Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Speed camera database on TomTom Mobile
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Speed camera database on TomTom Mobile

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
steve6600
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 08, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Speed camera database on TomTom Mobile Reply with quote

I'm having trouble getting tomtom mobile to see the ov2 and bmp files. I have installed the (latest) files into the Great Britain map directory and selected "enable POI" in the "maintain POI" option but the software can't see them.

Has anyone had similar problems and know a fix Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10633
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you loaded the Files or the Folders. If you loaded the Folders with the files inside, it won't work.

Incidently, I wouldn't 'Enable POI' for the cameras. This shows them on the Browse Map, and on the Navigating Map when the Warn When Near has not been set up.

Warn When Near is the better option. IMO.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MarkHewitt
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 1077
Location: Chester-le-Street & York

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you copy the files themselves directly into the map directory (Great Britain Navigator Map or similar). don't copy the directories.

Also make sure you completely exit TomTom (code 6-6-5) and then restart it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliendad
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 278
Location: Romford UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and hopfully, finaly, how did you copy the files?

dont use bluetooth, use a card reader.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10633
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The card reader is as good an option as any, and quicker generally.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
geedee
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:43 pm    Post subject: TTM5 Camera POI Reply with quote

I have just loaded TT5 and find that the Gatso etc database is found OK
but does not show up on the Maps ! as in previous version.

Any help welcomed.

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10633
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:14 pm    Post subject: Re: TTM5 Camera POI Reply with quote

geedee wrote:
I have just loaded TT5 and find that the Gatso etc database is found OK
but does not show up on the Maps ! as in previous version.

Any help welcomed.

Graham

Some more information will help us to help you.

What have you actually done? Which cameras have you loaded? Which Map do you mean, Navigation or Browse?
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
geedee
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Richard
On TT Mobile prev version, I could see the Cameras on the Map View.

On TT5 this is not happening ,although as I approach a camera it shows up on the phone OK
(very strange).

I am not really worried as at least I am aware and the warning sounds all work OK.

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flasher
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 07, 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

simple solution

but tomtom into browse map mode

then click options,. then change preferences

you`ll most likely see "points of interest" not ticked

tick the option then click done

all should be fine from now on
_________________
iPhone 3Gs 32GB

using TomTom & CoPilot

Pocketgpsworld iphone cameralert app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHewitt
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 1077
Location: Chester-le-Street & York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geedee wrote:
Richard
On TT Mobile prev version, I could see the Cameras on the Map View.

On TT5 this is not happening ,although as I approach a camera it shows up on the phone OK
(very strange).

I am not really worried as at least I am aware and the warning sounds all work OK.

Graham


That's the way I've got it set up. I have all of the POI's disabled, but I have warnings enabled. So when I approch a camera it alerts me, and shows the camera on the map. However when I browse the map they aren't visible.

It's important because every POI category you add seems to require additional processing power to display, if you have the 13 or so categories for speed cameras it can slow the refresh down quite significantly. This way I don't have any POI's enabled at all and it all runs along nice and smoothly Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geedee
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all.
both ways work well, but is it possible to have "voice" warnings on TT5 mobile.

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flasher
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 07, 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the answer to the warning sounds is here

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/tomtom-poi-alerts.php
_________________
iPhone 3Gs 32GB

using TomTom & CoPilot

Pocketgpsworld iphone cameralert app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geedee
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 23, 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Flasher

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.014 (25 Jan 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping