them!) still audio ver 2!

All a bit annoying really
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PerseusTheseus
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 28, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 12:15 pm    Post subject: Garmin i3 Reply with quote

richard5 wrote:
Just updated to V3.10 via web updater, still ver 2 audio Crying or Very sad
Ran web updater 2 or 3 more times and downloaded all the additional languages (like i'll ever need them!) still audio ver 2!

All a bit annoying really


Did you have any problems with your unit after installing all the extra language packs as i had see above post?

PerseusTheseus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greeny67
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sanaar wrote:
Greeny, where did you get new audio files to download?


I have never updated the audio files unless they were changed without my knowledge when I used the auto updater to install the god awful v2.9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 746

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have tried 3.10 fairly extensively today and the navigation mode seems fine. On Map mode the refresh was as slow as on versions 2.9 and 3.0 but at least the dreaded blank screen never showed up. I am using 3D map and more detail level.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JinnanTonnix
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 28, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I updated to 3.10 last night and had a quick bash today.
I've found some wierd faults - has anybody else got these?

1. It loves night mode. Absolutely loves it. On the way into work this morning at around 8:30am it went to night mode. However, I made another trip at around 9:10am and it changed from night mode to day mode. Yet another trip at 11:15am found the i3 changing to night mode. It's now stuck in night mode.
The colour mode is set to 'auto'. Setting it to daylight changes it, but I really want the auto function to work.

2. The time is wrong.
The time-zone is set to Europe - Western (WET) and the daylight saving is set to auto. The time is 1 hour behind. Setting the daylight saving to 'on' gives me the correct time, but surely auto should work???


I've reset the i3 several times, but no luck.
One thing I should mention is I had a total lock-up when I used version 3.0 - it went absolutely nuts, said something like 'new elevation required' (whatever that means) and went into night mode. I hope v3.0 hasn't knackered it. Is this possible?

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colpac
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

downloaded 3.1 last night, after using it for 10 minutes this morning have gone back to 2.7.

In map mode all the usual screen freezes were there so i could see no point in keeping it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 2 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping