Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - when do i get a fix?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

when do i get a fix?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dave_bass5
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: London, uk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 4:35 pm    Post subject: when do i get a fix? Reply with quote

Ive been using a BT-77 gps for about a week now and although it works fine in the car i cant get it to work on foot. it shows 3-5 sat's at almost full power in TT5m but wont give me a fix. took a 15min walk through london today, the display was showing 5 sats but i didnt get a fix once.
so im asking why if it can see the sats wont it fix on them?
thanks fro any help

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intertoto
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems strange that you can get a fix in a car but not outside it. It is usually the other way round.

Make sure you are stood in a position with a clear view of the sky. Are you in Central London surrounded by High rise buildings?

You may need to stand in one location for a while so the GPS can obtain your location again.

Jonathan Bowes
Product Manager
www.globalpositioningsystems.co.uk

YooNoo Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave_bass5
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: London, uk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes im in the middle of london. i was just wondering why it can see the sats yet it wont get a fix.
im new to all this so maybe im doing something wrong. you could be right about being still. i normally turn it on as soon as i get in the car so its not moving for a min or so whereas ill be walking when i turn it on so that could be it.
ill get a BT-338 soon and hopefully that will be better but just wondering about this fix thing and how it all works.
thanks for the help

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peter123
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 29, 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your SatNAV program has the ephemeris of all satellites stored so it always knows which are in view at any time. However, that does not mean it is receiving or can receive data signals from them - they may be blocked by tall buildings. Also, an external GPS antenna that you may be using in your car has a much higher gain and sensitivity than the built in one.

Try standing still for at least two minutes to get the first fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave_bass5
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: London, uk

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im not sure i follow you. when i start TT5 up there are no sats showing, then a few will appear but in grey untill the bars become blue and i get a fix.
If i put the receiver in doors then one by one the bars will dissapear. this i can understand as the signal is gone, but not what you are saying.
If the program knows where they are why when the signal goes do the bars dissapear?
thanks for the explanation

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dave_bass5 wrote:
If i put the receiver in doors then one by one the bars will dissapear. this i can understand as the signal is gone, but not what you are saying.
If the program knows where they are why when the signal goes do the bars dissapear?
Dave.

The amplitude gives an indication of the strength of the signal. When the indicator goes blue it shows that it has a useable signal.

When you go indoors it still knows where the sats are, it's just not receiving any useable data.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dave_bass5
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: London, uk

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i think i get it but why then when i am getting maybe almost full strength on 3-4 sats i still get no fix?

Thanks

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping