Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark VPN for Streaming TV
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - CheckPoint 5.0.0 is available for TTN5
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

CheckPoint 5.0.0 is available for TTN5
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: CheckPoint 5.0.0 is available for TTN5 Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I've just downloaded Checkpoint 5.0.0 for TTN 5, but have not had much success with it yet, hope someone else can get it to work.

Please can anyone help me with this, because Checkpoint is the best there is
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Checkpoint 5 seems to lock up Tom Tom 5 when installed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jandevries12
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 06/03/2003 13:07:39
Posts: 4
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave, what kind of PDA do you use? And what kind of operating system does it run?
On my Cassiopeia (PPC2002) CheckPOInt 5 runs smooth as a baby!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My PDA is an ASUS A620 running PPC 2003 ROM version V3.03.31 WWE, ROM date 2004/02/12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hoppy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Lincoln

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just installed it on my iPAQ 2210 and it's all working fine for me. It's graet to have it back :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pocketgps
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 2145
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Re: CheckPoint 5.0.0 is available for TTN5 Reply with quote

davehardy20 wrote:
Hi Everyone,

I've just downloaded Checkpoint 5.0.0 for TTN 5, but have not had much success with it yet, hope someone else can get it to work.

Please can anyone help me with this, because Checkpoint is the best there is


The Author now says

Quote:
At this moment CheckPOInt 5 can not be downloaded.
Too many people report stability problems with this new version.
It will be back in a few days, once the problem is solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hoppy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Lincoln

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just clicked on the download link again and it downloaded, I will say though although it seems to work fine once, but when you close TT it does not close down CheckPOint properly and unless you do a soft reset you can't start TT again. Also somebody has been messing up the databases again for example the SPECS Cameras just outside Newark on the A46 I deleted all the duff ones properly then parked next to the cameras and added them properly then uploaded them to the site for a few weeks they were fine but, I've just looked at them today after syncing again and there are several sets of SPECS, a few 40's and a couple of unknowns, all in slightly different places, I'm starting to lose a bit of faith in the way their database is updated. Back to using the GPSWorld Camera's for me it's ashame really I prefer the time from camera instead of the distance. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Everyone,

A new version of CheckPoint 5 is on the website (v5.0.1), this seems to work on my ASUS at the moment, will keep you posted.
_________________
Asus A620, Holux GM 210 TTN v5.21 v6 Maps
CheckPoint 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ttrevor
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 04, 2003
Posts: 540
Location: Sleaford Lincolnshire UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just downloaded Checkpoint 5.01 and it freezes TT5 ,had to hard reset pda ,thank goodness for sprite backup,must still be a bug in Checkpoint,anyone had any problems.
_________________
Iphone x 64gb IOS 11.3.1 / IPhone 6 Plus 32gb IOS 12 beta /Volkswagen Scirocco R 280 bhp /Suzuki Vitara swb vvt+ /Suzuki Jimny special/running Apple Mac Mini / Apple air/ iPhone x /6 plus navigation / Apple car-play
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hoppy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Lincoln

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just downloaded 5.01 seem to work OK, a lot better than the problems I had with 5.00, still not sure how good the database is though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CalumLawson
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 03, 2004
Posts: 42
Location: Stockton on Tees

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I likewise have had a problem. Checkpoint installs and I can start it up and access all the option, except when I select "Navigate" TT5 launches but stays on the Navigate screen with a black square in the top right corner where "Welcome to TomTom Navigator" appears on a normal startup.

Likewise if I launch TT5 directly it hangs at the same point (without Checkpoint started.

I did several soft resest in between attempts with no success, the only solution was a hard reset and restore from Sprite backup.

iPAQ 2210 with Rom 1.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Again,
After installing CheckPoint 5.0.1 I was able to setup checkpoint and I even configured a few warnings but when I ran TT the PDA locked up and needed a soft reset to un lock it. It seems that there are still a few bugs to be ironed out, but the product looks very good up to now.
Keep up the good work OABsoftware.
_________________
Asus A620, Holux GM 210 TTN v5.21 v6 Maps
CheckPoint 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davehardy20
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 04, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

Success this time, I've upgraded TTN5 to version 5.1 and reinstalled CheckPoint 5 and everything seems OK now. Will update if required.
_________________
Asus A620, Holux GM 210 TTN v5.21 v6 Maps
CheckPoint 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Hoppy
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 241
Location: Lincoln

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I have played with 5.01 and worked out that I can set the warnings to the pocketgpsworld camera POI's and turn off the visual display to stop the flickering, it's great to have a distance warning from a POI again. it is also great to be able to start CheckPOint from inside TT with the addition of the menu item. All in all I think it is very good it would be slightly better if the visuals could be sorted but I don't need to see anything really when I've had a 30 second a 10 second and a speed limit warning. :D :D :D :D :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mearns
Lifetime Member


Joined: 24/08/2003 18:17:58
Posts: 162
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to add my experiences:

Before installing CheckPOInt I had no problems with my 2210 running TomTom 5.00.

CheckPOInt 5.0.1 locked up my 2210 running TomTom 5.0.

Upgraded TomTom 5.0 to 5.1 - CheckPOInt 5.0.1 runs fine except for the known issue of flickering warnings.

Took me ages to find this one out - if you are checking the volume of .wav files in CheckPOInt, make sure you also have TTN5 running as well - I wasted a couple of hours trying to increase the volume of my .wav files when there was no need. Embarassed
_________________
Tony
nuvi 2460LT plus Brodit mount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.055 (31 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping