Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - PDA v Stand Alone
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

PDA v Stand Alone

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jackn
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:54 pm    Post subject: PDA v Stand Alone Reply with quote

I'm new to GPS/Sat Nav. What's the advantage (if any) of a dedicated unit e.g. Garmin Quest, Navman 520 et al over a PDA e.g. Navman Pin 570.

At first glance the PDA is just as good and more versatile. Plus, the portrait format seems more logical than the landscape format to use as a navigating tool.
Donald
Regular Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:09 pm    Post subject: Re: PDA v Stand Alone Reply with quote

jackn wrote:
I'm new to GPS/Sat Nav. What's the advantage (if any) of a dedicated unit e.g. Garmin Quest, Navman 520 et al over a PDA e.g. Navman Pin 570.

At first glance the PDA is just as good and more versatile. Plus, the portrait format seems more logical than the landscape format to use as a navigating tool.

Hi JackN

Choosing a GPS system is almost as bad as choosing a new mobile phone. Almost! There is a lot available

Pros/cons of dedicated versus PDA (as I see it-others may disagree)

Dedicated unit:
Pro: Easy to install and set up. Almost a 'fit and forget' system. Basically only one item to buy
Con: Only is a GPS system. Doesn't have the versatility of a 'Personal Data Assistant' which now-a-days is a proper computer that fits in the pocket (PPC)

PDA (PPC) version: