Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Total Newbie GPS Confusion what to buy
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Total Newbie GPS Confusion what to buy

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
michael777
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Total Newbie GPS Confusion what to buy Reply with quote

Hi can anyone help yes its another newbie with that old question im in the market for a Sat Nav for my car i have a budget of £250 to £350 with if possible speed camera updating and traffic info but not essential some i have thought about Tom Tom/Evesham/Sony/Garmin any ideas welcome Question
peterc10
Frequent Visitor

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you need to do is 3 things: research, research and research

Get the fulls specs and compare. Find out what are the things that YOU want to do. For example do you want to use it as a bluetooth car kit as well? If so that limits your choice.

There are no decent free camera databases - the one on this site is the best and that costs either £2 a month or £19 a year. Look in the camera section and see which units are compatable with the camera download - that is important if you want cameras.

Finally, and most importantly find a retailer that will allow you to look and play with your shortlist. Which is easiest for you to use? No matter how many features its got if they are not easy to use while driving you will end up not using them.

I like Tom Tom because in my opinion it has the best intuitive interface - but we are all different.

Good luck and happy hunting.
Copilot for USA
Bury CC9060 bluetooth car kit & Brodit mount
neil01