Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury Villa at Watersong Davenport, Orlando, Florida for rent
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe)
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> News And Latest Information
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

I've seen a couple of instances where you'll have a Y fork, and you'll be travelling up to the left and it won't tell you to turn or bear left, but in the cases I've seen, the straight on option physically on the road, is the left hand branch. I've seen this on TomTom Navigator as well, so I think it's more of a map problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Please post any comments you have about the Navman GPS 3400 Hardware Preview/Review and SmartST Pro Prevew/Review in this message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tom Symonds
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 20/08/2002 23:25:56
Posts: 43
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Has anyone else noticed a problem I've noticed with some of the turns on Smart ST.   Sometimes the red line on the map pointedly turns onto a new road, but there's no instruction for it, and most importantly no voice command. If you're trying not to look at the map (ie keeping your eye on the road) this can be bloody annoying.

I've also noticed it sometimes gives the wrong exit at roundabouts - usually "take the first exit" rather than the second. I can't see why this should be, but both of these faults should be looked at for future updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Walter Mit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 20/08/2002 12:12:05
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Dave,



I took up CoPilot on their great offer ($199 for Pocket CoPilot 3.0 and a Navman sleeve). But, unfortunately, I live in the UK. The unit will be delivered mid to late November (friends visiting). When the unit arrives, I want to have UK software on hand to start playing with it right away.



So, sometime during the 5 weeks (and when during that period doesn't matter, since I won't have the hardware) I need to purchase either Navigator or SmartST.



Advice is well and truly appreciated.



PS: If you ever need fodder to convince sponcers/suppliers that your site influences buying decisions, feel free to quote me. My purchase decision will be made almost entirely from information gathered here.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Walter, it'll be a tough fight! . Watch this space for a few more articles on pretty much the same subject (without trying to say too much!)



You know, I'm now starting to realise how manufacturers feel like when they're near completion of bringing a product to the market. As soon as everyone gets wind of it, everyone wants to see it NOW. It's the same with our articles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CalleyW
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 09/10/2002 10:33:30
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

I have purchased Navman 3400,and have been only a couple of comments so far.

A) It seems to take longer than your averages for a cold TTFF.(however, it does depend on the location)

B) I was a little disappointed that the voice directions do not announce the name of the road/street into which you are being directed,as per the pocket co-pilot.

Calley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Walter Mit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 20/08/2002 12:12:05
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

So, head to head: TomTom Navigator vs. Navman SmartST.



A new grudge match.



Who wins?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

NickE, the power cable is one to fit an iPAQ 3600 series (the small round plug). If you have a 3800/3900 series iPAQ you'll have a sync converter which you use to insert this into. It will both power the iPAQ and charge it at the same time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spagger
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 09/10/2002 08:18:52
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

The supplied power cable does indeed charge the Ipaq !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickE
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 09/10/2002 08:54:28
Posts: 47
Location: Biddenham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

One thing I'm not clear about - the website shows that it comes with a power cable, but is that only to power the sleeve or does it feed the iPaq as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spagger
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 09/10/2002 08:18:52
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Having purchased Navman 3000 in June this year, I was keen to try out the new SmartST Pro upgrade. I placed an order with RIA Technologies on 25th september.



The first problem I found was that the application wouldn't run on my 3630. I had to remove a few apps to free up memory.



I have found that TTFF has improved, with Satellite fixes obtained within a minute from a cold start.



I read in the review that the new software doesnt notify the user that satellite lock has been lost.



Doesn't the icon that is used to represent your moving vehicle change status from BLUE to RED ?



Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
midsearcher
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 07/10/2002 18:28:56
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Whilst the SmartST Software is far better than the old "TomTom" trip and city software for driving, it is now not possible to define a destination by grid reference. It is also still not possible to import any "waypoints" or locations from other apps or even a text file.



This is a major minus point for anyone into geocaching.



I used to use trip/city for getting to the nearest road to a geocache point and then used Pocket Navigator or my Garmin across fields/woods etc.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Hey, you've got me sold! Or not!!!



I do think postcodes are very important for the UK, and with most UK streets, one postcode will show one side of the road, where another postcode will show the other side of the road, like odds and evens. Although some roads are very long and a postcode could host 20 houses, I still think postcodes are worth entering, however if you are making a europe wide system, then compromises do have to be made, and I guess this is one of them if postcode usage would practically be useless for other European countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Walter Mit
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 20/08/2002 12:12:05
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote



I don't think this has anything to do with compatability issues.



There was a good description of why selecting destinations by post code was NOT included for Europe, was that European postal codes are very low resolution. In the UK a standard post code will resolve to within 4 or 5 buildings. That is sufficient for navigation purposes.



In the rest of Europe, post codes are only unique to within a city-wide area, making post code navigation impossable.



I guess they figured, why bother implementing that functionality for only the UK?



So, Dave, would you consider this a deal breaker?



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garry Platt
Regular Visitor


Joined: 30/09/2002 16:19:29
Posts: 112
Location: High Peak - Derbyshire - United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: Navman GPS 3400 (Europe) Reply with quote

Having tried to load the Navman onto my iPAQ 3970 and failed I wonder of this is an aspect of none compatability with the 39 series iPAQ?
_________________
Garry Platt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> News And Latest Information All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping