Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Usable SD capacity
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Usable SD capacity

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PDA/Smartphone Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hornist
Regular Visitor


Joined: 03/08/2003 19:11:42
Posts: 64
Location: Trowbridge, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

Don't know if this is the right forum to ask this, but here goes.

I have an HP iPAQ H5550 running Pocket Windows 2003, and I've bought and installed TomTom Navigator 2 with the Bluetooth receiver.



I've just taken delivery of a 64Mb SD card, but find that it's actually not big enough to take the '64Mb' Southern GB map.



When I put the virgin card into the Pocket PC the memory status in 'setting' shows a total of 60.58 Mb free space. When I try to install the TomTom map using the TomTom setup, it reports free space of 62,032 Kb (which is 60.98 Mb), and a required space for the map of 62,607 Kb. So it won't quite fit.



Is this normal for the amount of usable space on a 64MB SD card? The fact that TomTom produce a map which is sightly bigger suggests that it's normal to get a little more. Is there any way of increasing the usable space just slightly?



Thanks,

Paul



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

That's normal I'm afraid and unless re-formatting the card frees up some more space you'll have to get a bigger card. Even were you able to squeeze the map on you'd have no room for POI's etc.



Given that a 256MB SD card can be had for less than 70.00 you'd be much better off with a larger card.
_________________
Darren Griffin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jellied
Regular Visitor


Joined: 28/02/2003 16:03:49
Posts: 150
Location: United Kingdom (West London)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

mmm - a 256MD SD that works in a 5550 for 70 - that must be a first - I have heard of all sorts of issues with SD cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Darren
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

I'm not sure why you say that's a first? Handnav have a 256MB SD card for 69.99 inc of VAT and most of the PocketGPS Team use large SD cards quite happily in our PPC's?
_________________
Darren Griffin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Parky
Regular Visitor


Joined: 25/05/2003 09:12:02
Posts: 247
Location: Bradford UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

Even better value at Valueflash with a 256MB SD with a 10 year gaurantee for only 61.69 inc vat.



Where's my wallet.



Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catken96
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 14/06/2003 13:41:20
Posts: 41
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Usable SD capacity Reply with quote

Hi Paul,



It's the problem of the Kilo(1000)and the Kilobyte(1024).

       

       Your 62,607Kb Program equates to 61.1 Meg.,

                 (Kb divided by 1024), whereas

    

       Your 64,000K Memory equates to 62.5 Meg.,

                  (K divided by 1024).



On top of that, you lose some memory for "Housekeeping", etc., so, not a lot of spare space left, not to mention fragmentation.   A "True" 64 Megabyte card would equate to 65.535Meg.        Ah, the days of the ZX80 and 81, when a IK memory board was something to brag about!!



Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mstockha
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 10/02/2003 16:33:03
Posts: 54
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 10:45 am    Post subject: ipaq 5550 and SD card Reply with quote

I have a perfect (well almost) working setup with a Lexar 256 Meg SD card, and paid $70 for it! (dollars not pounds). Lexar seem to work quite well, and fast, just ensure that you buy a card formatting / defragging software package like storagetools from softwinter to keep it in tiptop condition.

Hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PDA/Smartphone Discussion All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.024 (28 Feb 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping