Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - just updated firmware of TT1 to version 5.420 problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

just updated firmware of TT1 to version 5.420 problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trying2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:31 pm    Post subject: just updated firmware of TT1 to version 5.420 problem Reply with quote

hi,
just updated TT1 to firmware version 5.420 and switched it on and it says no GPS, but all else seems ok, what can i do....tried reset...nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10638
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will have to leave it for upto 12 minutes to collect all the data needed, on the first restart.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Western Europe Map v1110
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
trying2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

almost cried last nite, felt so helpless!!

events;
1.received new tt1
2. read forums
3. replicated/copied original sd to a 512mb using cardreader
4.put away original sd, and tested bkup sd -brilliant
5.bkup sd worked fine but was version 5.410
6. went to tt site and downloaded 5.420.exe and placed in bkup sd
7.followed installation it said installation complete with 5.420
8.switched on tt1 and it says no gps......everything else menus etc the same
9.erased bkup sd and copied original firmware 5.410 back onto bkup sd ...same message........but before i updated, that version work!!!!!!
.........above procedure used cardreader not data transfer cable............
........then retried above with data transfer cable...same message.....
NB it worked beautifully, until the update...which somehow affected the gps??????????
10. last resort tried original sd v5.410....same message
11. removed all sd cards from tt1 and reset but still no gps
[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philip4242
Regular Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2004
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been in a similar situation to you, although it was a firmware update to my Micromaxx MDPPC150 (Mio 168 clone) that had me in a little panic !

The confusion may be that some TomTom software, when it says 'No GPS', really means 'No GPS FIX'.

The Upgrade Instructions should have said that you'll need to wait a time (Oldboy was suggesting 5 minutes, whereas I had to wait about 20) with the GPS having a good, unobstructed, clear view of the sky for all the satellites visible to it to be 're-acquired'.

While this is happening, (although I don't know if this is applicable to your particular GPS) tapping on the 'GPS signal strength' bars on the main map screen, then on the Battery Charge State/Satellites area, takes me to a page where the signal strength for each visible satellite is shown.

There's also a small sectored circle which rotates to show that data is being received from the satellite receiver.

If that's turning - all's well - just give it time !

If not (and another try at resetting to 'Factory Defaults' doesn't do any good), I think you'll have to contact TomTom.
_________________
Getting older and more senile by the minute !

Philip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trying2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tears of joys in my eyes!!!!!

yes that circular thing is there.......i sent the other half to walk around with my tt1 out in the cold..............came back WITH A SIGNAL!!!!!!!!!

so relief was i.............yoda

thank you for your excellant and well timely and detailed advise...........i was literally pulling all my hair out...and my other half near breaking point with me....

what you told me.......they should incl in the manual........jesus

now i have version 5.420 and most importantly gps..........bless u!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.061 (07 Jun 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping