Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheMoosehunter
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:46 pm    Post subject: Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please Reply with quote

Just got my Tom Tom 5.1 set up

All is loaded OK, I just cannot seem to get to any section that would configure the built in GPS with the software.

"No GPS Device" is all I get, and I cannot locate a menu that allows me to change

The orange light does not flash with TT5, and yet it does and all is well with Smart ST.

Can some one please point me in the right direction

Cheers

Andy

Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hz1m9v
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:47 pm    Post subject: Tom Tom and PIN 570 Help Please Reply with quote

You have to configured your GPS with the configuration (GPS on NAVIGATOR) and try to enable in the configuration GPS(icon) and select to enabled it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheMoosehunter
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the show GPS Status menu I am given 4 options

Other Blue tooth
Other cable NMEA GPS
Tom Tom Wireless GPS
Tom Tom Cable GPS

None of these fit the bill. Am I missing something ?

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snakey
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 25, 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Hull, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 4:27 am    Post subject: [b]I'm with you buddy[/b] Reply with quote

Somebody help me and Moose. I am stuck in the same hell hole !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Choose 'Other cable NMEA GPS', Comport8 and try 4800 for your connection speed.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TheMoosehunter
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried all Buad rates on this setting and finally one worked ok on 9600

Brilliant !!

Thanks for your help on a least sorting which hardware setting to use

Now time to play

Cheers

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevie12342004
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i change the comp port all i got is com 3 on options
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevie12342004
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i realy am struggling to find anything on nvaman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strawbs
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 30, 2005
Posts: 54
Location: Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevie12342004 wrote:
i realy am struggling to find anything on nvaman
you're looking in the TT software, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluebolt30
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anyone else still having this problem?

As I am expereincing the same problem.

The question that I have got though is this:

Do I need to install TomTom 5 onto the PDA memory(requiring me to uninstall SmartST) as opposed to installing it on my memory card?

I am able to 'Run' TomTom, but I have never managed to get a GPS signal despite trying all the aformentioned settings for the GPS receiver.

I do have an external antenna on order as well but I can't get a signal in my front garden with TomTom and yet I can get a very strong lock with Smart ST so don't know if this is going to help or not?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jerrytaff
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 24, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's all a bit flaky - but it does work for me - If I perservere long enough.

First check that smartst is not running and that gps is switched on via the pda "settings" menu.
then, run tom tom 5 and under the gps configuration, choose
Other Cable NMEA GPS, 9600 baud, gps on navigator
now check that after a few seconds you no longer get "no gps device", but
"the gps signal was lost .... ago. (the time you set it up). The yellow light should now be flashing. If you are lucky it will now find the satellites.

However, more often than not, despite the yellow light flashing, mine doesn't find any satellites and contines to give the "no valid gps signal" message, or the yellow light does not flash, and it continues to say no "No GPS device".

These problems seem to be curable by turning the gps off in the settings gps menu, exitting, going back in, and turning it back on. The setting is itself flaky. Even when turned off, it will often indicate that it is on. I sometimes have to do that several times before it works. Also, sometimes, it seems to forget the settings, and the whole process has to be repeated before it can find the hardware. There doesn't seem to be any discernable pattern.


Post back to say if this works for you. If anyone knows how to get it working reliably, please post the secret.

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonrat
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just had the same problem with TT5 on my Navman pin570 and setting the rate 9600 has worked.

Thanks for the information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eclipse91
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 28, 2005
Posts: 25
Location: uk - Here, there and .......

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just bought the Navman pin 570 on ebay for the built in GPS and wanted to say thanks alot for the great advise. Used the search engine to fine this help and now have Tom Tom up and running.

Thanks loads.
_________________
WHERE HAVE THOSE KIDS COME FROM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First download and Install the following http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/winfastnavigatorppc.php

Of all the information the Satellites are sending out, the following is what we need for our GPS. On the Pin570 one of the NMEA settings is set to 0 and it needs to be changed to 1.

$GPGGA = (GPS fixed data)
$GPGLL = (Position Lon/Lat)
$GPGSA = (Satellites fixed (locked on))
$GPGSV = (Satellites in view)
$GPRMC = (Minimum Data required)
$GPVTG = (Course and ground speed)
$GPMSS = (Beacons)
User
User (This user on mine results in a $GPZDA showing every second. ZDA = Time and Date).
User

You can check the NMEA settings on your device with Winfast, which should be (for most devices) as follows:-

GGA 1, GLL 0, GSA 1, GSV 5, RMC 1, VTG 1, MSS 0, User 0, User 0, User 0,

(All the Strings are sent every second except GSV which is every 5 seconds, hence the 5).

After you have set to the above you can tap OK and check if Winfast can find and lock-on to Sats. If you are outside it will be quite quick.

If it doesn't, go back to NMEA settings and change GLL to 1, click OK and check again.

When you have finished with Winfast it is important you go to Tools - Disconnect then Tools - Exit, DON'T use the 'X', top right or Winfast will not release your port.
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xudh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 05, 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:16 am    Post subject: GPS Receiver Angle Reply with quote

In addition to setting the BaudRate to 9600 and turning on GPS in settings, I'd like to share with you guys that, when in car, the angle of GPS Receiver is a very signifcant factor whether you'd get good GPS signals or not.

When you put the PiN 570 in the windshield cradle up straight, a common mistake that novice users often make is to unfold the GPS receiver to 180 degrees, i.e., also pointing the GPS receiver upstraightt. However, that's a very bad angle for the receiver to receive stable signals from satellites. This is because, in the car, the GPS receiver is blocked from a large part of sky. What you should do is to fold the GPS receiver back some angle so that it points forward. That way it'd have a much easier time under the windshield receiving satellite signals.

I myself learned this the hard way. Took me quite some effort to figure this out. During the process I searched everywhere online but didn't find any post mentioning the GPS receiver angle issue. So I thought I should post this trick to save future novice users some time...Smile

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.021 (01 Feb 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping