Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Inaccurate GPS position
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Inaccurate GPS position

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
imalsolost
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:08 pm    Post subject: Inaccurate GPS position Reply with quote

Hi All,

Pleased to have just joined this forum.

I have been using Sat Nav for hiking for about 12 mnths now and have until this week been using the Haicom HI 303S CF without any problems at all using Memory Map V4 on my iPaq 2750 PDA, So you may ask why have I upgraded to the Syson Bluetooth???? well only because I like the idea of not having the CF unit sticking out of the top of the PDA which is prone to slipping out of the ipaq if I'm not careful.

Anyway my query is this.I have used the Syson twice for the first time this weekend on hikes, and I have found that the positon target which usually moves along as I walk, appears to remain static for a while eg I am approx 20 metres along the route ahead of the GPS target on the map, and in some cases the target can be approx 20 metres ahead of me on the map!!! But if i stop walking it catches up by moving pretty rapid to where it should be.

On the same walk I changed back to my Haicom CF gps and it was perfect

The Syson is fantastic apart from this as I get sat fixes really quick and manage about 9 sats in a fix, the bluetooth connecivity is first class, and never drops off but it ant no use to me if it isn't accurate.

I am by the way using NMEA protocol

Does anone have any advice please, all much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mortiki_UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 15, 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Hampshire

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds as if the GPS device is only receiving signals at timed intervals.

As the postion with MM is fine when using your other GPS device, I would have to assume that your new GPS device communicates differently.

Does it use the SiRF III Chip Set?
_________________
Garmin Etrex H
Memory-Map V5 5.2.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greymane
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 24, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem stems from the fact that the unit comes with the static navigation option turned on by default. This would be great when driving, because at slow speeds (heavy traffic, red lights, etc.) it prevents "hunting" as the signal will seem to dance around. The problem comes when you use it for walking. Your speed is not high enough to satisfy the threshold for the static navigation. Memory-Map has a little utility you can use to turn on / off the static navigation option. You can email them at [email protected] to get a copy. (I don't see it on the site yet.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a link to this download for the application to switch the SN on and off here http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=33464 just click the hyperlinked text in the first post - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
imalsolost
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Syson Reply with quote

Many thanks for the replies guys, my Syson is Sirf 2 extrac I have tried the memory map utility that switches off Static Navigation, it didn;t make any difference.

is the problem only on Sirf 111 or does it affect my sirf 11 unit?

Any other ideas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Memory-Map All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.082 (10 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping